We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A Little Slice of Paradise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Samaki Lodge & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Samaki Lodge & Spa
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Uroa
Certificate of Excellence
Chesterton, Indiana
Level Contributor
230 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“A Little Slice of Paradise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from six nights at Samaki Lodge. This quaint lodge is perfect for travelers who want to relax and take in the natural beauty of Zanzibar. There isn't much to do in the area, but I thoroughly enjoyed the beach and pools. This lodge does NOT have a beach but you can utilize the beach at the next door lodge. In fact, we enjoyed the dinner buffet each evening there (15 USD for lunch or dinner). Make certain you meet Samera at the front desk and Kennedy who has a little shop to the far right from the beach. Also, make sure to explore the seaweed gardens cultivated by the locals during low tides. Amazing!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
il P, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Samaki Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Marie,
Thanks a lot for your feed back..we really appreciate it!
Our small resort, is perfect for enjoing holidays in a totally relaxing atmosphere.
We can offer all services that our guests need: restaurant (buffet or à la carte) bar, spa, pool area, beach area, boutique, diving, hourse riding and many other excursions to discover this beautiful island.
We hope to see you again, in the next future..maybe with family or friends..
You are almost welcome!!
C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    73
    16
    5
    7
See reviews for
96
234
35
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

The hotel has excellent facilities and hospitality of the hotel,just as what the other reviewers have said of the place. After a long travel from Dar Es Salaam to Zanzibar, we were really tired, but the moment we arrived at the hotel, we knew that it was a great place to unwind and relax.

The hotel treated us like family, with the great service and great food. The location is such that you have all the privacy you need, but yet you have full accessibility to the beach and the sea. Swimming pool was great too, clean and nice. Breakfast everyday was a joy and we will always look forward to eating in the restaurant. Dinner was always fantastic and great, as the food served was excellent and we could see and taste that the chef placed great pride in his cooking. All meals were buffet style, and yet was great.

The room that we were in was just fantastic. We had the full view of the sea, village and even the hotel, it was a great privilege to be located there, we never had shortage of fresh sea air and we never got bored of the view.

Beach wise, could have been better, as you may have read from the other reviewers, there are a lot of sea weed in the water and on the beach, because locals also farm sea weed in the area. But it is very interesting to observe the locals farming the seaweed during low tide, thats why it was great that even though the tides are very drastic everyday, you don't get bored with the shoreline at all.

Last of all was the pleasant surprise at which the hotel will randomly have special presentations in the evening with performances by the locals or even by their own Masai who also are the security personnel of the hotel, which also adds to the relative safety of the hotel.

The hotel all in all is a very good place if you would like to relax and vegetate. But if you're the kind who is restless and can't stay at the same place for long periods of time, this may not be the place for you, or you can arrange for tours to the reefs or town with the hotel, but prices may be a bit stiff because its all in Euros.

Room Tip: If you want one of the best rooms in the hotel, request for room SV7. That was the room we were in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikas101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
il P, Guest Relations Manager at Samaki Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Wow!!
Thanks for your effort and taking time to write down this beautiful and detailed comment about your stay with us. It was really nice to meet you Micah!

The truth is that we really enjoyed your presence, thank you for your declaration of the Seaweed to other reviewers. We hope to have you again.

You'll have always a special room waiting for you in case you decide to come back in this lost Paradise,

Best regards,
Giuseppe and all Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

I liked Samaki Lodge. Beautiful place, friendly staff.
The food is alright but not exceptional - especially at the price they charge.
Rooms could be cleaner. We had cockroaches living in a wall.
Communication from the staff could be improved.
These doesn't take away that we had a great and relaxing stay, but 5 stars would definitely be too much.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Replicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
il P, Proprietario at Samaki Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Google Translation
ASANTE SANA,la tua recensione , e' positiva .
Unico problema sono stati piccoli animali sulla parete, questo e' normale in Africa quando il Resort e ' costruito nel verde come il samakilodge.
Noi facciamo tutti i giorni buona pulizia delle camere e delle parti Comuni, può capitare che qualche piccolo animale viene dai giardini dopo che e'stata fatta la pulizia . In questo caso basta avvisare lo staff , interveniamo immediatamente.!!
Grazie per la tua osservazione , abbiamo gia avvisato la capo cameriere di prestare maggiore attenzione nelle camere vicine ai giardini.
Speriamo di averti presto nuovamente nostro ospite , CARI saluti. Pablo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

This is the second time we visit this place. Me and my wife we loved this place.
We stayed at this wonderful hotel for ten nights, yes ten straight night of our honeymoon.
Our honeymoon could not get better than that.The first thing you will notice when you get there is the personal attention you get in everything you want. The let us change our room because we did not like the first one. They are very friendly and they listen to you.
This is the most romantic hotel ever. we loved everything about it, the food was great, super quiet,spectacular views, nice musics, beautiful flowers, awesome swimming pool.
We plan to go there again when we get our first child, as a family.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2011moo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Samaki is the coziest hotel on the island......our 10 day stay (16-26 march 2013) was the best we could wish for......friendly service, friendly locals and guides with whom we took a few excursions around the island and hotel's owner personal attention..... the best beach and warmest ocean we've ever experienced......many thanks to everybody......Robert(US) and family(Czech).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 473robertv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
il P, Direttore at Samaki Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Robert,

Thank you a lot for your nicely comment about us.
As you have notice that we are very friendly , very attention on our service considering with all needs, we mostly provide Italian’s zanzibarian food , and we also provide other kind of dishes according to the choice of Clients. For all clients who book direct with us by sending an email or calling ,a part special discount we now offering 2 half day trips (SPICE & STONE TOWN) for those who staying from 7 nights and more.
We are very happy to see everyone enjoying their stay at Samaki Lodge & Spa , will be glad to see you again at Samaki Lodge & Spa .Our staff and management wishing you and your family all the best in your duties.
Many thanks,

Pablo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indonesia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

It was a nice experience to stay in Samaki Lodge, nice owner ... nice staff too with a nice and beautiful beach just in front of the hotel, white sand just like a powder. Just a bit problem with the water in the room, and a bit expensive too for the internet :(, maybe would be good if everything inclusive tho... we are staying there almost 10 days january 2013, love the african food !!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LaPetitIndonesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
il P, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Samaki Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear guests,
we thank you for the nice feed back regarding our hotel and all the staff!
Our Italian food is really tasty,and even our Zanzibarian dishes are delicious like you said!
If you will come back, pls let us know that we reserve for you a very special offer including a fantastic Safari in the main land!!
Thanks again for all and hope to see you soon!!
C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arusha, Tanzania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Samaki lodge and spa its located in Uroa Village,very close to main road.Its a quite place with enough security,if you like swimming here is the place to go.Different menu in daily buffer its more than enjoyment,Staff are very cooperative and friends.Amazing a lot flowers surrounded this lodge to make it be more beautifully,white sand beach can not even explain,Though i was there from 23 to 30 Jan 2013 but have to go again.Friends Visit this place and get unforgettable experience..Wishing you best luck and make the wise choice of visiting this place...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ciara3Mamuya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
il P, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Samaki Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
We are really happy to receive a feed back from Arusha!!
Thanks for the nice description of our hotel, where people can really relax and enjoy the place, eating our tasty Italian food!!
Please, you are close to us so come back!! mybe with some friends!!
Contact us for a special price..hope to see you soon!!
C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uroa
0.6 mi away
Uroa Bay Beach Resort
10.1 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,350 reviews
15.5 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#2 of 171 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Palumboreef Beach Resort
12.1 mi away
Next Paradise Boutique Resort
Next Paradise Boutique Resort
#1 of 6 in Pwani Mchangani
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
6.8 mi away
Paradise Beach Hotel Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samaki Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samaki Lodge & Spa

Property: Samaki Lodge & Spa
Address: Main Road, Uroa 458-928, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Uroa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Uroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Samaki Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samaki Lodge is a "boutique hotel" located on the beautiful Uroa beach, 30 km from the international airport.Samaki Lodge comprises 19 rooms, elegantly and originally furnished while retaining the style of old Zanzibar.A private beach, equipped with beds, tables and umbrellas is ideal for sunbathing and relaxing under the hot African sun.During their stay guests can make long walks on the beach, meet and socialize with the friendly local people, discovering the uses and customs. The area of sea that lies between the reef and the beach allows you to swim in a safe and wonderful language of coral sand that goes for dozens of meters into the turquoise waters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Samaki Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samaki Lodge & Spa Zanzibar Island, Tanzania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing