We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”
Review of Samaki Lodge & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Samaki Lodge & Spa
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Uroa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed for a full week at Samaki Lodge end of July. The hotel has a very pleasant atmosphere, and is located at a beautiful beach. At low tide, the huge beach is very interesting. Locals from the Uroa village harvest their seaweed, and lots of shells, crabs etc. can be found. The staff of Samaki is very friendly and service-oriented. The food is absolutely perfect, and varies from day to day. The chef made a very nice 10th birthday cake for our daughter, which was presented by the full restaurant staff during dinner. Rooms were spacious and clean, and decorated every single day with romantic oleander flowers by the housekeeping staff. The vast majority of the hotel guests is Italian. Samaki is connected to the resort nextdoor (Palumbo Reef, same owner, also Italian guests) which has some more activities (e.g. beach volleybal, table tennis), so our kids prefered to swim and play overthere. The hotel is guarded by Maasai people.
The only drawback is that the Uroa Village has no infrastructure whatsoever for tourists, but there is a small restaurant next to Samaki (called Kaure Sand lodge) where you can have lunch or dinner if you wish to eat outside the hotel. The owner Petra is a German/Swiss lady and very hospitable.
In short, we really enjoyed Samaki Lodge and we can recommend it to everyone seeking a relaxing and comfortable holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mirjam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samakilodge, Proprietario at Samaki Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Dear Miriam,
Is amazing to see your review here in trip advisor, we are very grateful, for you to writing us a good comments for our lodge, hopping that, you will also convince another people, your friends to come and visit us in our hotel, we still remember you every time when you come and ask towels for beach, all staff are very happy for your comments, here at our lodge. Now you are officially a member of our family, let me tell the truth: when the guest are very gentile and kind like you, almost of 50% of our job is done.
Thanks once again very much & hope you will coming back again very soon.

Pablo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (496)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 496 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2012

Having just climbed Kilimanjaro, I was ready for some relaxation time. We arrived at the airport in Zanzibar and only had a 35 minute journey to Samaki Lodge which was pleasant and quick. When we arrived the staff couldn't have been anymore welcoming! We had drinks on arrival and we were placed in absolutely stunning rooms with amazing beach views. They treated us like royalty and looked after us completely. They set such a high standard from the minute they greeted us and this standard did not slip for the entire week. The place was absolutely stunning... the flowers around the resort are so well kept and create such a lovely atmosphere. The rooms were huge and clean with a lovely big balcony area. The pool was exceptional - a fantastic size and depth with lots of sun loungers to relax on. The beach was right on the resort - this as well is amazing, especially when the tide is right out and you can walk for ages in ankle high water... it truely is magical. I can't fault anything about this resort - the only thing I'd say is I wish I'd been there longer! The staff make the resort what it is. They are friendly, chatty, involving and are genuinely interested in chatting to you. During meal times a variety of dishes are offered. I was worried that I would have limited choice being a vegetarian but there was plenty on offer - infact I've had some of my favourite vege meals at Samaki! There was entertainment on every night which ranged from singers to dancers to acrobatics to fire performers... everyone got in the spirit and evenings were perfect. I would definitely stay here again, preferably with my partner because it was so relaxing! A perfect end to a holiday... thank you all at Samaki for a wonderful stay..... you are PERFECT! X

Room Tip: There are some amazing views of the beach if you choose the rooms closer to the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clothears32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samakilodge, Proprietario at Samaki Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Dear Sophie
Your review is GORGEUS!
You described us very very nicely . And as I can see from your review your stay, here, was very relaxing & pleasant.
I still remember you and your friends singing “sexy bomb” with us on the swimming pool area. It was very funny!!!
As you wrote, in this amazing review, we provide food also for vegetarians.
Thanking you and reminding that you can book a stay straight with us, for games in Selous, Ngorongoro, Mikumi and a relaxing rest, hope to see you soon here at your Home.

Pablo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

I was privileged to stay with my family at Samaki Lodge & Spa in July 2012.

The journey from the Stone Town port was easy and we enjoyed the views of Zanzibar along the way. We were welcomed by the wonderful staff with a glass of delicious passion juice. The location was beautiful right on the beach and very peaceful and relaxing.

We enjoyed the lovely pool and hammocks in the afternoon and went on a Spice Tour during the day. In the evening the chef prepared a delicious meal for us to enjoy. On our second night, they had a party at the Lodge with a traditional singer, amazing buffet of food and many guests from the village.

The Maasai guarding the lodge made us feel safe and secure. Every member of the staff exceeded our expectations!!! We will definitely stay here again in the future and highly recommend it to anyone looking for a great place to stay on the beach!

Room Tip: The rooms on the beach are quiet and a little more secluded with lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susanmarie08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
il P, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Samaki Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear Susan your feed back is excellent!!
Samaki Lodge is the perfect location for holidays.
We are glad that you enjoyed and we hope to see you again!
Come with friends or family again and we are pleased to propose you a very good offer.
Our small paradise is waiting you!!!
Greetings from all.
C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Services offered are of excellent quality cuisine caters to all tastes even the demanding hospitality of this hotel is very good all employees are very nice, very clean rooms are very pleased with the services I and my fiancé.This holiday was one in which all services provided by your staff left me impressed

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FeraruAurelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
il P, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Samaki Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Dear Aurelia,
exactly like you say at Samaki Lodge we have a very nice staff, taking care of all the guests.
Even our Italian food is really appreciate, and in the menu sometimes we offer the possibility to taste local food!
We organize even special dinners, in a very romantic atmosphere close to the beach proposing all kinds of fishes the island can offer!
We are really satisfied cose all our guests they relax enjoying totally the place.
Thanks for your feed back and we hope to see you again in Zanzibar!
Greetings from all of us!!
C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

I stayed at this property, along with my family, for two weeks
in April, the hotel is beautiful and in a fabulous location
great for couples and families,
and it surpassed even our expectations.
There is a very nice pool,and the beach is great,with white sand;
the food is good ,and also very filling, the service is great
and very helpful,the rooms are clean and comfortable.
Everything was absolutely amazing,excellent stay,
can’t wait to go back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EmilioMariano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
il P, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Samaki Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear Emilio,
even your feed back is perfect!
We thank you for everything you said and we will be glad to see you again here with us.
Please contact the office that will propose a special price for you and for your family.
We will be happy to see you at Samaki in the next future, you are always welcome!!!
Greetings from all the staff of the hotel!!!
C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Considering the full package, this is the best deal that i have ever had in years of travelling from excellent service to Michelin star food, plus the bonus of an incredible beach and view with courtesy and security!
I really loved the Masai people that are used for the security operation and they also give sense of tradition and culture

Great place to stay, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Memo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

I stayed at this property in March 2012 for 2 weeks ! Very different from your "regular" resorts -
spectacular service provided by very friendly staff members, very nice and spacious rooms, good location to visit the rest of the island and best of all amazing food !
The owner and his son make this place very unique and make you feel at home - i have traveled quite extensively around the world and stayed at many places and i can easily highly recommend this hotel -

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ZANDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uroa
1.9 mi away
Azao Resort & Spa
Azao Resort & Spa
#5 of 6 in Pongwe
108 reviews
0.6 mi away
Uroa Bay Beach Resort
26.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,636 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palumboreef Beach Resort
3.0 mi away
Paradise Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samaki Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samaki Lodge & Spa

Address: Main Road, Uroa 458-928, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Uroa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Uroa
Price Range: $78 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Samaki Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samaki Lodge is a "boutique hotel" located on the beautiful Uroa beach, 30 km from the international airport.Samaki Lodge comprises 19 rooms, elegantly and originally furnished while retaining the style of old Zanzibar.A private beach, equipped with beds, tables and umbrellas is ideal for sunbathing and relaxing under the hot African sun.During their stay guests can make long walks on the beach, meet and socialize with the friendly local people, discovering the uses and customs. The area of sea that lies between the reef and the beach allows you to swim in a safe and wonderful language of coral sand that goes for dozens of meters into the turquoise waters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Samaki Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samaki Lodge & Spa Zanzibar Island, Tanzania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing