We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Uroa Bay Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Uroa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Now for Zanzibar and its climate, this was a great place to stay at! The rooms are beautiful, and clean, air conditioner ( which you need - trust me!) fan, mossie-net, TV, fridge, a private little patio, everything your need!
Very important (for me) they have a working back-up generator that kicks in as soon as the power cuts off (which happens A LOT on Zanzibar) which means that you air-conditioner, tv, fridge what ever is not interrupted!

The food (buffet) was great! Some a la carte dishes were a bit oily and the language barrier can be a problem with some of the waiters, but I have seldom seen friendlier waiters and more helpful staff! The set-up is just great and you can really enjoy your holiday here!

A tip - If you like going to bed 'earlier' you might want to book a room that's not close too the restaurant/bar as they often have some entertainment planned for a the evenings (bands/shows etc), which is GREAT, but it can be loud for those not interested and//or sick in bed etc.

Around Uroa is not much to do, other than the usual snorkeling etc,...(outside the lodge) no supermarkets etc, just keep that in mind! And the beach boys are a bit more annoying on that beach...

But overall, Its a great place to relax in Zanzibar! I recommend it.

Room Tip: Not too close to the bar area if you want to be able to go to sleep early (22h00) etc!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jurgen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (768)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

267 - 273 of 768 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2011

i visited Zanzibar in 11.2011. the travel arrangements were made already from South Africa where i reside. This hotel is excellently situated at the north east of the island. the entrance to the hotel is greatly contrasting with the surrounding area: you get the feeling you are getting into something special.
All the structures are so well maintained that i wonder how can this feat in maintenance achieved.
The rooms are spotlessly clean, and fresh flowers are awaiting you in the bed and at the door.
All rooms had air-con, huge fans for ventilation and that comes handy in a tropical country (humidity). They are even functional when there is power outage in the island as the hotel has got its own generator.
The kitchen is acceptable for holidays. It had plenty of things to eat: from croissants to cappuccino , eggs, fruits...one thing i missed though was that it lacked the local flavor. the managers (probably owners) of the place are Italians and you could be excused to think you are in an average Italian restaurant .
the swimming pools are very beautiful but i did not see much people using them. Why should you if you are a jump away from the Indian Ocean.
There is free hotspot available for the guests of the hotel. So you can tweet your way through your holidays.
The biggest asset of the place though was the people: from management to the cleaners.
They just had that way of making you feel welcome and part of the place, and i am sure that is not easy to do. The staff seemed genuinely happy to serve you. it was as if they understand that they are part of the business.
During our time there, we were treated to wonderful evenings of music and entertainment. i danced as i have not for a long time helped by my inebriated state through the champagne i bought at the restaurant.
From the restaurant, you can organize the diverse tours that will help you discover the island and the people.
Try this place , you won't regret for sure...

Room Tip: Choose a room close to the ocean but it is more expensive then.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank romicom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

After being dropped off at the wrong hotel and realised that the hotel looked nothing like the photos (obviously!) we had to wait an hour before being collected to Uroa Bay Beach Resort. (make sure the driver knows where you are going).
The hotel staff were pleasant and we received our room pack ! This consists of remote controls for TV & aircon as well as towel cards (dont lose them otherwise you will be charged) along with a beaded bracelet that you must wear at all times, colour coordinated dependant upon the type of package you have chosen.
As the resort is Italian run and has several Italian guests, the staff speak Swahili first, Italain second. Being English speaking, there was a big language barrier. Learn some Swahili words/sayings and the staff really appreciate you, and go out of their way to be of service to you.
The "soft all-inclusive" package (full board + all soft drinks) is well worthwhile, although if you ask for a coke, they will gladly serve it into a glass, but if you want the bottle you will be charged US$2 !! The buffet, even though satisfactory, sometimes lacked in variety and often had last nights meals mixed together for the next days lunch. Food can really be improved on.
For excursions, even though the shop there is well run, would advise to contact the excursion owners direct if possible, as there prices are considerably lower than the excursion shop at the hotel.
Bedrooms were very nice, comfortable, clean and the pool was stunning and the beach amazing. Beautiful views. The pictures on the website do not do the resort justice.

Room Tip: Best rooms and ocean front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LKnowlesBotswana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

My sister and I stayed at Uroa Bay Beach Resort from the 10 to the 13 of November.
The hotel is about 40 minutes from the airport and there is not much to do within the bay save for some water sports. They have a very capable tour agency though and a lovely gift shop with exquisite items.
The sea view room we took was amazing, the view quite breathtaking. We opted for the half board which makes sense because dining out options are few in the general area. The swimming pool is quite big and very clean. Everything in Uroa was remarkably clean. I have read some reviews where people complain about flies, but we did not encounter this problem. This is Africa so it could be the month they visited there were a lot more flies. November is very cool in Zanzibar lots of drizzling and showers meaning less flies.
Rossella was amazingly nice. One late night we had a problem with the safe and she came to reset it, even though it was quite late. Thank you Rossella.
The menu and everything are priced in dollars so do not bother changing any of your money into the local currency.

The only reason I do not give Uroa excellent is because I found some of the staff to be a bit gossipy. Being a Kenyan citizen, I understand Swahili and it was very uncomfortable to have to listen to a waitress complaining about fellow guests to her colleagues.

I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The sea front rooms are well worth the extra money. There is a balcony where you can sit out and jus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sharon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

Nice hotel, quiet, clean, very enjoyable. Swimming pool is very good, food mainly Italian and delicious. Staff is friendly and you feel that people are taking care of you.
There are apetizers before lunch and dinner, free glass of sparkling wine before dinner and first glass of wine with dinner is free as well.
We took half board as plenty of food was available for breakfast and dinner and we didn't feel the need to pay for lunch. Menu a la carte is available on the pool's bar et it is sufficient

(-) the beach is average, greatly influenced by the tide, and the sea floor mainly rocky (corals and seaweed). but the white clean sand is gorgeous and at high tide, swimming there is a real pleasure
(-) except for swimming and sunbathing, you can't do much in the hotel (there is a volleyball playground and a tennis court, but no body is playing), so you can get bored. However, after one week of a rough camping safari, laying in the sun doing nothing was just perfect.

Our Tanzania trip consisted of 1 day in Dar Essalam, 1 week safari from Arusha, 4 days in Uroa beach resort and 2 days in Stonetown. We felt it was the perfect way to discover and see the country and its attractions

Room Tip: Sea front is more expensive but perfect for a tea on the balcony, we don't regret at all paying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank karimoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for three nights and are really happy with the choice, we looked through lot of hotels and pictures on tripadvisor and finally made our choise on this one. I have to say that pictures do not reflect real beauty of the place and we were very suprised that it is much more nice and beautiful than on pictures.
We stayed in sea front room with magnificant view. Rooms are very clean, stuff is very polite, management is excellent. We will recomend this place to all our friends as we really had a nice rest in this magnific place.
The beach wasnt very clean, but we spent all time in the swimming pool so it didnt annoy that much.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

This is a nice quiet hotel, with fantastic views and a stunning beach( pity about the seaweed). We had a beachfront room, definently the right choice, spent time relaxing on the balcony with a beautiful breeze and stunning view of the ocean. The rooms are clean and very comfertable,all you need. The grounds of the hotel are very well maintained and the pool lovely. The Italian staff are excellent and the majority of local staff are extremely friendly and helpfull. A very strange and bizaree waitress, even became entertaining after a few days. The buffet lunches and dinners are ok and value for money in relation to what you pay for is what you get, More variety and an italian head chef would be a fantastic addition to the resort. This is very much a getaway from it all and the location is very quiet and away from everywhere, however trips are easy to arrange and the staff very helpfull. Do the spice tour, really good and make sure you snorkel. I must say overall I enjoyed the location and the hotel very much and highly recommend. Dont look for 5 star in Zanzibar, waste of money Uroa Bay is nice and enjoyable.

Room Tip: Beach front is just the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EwanandHanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uroa
10.7 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,662 reviews
27.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
19.1 mi away
Coral Rock Zanzibar
Coral Rock Zanzibar
#7 of 13 in Jambiani
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,726 reviews
4.3 mi away
Pongwe Beach Hotel
Pongwe Beach Hotel
#1 of 6 in Pongwe
913 reviews
0.7 mi away
Palumboreef Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uroa Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uroa Bay Beach Resort

Address: Uroa Bay, Uroa 2675, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Uroa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Uroa
Price Range: $107 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Uroa Bay Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new 4 star superior resort, on wonderful Uroa Beach, on the East Cost of Zanzibar. Italian management and maintenance, with smiling and professional local staff, working all together to make you enjoy at best your stay here. Big pool, pool/beach towel service, great beach, excellent Italian inspired kitchen, more then 40 square meter rooms fully equipped and furnished (individual A/C, mini fridge with daily refill mineral water, TV with satellite channels, telephone, fan, mosquito nets on beds, safe, internet connection, private furnished terrace, private services with shower box and bidet). Relaxing and easy-going atmosphere. Ideal for everyone who wants to relax and have a great time in a wonderful location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Otel, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Uroa Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uroa Bay Beach Hotel Uroa Village
Uroa Bay Beach Resort Zanzibar Island, Tanzania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing