We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Heaven on earth :-)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Samaki Lodge & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Samaki Lodge & Spa
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Uroa
Certificate of Excellence
Vrchlabi, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
1 review
“Heaven on earth :-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Thank you for a wonderfully relaxing holiday. I can reproach nothing. Thank you for delicious food, fun from the animators, waiters for super services and charladys in cleaning was perfect too. The biggest thanks goes to Masai Stefano!! If possible, we will return to this place again .

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KatiMala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
il P, Public Relations Manager at Samaki Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Kati Mala,
thanks for your special feed back, we are glad for it!
Stefano is very happy and even the rest of the staff..we are going to wait you next time offering you a special treatment...even in Palumbo Kendwa , our brand new hotel in the north side of the island.
Thanks for all and we hope to see you again here with us!
Best wishes..
Carolina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    70
    16
    5
    7
See reviews for
92
229
34
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We spent 4 weeks travelling around Africa. Our time at Zanzibar was supposed to be the restful part of the trip. We certainly did get some rest while were there but it wasn't what we were hoping for. As the title suggests, to be honest we were a bit disappointed.

We had arranged to be picked up from the airport but no one was there so we had to arrange our own transport. This left us being harassed by about 50 taxi drivers grabbing at out bags etc, This was very stressful to say the least. Generally the rooms weren't quite up to scratch, for example our toilet didn't flush properly, there was a TV in the room but it was no more than an ornament as it didn't work at all. When we queried this we were told "no they never work". The toilet was sort of fixed but still wasn't great.

Free WiFi was only offered in reception which in 2014 is a bit average. As others have mentioned the resort is very much directed towards Italians. As non Italians we felt very left out.

One of the shining lights was Awina who was one of the staff. She was exceptionally friendly and helpful. Thank you Awina. :-)

If we ever went back to Zanzibar we feel we could find somewhere a bit more welcoming to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeffCarole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
il P, Public Relations Manager at Samaki Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Dear Jeff,
thanks for your comment,
We are sorry you had some minor problems but about your transfer we can notice that you had not confirmed the reservation, that is why the reception did not organize the transfer.
Samaki is set for international guests even if the Owners are Italian.
In fact the majority of the clients are foreigners.
In addition, all the staff speaks fluent English.
Anyway we thank you for being with us and we will refer to Awena your nice comment.
Greetings from all of us in Samaki Lodge

Carolina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanvald, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We've already had a rich experiences with services quality in Africa, but there we've got much more than we expect. The hotel and its surroundings is an amazing calm and confortable oasis which allows you absolutely placid stay in Zanzibar. Hotel is located at beautiful 'white' beach where you can watch local fishermen, local women cultivating their underwater fields with a seaweed during the low tide. The hotel was all the time tidy and stuff were gratifying and friendly. The room was clean with low noise A/C and ventilator, bed equipped with mosquito net, TV and WiFi internet connection. Food was absolutely great, we had breakfasts in Samaki, lunches and dinners at Palumbo reef (neighbour hotel, one owner, 2min throught the garden, Exim CZ), a lot of vegtables, fruits, seafood, pasta, rice, beef, chicken, pork, sweets. We had included soft all incl. containing limonades, fresh juices, coffe, tea....The hotel was not crowded, so sometimes we were alone at the pool and we could relax a lot without disturbing. So we would like to thank to all stuff for doing good job and we hope to return to this paradise in near future finding hotel in same conditions.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pavel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
il P, Public Relations Manager at Samaki Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Pavel,
we are pleased when we receive a feedback like yours...
Wow really excellent!!
Thanks also from all the staff that is always taking care about the guests
and will be really happy to read that!
Soon our new hotel in Kendwa is going to be open, the style and the concept is the same like Samaki Lodge is, so please don't hesitate and contact us for further information..
Don't miss it!!
Thanks a lot for everything, hope to see you soon!!
Greetings..
Carolina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostrava, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

My husband and I have been in this hotel spent 11 amazing days , thanks to the excellent and friendly staff. Hotel is located on the beautiful beach and wonderfully warm sea which is unique ebb and flow in words - it can not even describe . Kitchen great and varied mainly of fine foods and different ways, so there is no stereotype at home :-)
Everywhere absolute purity by which the personal care each day in both the rooms , the pool , near the sidewalk , etc.
The beauty , great atmosphere , tropical nights and lots of friendly staff can not even describe it ... it must be experienced.
Thank you to all who took care of us well as the reception, restaurant and maids . A big thanks also Masajům who cared about our safety .
Sincerely married Bitto

Room Tip: My husband and I have been in this hotel spent 11 amazing days , thanks to the excellent and friendl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
il P, Public Relations Manager at Samaki Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Andrea,
we are really enjoying your review!
Thanks for all you had describe very clearly using a lot of positive vibes..you are very kind and we love to have guests like you!!
Don't hesitate to come back here with us, you are more than welcome!
Hope to see you soon, big hug from all the staff!
Dobre:)
Jasmine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We spent 5 nights in this amazing hotel.
Staff: great, always smiling and helpful every time. For safety of guests are there Massai warriors.
Food: amazing! For lunch and dinner they serve Italian specialities, seafood, meat, fresh salads and sweet table with tasty cakes and fresh fruit. Of course u can drink hot and cold drink all day until 10pm. Breakfast was rich, fresh fruits, continental offer and also you can have omelet or pancakes. And afternoon they serve tasty snack.
Room: nice, clean, include AC, TV and fridge.
Animation: rich program every day, if you have enough of rest you can simply join the program like beach volley, air hockey or other interested things. In hotel there are also organised excursions you can choose on place.
Beach: clean, white sandy beach, every 6hours is inflow, ocean is great for swimming, but you can swim and have fun also in outflow, water was great! On the beach there are local people asking you to visit their shops or to join some excursion.
So if you are searching for the best one, choose this hotel and you will spend the best holiday as we spent.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dajka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
il P, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Samaki Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Dajka,
we thank you for the fabulous description of Samaki you have done!!
We are pleased when our guests appreciate and enjoy their holidays here with us, satisfaying also all the staff working in order to give the best service always.
If you want to come back in Zanzibar we look forward with pleasure here at Samaki.. and a special treatment is waiting for you!!
Many thanks from all the staff.
C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arusha, Tanzania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Our group of 14 (we all live in Arusha, Tanzania) arrived at Samaki Lodge on December 10, 2013. The lodge staff was extremely accommodating, from picking us up at the airport, to helping us bake a cake, to popping popcorn for our movie night. The rooms were clean and comfortable...the air conditioning was a blessing in the heat and humidity of Zanzibar in December! The food was excellent...we had two individuals with special diets, and there was always plenty of food for them to choose from. The children loved having the choice of two pools to swim in. The lodge also arranged for two tours- stone town and spice tour, which were enjoyed by our group.
As this was our second time to visit Samaki Lodge, we were pleasantly surprised that there were even more amenities provided now than before. There is free wireless internet in the lobby, evening entertainment (LOVED the acrobats), and unlimited non-alcoholic drinks. The staff are kind and attentive. One member had her air conditioning break late at night, but the repairman arrived quickly and had it working with in minutes.
The beach at this time of year was quite lovely. There was some seaweed on the beach, but it did not hinder swimming. Some of the group complained they were overwhelmed by locals trying to sell them souvenirs and tours. However, this seemed to vary by the time of day.
Overall, our visit was wonderful. Our four nights passed way too fast. Everyone in our group would give Samaki Lodge two thumbs up (and even three thumbs if we had them!). Giuseppe, the hotel manager is extremely gracious and has set the bar high for hospitality. The value for the money we paid is excellent- I don't think it could be beat. I look forward to returning in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiffanee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
il P, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Samaki Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Tiffanee,
we are pleased to receive your feedback from the lovely Arusha!
We try to make happy our guests always, providing all they need for a perfect holiday..
We are very close to each other and you are welcome any time!!
Let us know if you can organize other trips form Arusha with friends here in Samaki and we can agree, offering you the best price!
We thank you for your kindness, hoping to have you here with us soon!
Greetings..
C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khartoum
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Me and My Husband went in our Honeymoon to Samaki Resort for 17days..It was a days in heaven . Before we go there ; we feel that we will face a problem in language and food and it was a first visit in real Africa apart of our country; the actual that we found is an amazing Staff (thanks Yousif you real made our days ), and they are so friendly , helping in everything that could pop up in your mind :) , helping arranging the tours, food and historical visits . We really felt blessed to be with you with your smiley faces and unbelievable nice spirits and simple behavior.
I will never forget when you allow me cooking for your guests and gave me the privilege to enjoy with your lovely chiefs and people.
Living with the Massai people was a wonderful experience , i really enjoyed each and every single moment there.

Simple words , I FELT HEAVEN !!!

If i will go again for a vacation to have peace and fun , i will never think just on SAMAKI..

LOVE YOU GUYS !!

Mr and Mrs Yousif Mohammed.

Room Tip: our room was facing the beach !!! LOVELY !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rusha_NYMZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
il P, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Samaki Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Pedders,
we are very sorry if this was your sensation..it's very strange thinking that the staff is not speaking English couse all of them or almost all, are coming from Tanzania, where people after Kiswahili speak English!
We welcome many nationalities during the year and no one was complaining till now.
Anyway, we hope to see you again here with us and to make you feel all the good vibes we are used to give to everyone!!
Many thanks.
C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uroa
0.6 mi away
Uroa Bay Beach Resort
26.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
10.1 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#1 of 167 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 stars 358 reviews
26.0 mi away
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 stars 574 reviews
19.8 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#3 of 12 in Jambiani
4.5 of 5 stars 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samaki Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samaki Lodge & Spa

Property: Samaki Lodge & Spa
Address: Main Road, Uroa 458-928, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Uroa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Uroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Samaki Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samaki Lodge is a "boutique hotel" located on the beautiful Uroa beach, 30 km from the international airport.Samaki Lodge comprises 19 rooms, elegantly and originally furnished while retaining the style of old Zanzibar.A private beach, equipped with beds, tables and umbrellas is ideal for sunbathing and relaxing under the hot African sun.During their stay guests can make long walks on the beach, meet and socialize with the friendly local people, discovering the uses and customs. The area of sea that lies between the reef and the beach allows you to swim in a safe and wonderful language of coral sand that goes for dozens of meters into the turquoise waters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Samaki Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samaki Lodge & Spa Zanzibar Island, Tanzania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing