We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Uroa Bay Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
$89
$42
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
$42
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sea View Hotel(Zanzibar City)
$64
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$38
Booking.com
View Deal
Zanzibar Ocean View(Zanzibar Island)
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (818)
Filter reviews
818 results
Traveler rating
355
322
83
34
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
355
322
83
34
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsuroa baystone townsea frontbuffet restauranttour guidespice tourdoing nothingan excursionswimming pool isall inclusive packagesouth africanshigh tidepublic areasevery eveningplace is beautifulfood and drinksprison island
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
238 - 243 of 818 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This place suits honeymooners, friends or family travelers alike. Friendly and helpful staff. Everything you need for an island vacation. Free wifi. Safe and secure all around the resort and beach. Clean and sparkling pools and right on the beach.
They could however add some English books and magazines to their library.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Natash2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This review is for fellow wheelchair travelers as the hotel indicate on the website that the hotel is wheelchair accessible. First of all Excellent resort!
Wheelchair accessibility on the ground very good, angles of ramps is perfect. Difficult to get to beach, but not impossible. Swimming pool not wheelchair accessible. Room is spacious, bed approx. 15cm higher than wheel of chair. Bathroom - no grab-rail at toilet, no shower-chair, your travel shower-chair will work perfect as the bathroom is spacious.

Negative : wheelchair rooms is family rooms, thus you will pay for 3 persons even if you are 1 traveller. Maybe the resort can urgently work on this aspect.

Positives: Numerous - food, service, friendliness, relaxation.....

Room Tip: Contact the manager directly for a better rate, otherwise too expensive if you pay for a "ghost erson".
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeonPotch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights at the beginning of August 2013 and had a lovely time. The Italian management were friendly enough, saying hello each day and the resort felt extremely safe and well run. The pool was beautiful with plenty of sunbeds and there were other activities if you're not a sunbather: a tennis court, table tennis, a 5 a side football pitch and a lovely beach to stroll along. As Uroa is a quiet village, there were not really other places to visit for dinner etc so we stayed on the resort most of the time, The food was lovely with enough variety to satisfy most people. Evening entertainment (acrobats, bands etc) happens a few nights a week which was pleasant to watch. Excursions can be organised from the resort although we didn't participate in any as we were happy chilling by the pool. All in all, Uroa was a quiet, relaxed resort but perfect for what we wanted after a busy safari.

Room Tip: We had a sea view room but could barely see the sea so not really worth the extra money. The gardens are lovely so garden view would be equally as good.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stephtrueman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We holidayed here as a honeymoon couple with children aged 14 and 6 years. We stayed for 13 nights in July/August 2013.

Booking / costs – We booked via booking.com and had email communications with the hotel prior to our stay. The management were always polite and responded quickly.
Check-in – We were collected by hotel taxi from the airport for $50. Upon arrival our room keys etc were ready along with a fruit juice drink. Staff helped us to our room immediately after we settled the accommodation bill.
The night before checkout you are asked to settled your tab for the stay which we did in full. However this caused a few difficulties for us the next day as we were asked to pay for everything in cash as we used it however we’d used all our cash!! Luckily the staff allowed us to make a further tab which of course we paid just before leaving.
Location – Uroa is on the East coast of Zanzibar about 45 minutes from the airport and Stone town. The beach is stunning. Uroa is on the coral reef so you will get seaweed but the beach is beautiful. White sand, warm clear waters. When the tide is out you can walk to a raised sandy area just watch the urchins.
Rooms – We stayed in a two bedroom garden view room. Actually we could see the sea and were happy we didn’t pay extra for that benefit!! Each room had a kingsize bed in as well as wardrobe and drawers. The master room had balcony access and a tv. Bathroom was large, tiled and clean. Upon arrival we had a special honeymoon palm entry made for us, flowers decorating the property and fruit bowls which was lovely.
All air conditioned as well as a fan. Small fridge filled with water daily. We had safe too.
My only slight criticism would be the quality of the towels and bed sheets – they could do with updating however were always clean.
Communal areas/Facilities -The grounds of the hotel are well fenced and the entry guarded. The beach front has security guards. Not that i felt at risk, however this was seen as a secure measure.
The hotel offers wifi in the reception area where there is plenty of space to sit or lay around on day beds. Towards the end of our stay they were also upgrading their wifi which we could access from our room. Quite slow but adequate for use during a holiday.
The hotel has a small library to swap books. This was full of Italian and French reading so I left a few English books there too ;-)
Doctor on site each evening from 6-8 (ish). Offers free consultation, $20 quick malaria blood test, and a fee charging prescription or out of hours service. Helpful as Uroa is some distance from any private health facilities of Stone Town.
Safe car park area if you’re hiring a car.
Tennis court area which we didn’t use however looked clean and well managed. You can borrow tennis rackets from reception. There is also a mini football pitch – the hotel have a team who practice 2-4 nights per week and play around the Island.
Beach/pool area -The hotel is beach front. There are a number of sunbeds and umbrellas along the beach front. The tide range is quite big and at high tide the water is up to the walls of the hotel boundaries. This is Africa, you will get people on the beach trying to sell you stuff. In my opinion they didn’t hassle, they aren’t nearly as annoying as other African areas. They attempted to sell us some excursions and wooden bits as well as henna tattoos. Other than that local women were farming seaweed in the sea and generally living their private lives.
The pool area was immaculately clean, plenty of sunbeds and shady areas. The pool area was braely ever full which gave a feeling of space and quietness. Often our children were the only ones in the pool. The pool bar was well stocked and has an array of non/alcoholic drinks, pizzas, snacks, lunch and desserts. They also have a large tv for sports screenings!
Towels are provided. I think these have seen better days but were useable and alwsy fresh and clean.
Staff – We found each and every one of the staff to be friendly helpful and kind. There were a number of trainee staff all of whom were learning – they remained courteous throughout.
The management are Italian, I found them to speak little Swahili or English so watching them train staff was interesting. Luckily some of the staff seemed to speak Italian.
Other guests – guests were mainly European – Norwegian, Dutch, Italian, British, as well as Americans and South Africans. Most people had either enjoyed a safari in Tanzania/Kenya or climbed Kilimanjaro! As a consequence most guests seemed to stay just a few days.
Food – We stayed on B+B option however the hotel also offer, half board, full board and all inclusive. Breakfast is served 6.30-10.30 in the buffet dining area. There was a huge range including pancakes, cakes, cookies, bread for toast, fruits, yogurt, hot foods 9sausgae, beans) and a chef to cook your eggs in any way you wanted! Also nutella and hersheys syrup which were at times a welcome home comfort!
Lunch is either served at the buffet restaurant for $15 or a la carte (either in the restaurant or at the poolside bar). Same for dinner.
The buffet was reasonably priced and offered a good variety of food. Bottled water included. Every night included pasta station, fruit, desserts, salads, and a BBQ area which had frssj meat and fish each night. The dining area was clean, beach view and free from bugs/birds/flys etc!!
Activities/Entertainment/excursions – the hotel offers three entertainment events per week consisting of acrobats, live band etc. They commence around 9.15, sounded pretty good however with the kids we didn’t get a chance to watch!!
This isn't a hotel with an animation team bugging you all day, its quiet and relaxed.
On site they have a small shop selling tourist souvenirs (including postcards and stamps), toiletries and chocolate! I noted a previous comment about the hours of opening – this shop is open every day morning and eve (except thurs morning) and isn’t operated by the hotel. There’s a Massage place. And an excursions desk – we organised the Spice tour through them. Reasonably priced, efficient and we enjoyed the tour.

Dont miss:
We hired a car for a few days to explore the Island. We enjoyed a day trip to Stone Island, prison Island (giant tortoises), kizimkazi for dolphin tours/swimming, Nungwi, the butterfly park, to visit the red colobus monkeys and the amazing rock restaurant – ALL RECOMMENDED.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank 1980mp1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

My husband and I booked our honeymoon through Africa Stay and chose Uroa Bay. The rooms are clean and spacious. The service is out of this world, we can honestly say the holiday was made by the staff at Uroa Bay! The beach is stunning for walking and swimming. The only negatives we found were the 'merchants' on the beach, they make you feel rather uncomfortable at times and found the owner's kids took over which was a bit off putting. The towels could be replaced but overall we couldn't fault the lodge itself! We had an amazing trip and would definitely recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are great in my opinion.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MtbBarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews