We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely and quiet place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tamarind Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Uroa B&B and Inns
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“lovely and quiet place”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We have spend 5 lovely days in the Tamarind Beach Hotel with our 2 boys. The cottages may be simple, but for us they were perfect. Situated along a beautiful and quiet beach, with a cosy veranda facing the ocean... the beds are good, the bathroom may be simple to European standards, but you really cannot expect luxurious things for these low rates. Electricity all day and night and the same goes for hot water. Bed sheets and towels are renewed every day and the cottadages are well cleaned on a dayli basis which is oood seen the sand and salt that get in everyday. We left early morning before 6 and the cook had prepared a full breakfast for us to take on the boat back to Dar. That's what I call service... we really loved the place and will return here!

Room Tip: There is 1 cottage with airconditioning. We didn`t need it as we are used to the hot temperatures in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CcH1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    34
    9
    7
    19
See reviews for
20
30
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I would like to agree with the person saying the rooms are filthy.
My husband and I had heard about this place before our first arrival to Zanzibar. Due to their prices and location in Uroa, we decided to book three nights. Thanks God we didn't have to pay before we checked out.
As soon as we arrived we decided to get some lunch, when the waiter took us to our table, it was dirty and full of flies sticking on to the table. The waiter, didn't bother to take us to another table instead he decided to clean it whilst we were sitting there.
On top of that, it took approximately 40 minutes for our order of chips and chicken to get ready, when we asked for it, they waiter nonchalantly replied, " Madam, we are busy". Mind you, it was only us and another couple sitting at the restaurant.
Matter got worse. In the evening when we wanted to go to bed, we noticed how much the room smelled of smoke plus the bed linen smelled as if they had not been changed. I immediately went to the supervisor or manager, whom I had to argue with for a good 5 minutes before he gave us another room. We decided to check out the following day. I wouldn't recommen this place to anyone

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Uroa hotels

Préverenges, Suisse
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Wonderfully located in Uroa, right on the beach, this place is beautifull. The staff is friendly and the food excellent. Thw swimming ppoll is just perfect, as are the sunbeds and the towels kindly provided by the management. We were alone on a magnificent beach of white sands!
The place has a taste of paradise, although the rooms and bathrooms are in need of a renovation (given the high rate charged). The village people are poor and will be delighted if you leave them your clothes, caps, medicine, etc.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruti_1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We spent a week in this hotel in June. The service was excellent and very personalised. The grounds and swimming pool are lovely. The food was extremely good and always served at the requested time. The rooms are very basic and very dark but spacious. All in all, we were delighted with our stay in a very authentic African atmosphere.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simrishamn, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Stayed there over a weekend! The hotel has everything to offer and the prices was totally fine as well! Its not one of the more luxurious alternatives in Unguja but good anyway! The service was very good and the staff very kind! The athmosphere was relaxed which i do prefer. You do not have many meters from the bungalows to the ocean -just pass the excellent Pool and then you are there! The biggest flaw for this hotel was evidently the rooms - wherein attaches bungalows.
I would strongly recomend a renovasion most soon. But anyway, you get what you pay for. If you are going for the a more luxurious stay at the islands of Zanzibar you have to pay at least 150 - 200 US/night! But anyhow that depends on the time of your stay - the season - which indeed can create really good prices and sometimes awefully high rates. If you are longing for picturesque villages Uroa is not the place - but for a decent stay with tremendous sunrises in the morning over the indian ocean to a decent rates - i highly recomend Tamarind!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannesofsweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariehamn, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Old property, yes. Low standard, yes. But for us - 4 adults and 3 kids -Tamarind was pure luxury. Perhaps it is because the hotel and the surroundings represents something you consider being lost and only belonging to the past.
In this hotel you are not hidden behind high walls and your everyday life is not ruled by a lot of regulations. The three kids loved for example the possibility to use the pool also in the night. The extraordenary warm and friendly people working at Tamarind didn't see any troubles in making you breakfast or dinner outside the ordinary hours and they did their best to make you feel satisfied.
We lived only a few metres from the fabulous, very long, white beach with seashells, animals, kind locals, extremely few tourists and no huzzling beach boys.
If you look for the kind of high standard hotels you find all over the world - don't choose this one. If you look for genuin atmosphere - go to Tamarind and ask for room 17 och 18 - they are the best!
Dear Tamarind - your big family from Finland loves you. We had a good week also in Nungwi but it felt artificial and crowdy compared to you. Good luck!

Room Tip: The two rooms 17 and 18 are closest to the sea. The view from their verandas is breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Titte T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Uroa beach, where Tamarind is located, is astoundingly beautiful, much less touristy than the beaches on the north coast and more "wild". Tamarind is located right on the beach and has a well kept swimming pool for swimming when the tide is low, definitely a bonus!

However the rooms when we stayed there in August 2011 were appalling. The access to the rooms is adjacent to open steps leading to an open terrace (no railing or anything) very dangerous for small children. Inside the room is musty and mouldy and dark. The decor leaves a lot to be desired, and isn't even of the standard of a "local local" hotel. We never had hot water although we asked for it to be turned on repeatedly. The shower was filthy and rusty and only trickled (cold) water the toilet moved when sat on. Also the light didn't work in the bathroom and was never fixed despite me telling them repeatedly The pillows on the bed are not very comfortable. We had originally booked for three nights but after the first uncomfortable night and lack of showering facilities we checked our and moved on.

Breakfast was good and hearty but we were disappointed by the quality of the food at dinner, everything tasted the same and we didn't feel great after eating there.

The staff were lovely and the manager was very disappointed when we decided to check out early. We told him he really needs to invest in his rooms to charge $90 per night b&b.

Room Tip: Make sure you see a variety of rooms before checking in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TZnomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uroa
0.5 mi away
Uroa Bay Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Mermaids Cove Beach Resort & Spa
3.6 mi away
Chwaka Bay Resort
Chwaka Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Chwaka
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Moonshine Uroa Boutique Hotel
3.0 mi away
Azao Resort & Spa
Azao Resort & Spa
#4 of 6 in Pongwe
92 reviews
11.2 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
1,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarind Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Beach Hotel

Property: Tamarind Beach Hotel
Address: East Coast, Uroa, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Uroa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Uroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bungalows by the white sandy beaches of the Indian Ocean. Tamarind is affordable paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tamarind Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Beach Hotel Zanzibar Island, Tanzania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing