We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (577)
Filter reviews
577 results
Traveler rating
179
243
91
39
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
179
243
91
39
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jetty bar all inclusive package africa safari camp stone town dala dala an asset free bus beach resort live cooking low tide the hotel offers small things cleaning staff animation team excursion desk hakuna matata amazing holiday
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 577 reviews
Reviewed May 11, 2019

I loved this place. It was magical to have been here everyday. Beautiful resort and quite well managed, especially the kitchen and dining area. I would definitely recommend it, but there are a few cons to take note of. If these could be improved upon, then it would be fantastic!

Pros:
1. Great atmosphere with a tropical island vibe ("pole pole" as the locals say, which means "slowly slowly").
2. Good attitude from most of the staff. Friendly, relaxed and comforting vibe.
3. Good wholesome food, especially on "Swahili night" which showcased the glory of local cuisine.
4. Good beach/ bay (please note that the water is non- existent during low tide and picks up to perfection during higher tides- mangrove area. Do not be alarmed if the beach looks "dried up").
5. Nice big and specious bars, facilities, pool area, lounge area, dining room and toilets/ rooms.
6. Beautiful spa
7. Cats area free to roam around and are not a disturbance at all. Since we love cats, we enjoyed this aspect of the resort.

Cons:
1. The maid was very unfriendly everyday.
2. Staff may ask for tips for things, e.g. coconut, which can become awkward if you were not expecting it. Expect to pay a tip for everything. You will be reminded of this tip.
3. The restaurant sometimes serves leftover desserts from the previous night's dinner service and, whilst this is good for minimizing waste, they seek to charge you full price (a la carte restaurant) instead of providing a discounted rate. On 1 day, we were told that we would get "Black Forest Cake" but when it came, we saw that it was something from the previous night. The waiter apologized and said that the kitchen was instead serving something new. We accepted it. As we were walking out, we heard the waiter tell new guests that they would be serving "Black Forest Cake". I imagine later he would relay the same "apology". If it were discounted, I would have been ok with it, but I was made to pay full price for something I was not expecting/ something old and not fresh.
4. There are many maintenance issues that were happening with the rooms. Rainwater came through our room. The maintenance guy shut it tight and we could not open it afterward with ease. We also had a leaky toilet. Occasionally the lights go off in the resort and come back on again after 5 min.

Room tip: Good value for money, friendly and relaxing resort
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TravelerWeimersA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2019 via mobile

Although this resort is sometimes described by tour-operators as a 4 stars, it is 3 stars and it deserves only 3.
Pluses: managers, they do take care of guests and their opinions;
waiters, barmans, cooks, security, cleaning staff (rooms, pool, garden) -friendly, nice people;
Minuses: reception - if you want to solve any problem, you have to be stubborn and talk to manager. She is the bright star among her staff. If you are not patient and do not want to check couple of times if the manager is present, you will give up to buy. The first time I saw such clingy front desk.
Rooms: in an old part we got an execrable one, with a broken toilet (water leaked out whole time), oil colored walls in the bathroom (forget about any tiles there), and with smell of and old damp.
Thanks to the manager decision, we moved to the new part of resort, to the better room.
Tip: Try to get the room with number starting above a hundred.
Activities: during the law season you can only try aquagymnastics, volleyball or football (soccer). Forget about the evening animation but twice a week you can hear live music.
Beach: a lot of alges and tides will force you to look for another place to swim.
Second beach (you have to use the hotel transport, called dala dala) is much better, but if you think the all inclusive option means you can use the bar at the second beach, you are wrong.
Meals: for more then a week the meals had been served in a small pavillon, called a la carte restaurant, so the choice was really poor. Of course, you will not be hungry, some dishes were brought by waiters from so called "inside", and you can eat from live cooking station, but it is the same and the same all around the clock - breakfast -pancakes or omellete, lunch and dinner -pasta or rice. Everyday we had a A4 paper menu to choose what we want to eat, but most of time we had no choice, f.e. you have one main course or one soup, for a dessert always something from "inside" or fruits -papaya, marracuya, watermelon and once bananas, mango and pineapple.
Beach/pool towels are paid.
If rains, you do not have any other option then uding your room. In bars you will get wet, and the roofs are not hermetic.

To sum up - if you want to see Africa and it is your first time, go for it. If not, think about other places.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank KamilaandMariusz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2019

unfortunately it is not possible to adress zero points The first unpleasant experience was my attempt to arrange an airport transfer with the resort ... no answer to calls, email, whattsapp. This is not acceptable. The room was with sea view ... however in front the resort seaweed is dominating the sea. Swimming is not an option. The room itselves was stinking ... which is not really a surprise since bathroom, toilette and sleeping room are one room not divided by doors. No fan in shower area to evacuate humidity !!! No shower gel, no hand wash Very poor internet connection an in spite of that also very instabile. Poor Menue, and on top of that half of the stuff not available. The breakfast looks cost optimised as well. Since there is no real beach you to take a hotel shuttle (only six times a day) to go to the so called second beach. Second beach is a stripe of strand between a construction ruin and another seaweed field. All in all ... this cannot be recommend ... there are a lot of better places for less money on the island.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Dream52047211061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discover774233, Gerente at Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2019

Dear guest,

We as paradise & Wilderness are working everyday hard to achieve satisfied and happy guest.
The guests are saying that the quality of our services is high and we have beautiful employees who are making this high standard for our lovely guest.

For us it is important: every guest is enjoying a real Zanzibar feeling in our beautiful resort. For guest, young and old, we have possibilities and the right entertainment.

The rooms are modern, fresh and decorated with the right Swahili decorations.

For in the future, please inform us during your stay, so we can look for the right solution so you could enjoy your holidays.
We have always time to think with our guest and listen to them, because you and the other guest are the most important for us.


Kind regards,

Paradise & Wilderness team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2019 via mobile

One of the better hotels/lodges in Zanzibar. One big problem is maintenance on their units ....unable to close doors, non existant water pressure, blocked drains and cleaners who do not understand to keep doors and windows closed when the air conditioner is in use. Staff slamming metal doors 12. O' clock at night and even when asked to stop slamming the doors it only lasts until the next evening. Overall a great stay but will earn an extra star if they maintain and fix problems when asked.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Pierre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2019

We arrived, only to be told that they have "messed up the booking" and we were going to be taken to Reef n Beach resort, which is cheaper. They didn't contact us in advance, so spent hours getting there and then moving to the other resort. It has the construction that Connector517.. mentioned, so this obviously happened to him too.

In fact, while we were at the new place, I overheard reception mentioning other guests being moved as well from Paradise. We booked and paid 8 months in advance! Obviously they take higher-paid bookings last minute and then push the advance bookings to a cheaper resort... and then make you ask repeatedly over a few months for a partial refund. And won't refund you if you've added a negative review.

Oh and the beach isn't great either - you can't just go for a swim in the ocean without wading through mud.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Service
2  Thank thelukeandrews2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discover774233, Director Comercial at Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2019

Dear Mr and Mrs Andrews, I am sorry to hear that your stay in our resort did not turn out the way you hoped it would be.
Due to an overbooking we had to welcome you in Reef & Beach Resort and we offered you another price. On Zanzibar we have high and low tide. When the tide is low you have a very long beach. When the tide is high you can swim in the clear blue sea. For this we have our jetti bar extended so the guests can enjoy swimming and having drinks in the bar. I hope you have had a good return home. I apologize for the inconvience you have had during your stay.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews