We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Zece zile de vis...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Samaki Lodge & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Samaki Lodge & Spa
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Uroa
Certificate of Excellence
Bacau, Romania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Zece zile de vis...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

Baieti... daca dorit o adevarata septemana de vis... cu plaja alba si deosebita, mancare de nota 11 si, sa nu lipseste nimic ... o baie cu dolphin in mediul lor... trebuia absolut sa venit pina aici.

Proprietar italian (si bucataria la fel) si staff de localnici are o grija constante despre voi, bere este buna si rece mereu, si mancare la buffet nu desamageste niciodata.

Fabio Cristina Rebby

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orsoebasta d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    73
    16
    5
    7
See reviews for
96
234
35
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

We spent a week at the Samaki after volunteering in Tanzania for 3 weeks in March, and during a 6 month trip around the world. It was the most beautiful week of our trip! The owner is Italian and the food was superb, with fresh local fish each day pastas, salads, and beautiful desserts. Very clean and comfy rooms, lovely pool and white fine sand beach. Domenico is a true gentleman and so generous and thoughtful ... He treated us like family! All of the staff went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable. One of them made us a CD of African music when we mentioned that we liked the music that was playing! As our 6 month sojourn was spent volunteering we had to conserve funds, and Samaki was amazingly affordable. Thanks so much to "Il presidente" Domenico and staff from your friends Dr. Patrick and Debra on the US!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mndeb33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samakilodge, Proprietario at Samaki Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, January 8, 2012
Dear Patrick,
in these months I have often thought about you and Debra and looked forward to hearing from you.
Remember when you suggested me to write a cookbook with my recipes? Well, following your counsel I started to write it. Lately I've been experimenting with green papaya as a vegetable with pasta, fish, soups ... you must come and try it!
The construction of the day hospital is going very well, we should finish this year.
I really hope you will come back and visit us soon and I promise you special treatment.
Contact me through e-mail address of the hotel.
Thanks for your nice words.
A hug.
Domenico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

This is an OK hotel in an OK location.

I was travelling alone and didn't want to be in a big hotel complex, but in honesty staying here was a mistake. There is nothing around the hotel to walk to or go to, the beach is really not great and a little dirty. The tide goes out for miles, making it difficult to swim in the sea here.

I booked half board on the hope that there would be local places around where I could have lunch, but there wasn't so it was either pay $15 for buffet lunch (which was a lot I felt) or wait till the evening. You couldn't purchase a snack and there was no where local to go

A lot of reviews say the food was great, I would sooner say it was OK. The hotel wasn't that busy whilst I was there (as it was right at the start of the season) and maybe this influenced the food, but I felt it was very similar every night and certainly if you had lunch as well it was the same as dinner making it very repetative. Drinks (given the captive audience) were reasonably priced and a nice touch was that you could get mineral water free at any time from the restaurant.

I had a room in the grounds of the lodge, near reception, which was clean, quite large and very comfortable - so absolutely no complaints there. The pool and loungers were good and they regularly cleaned the pool through the day too. Hotel felt very safe

This is definitely a resort favoured by Italians - the hotel is owned by Italians, all the staff speak Italian and I was one of the only non-italians there. The guy that organised the tours (who goes by the name of Gian Luca Zambrotta) is very amusing and definitely slightly mad!

Overall, reasonable value for money and a reasonable hotel

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoanneDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poway, ca
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

We rely heavily on trip advisor, but in this instance it was wrong. We had originally been booked into Uroa Bay Beach Resort by our travel company, but after reading trip advisor reviews, we switched to Samaki Lodge. That was a mistake.

ROOM: We checked into Samaki Lodge for 1 night. We were offered 2 rooms -- a standard room on the 2nd floor overlooking the pool and a beachfront room at Palumbo Beach for a 20% surcharge. The beachfront room is barely large enough for the bed. It has an outside area that is enclosed by a metal fence and gate, that makes it feel like you are in a jail cell. And, it is very far removed from the rest of the property so it doesn't feel safe. We opted for the standard room in the lodge, overlooking the pool. It had a king-size, very firm (bordering on hard) bed, air conditioning, and salt water shower/sink. It did NOT have an in-room safe, which I consider to be mandatory for this type of resort and location. And, it had a very weird and persistent odor.

FOOD: As many of Uroa Bay's resorts are owned by Italians, so is Samaki Lodge. Therefore, the food is Italian-oriented. The quality of the food was okay, but nothing to write home about. The hours for each meal are very limited and all meals are buffet style. We had 1 dinner there and the "custom" pasta dish, prepared to order by a pasta cook, was a tuna ravioli. Not much customization. The breakfast was very basic and they didn't even have an omelette station, which is pretty unusual for a breakfast buffet.

LOCATION: The location is excellent for a beach resort. It is on Palumbo Beach, which is beautiful with a sand spit sticking out into the Indian Ocean for several hundred yards. Once you get past the constant hassling of the local touts trying to get you to buy tours and/or trinkets, you can enjoy the scenery and water. You can see the fishing dhows of the neighboring village as they go to and from the sea. A beautiful location and this is the strongest point of Samaki Lodge.

We walked down the beach from Samaki Lodge to visit Uroa Bay Beach Resort for lunch. Once we got there, we didn't leave and checked out of Samaki Lodge and into Uroa Bay. Please check our review of Uroa Bay for more information.

In our opinion, Uroa Bay Beach Resort deserves to be rated above Samaki Lodge. There really is no comparison between these 2 resorts. Uroa Bay is clearly superior on practically every level, except the beachfront of Samaki, which is a short walk from Uroa Bay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netanya, Israel
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

We spent 4 nights at Samaki Lodge during this August (2011). The stuff is great, food is very good and the swimming pool and beach are great. Do not take the rooms near the beach. They are too far from the lodge. We were in the lodge and we had some problems with the rooms: in one room there is a sticky floor (no solution to this problem). Also we had problems with electricity and the aircondition. In sum, we think it is a good place to stay and very good value for the money. Do not take transportaion and trips from the lodge. You can pay 50% less at least by hiring a local taxi driver

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gidrub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

Owned and run by Italians, this inexpensive hotel has a great beach, nice pool area, reliable security and staff, and unusually good, Italian-influenced food. There’s nothing fancy here but if you’re just craving a relaxing place to crash on the beach this is a great bet.

Food: The rates include an ordinary breakfast buffet. Lunch and dinner are 10 euros/person and include bread, a salad course, pasta course, seafood main dish, and fruit for desert. We found the food was so filling that a late lunch and some snacks in the evening was enough.

Service: The service is a bit odd. The staff are very friendly and helpful but a bit more talkative than we'd like. We probably would have given Samaki a 4 star rating but the staff was so helpful when we had a mishap our last day that we're going to rate them a five.

Location: The hotel is right on a long white sand beach. Locals fish from their dhows just offshore. Beautiful

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tangointahiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

Nice folks running the place. The rooms are pretty sparse by our standards and dinner was kinda a first come first serve thing, so if you were late, you may not get much of the main course. The place really caters to the Italian vacationer and the beach kids selling tourist trash all know basic Italian and the staff is fluent. Cash only.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank douglasm90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uroa
0.6 mi away
Uroa Bay Beach Resort
10.1 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
15.5 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#2 of 171 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Palumboreef Beach Resort
12.1 mi away
Next Paradise Boutique Resort
Next Paradise Boutique Resort
#1 of 6 in Pwani Mchangani
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
6.8 mi away
Paradise Beach Hotel Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samaki Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samaki Lodge & Spa

Property: Samaki Lodge & Spa
Address: Main Road, Uroa 458-928, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Uroa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Uroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Samaki Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samaki Lodge is a "boutique hotel" located on the beautiful Uroa beach, 30 km from the international airport.Samaki Lodge comprises 19 rooms, elegantly and originally furnished while retaining the style of old Zanzibar.A private beach, equipped with beds, tables and umbrellas is ideal for sunbathing and relaxing under the hot African sun.During their stay guests can make long walks on the beach, meet and socialize with the friendly local people, discovering the uses and customs. The area of sea that lies between the reef and the beach allows you to swim in a safe and wonderful language of coral sand that goes for dozens of meters into the turquoise waters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Samaki Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samaki Lodge & Spa Zanzibar Island, Tanzania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing