We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice motel in a charming town”
Review of Totem Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Totem Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lytton
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We had a very pleasant stay at the totem motel. Nice and clean accomodations, located on the river. The owners were very friendly and welcoming. We rented the two bedroom unit and it was very comfortable. The town of Lytton is very charming.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Budgirl35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
There are newer reviews for Totem Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

36 - 42 of 52 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2012

A quaint little property with individual cabins, very clean, a comfy bed and good, sized room. Perfect for a stop over, but not our type of place for a vacation, but I could see it being perfect for others!

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank DiscoverAndEnjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Very CUTE cottages next to the Thompson River. Owner was very helpful and welcoming. This is a charming refuge. We had two cottages, both clean & complete with all the necessities plus more charm then one could hope for in a warm and friendly town. Surprised by the great sezchewan & tappan dishes served up at the local hotel on main street. No question I will make an effort to come back to visit.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marshall-689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Stayed in Lytton 1 night for work. Not many choices for accommodations, so decided on this one. Wow! It was s step back a few decades in time. I am not a fan of motor courts, or motels or however you would describe this one. It looked like a place you would see on a movie as travelers visit the countryside of small rundown towns.

The inside was clean, but very outdated. Windows and windowsills were dirty. I think the curtains are original from the 1950's! Bathroom is very tiny with strange feeling brown towels. It was just not very comfortable. There was a boil water notice, so don't even use the water for brushing teeth!

If you want Internet, you have to pay 5 dollars for a code that you have to scratch off and use. You can only use the code for 1 device at a time ( laptop, iPad, iPhone etc). Old fashioned! Not very business user friendly, though Lytton is not a town with a lot of business people I don't think.

You can hear trains on the nearby tracks.

I was just looking forward to the night going by quickly so I could move on and get out of the hotel. It was a very strange feeling!

Room Tip: I think all rooms are the same!
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank christinern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

very nicely maintained small motor court motel with charming character. we had a room only - no kitchenette. although basic, it was bright, well equiped with A/C. this is definitely a great stopover. get a kitchenette and with lawnchairs out back and the good-sized public pool next door, it feels like a hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whirlledpeas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2010

The rooms are in a series of wooden huts reminiscent of a 1950's holiday camp. This we knew when booking; what took us slightly by surprise was that the interiors matched! The place was clean and apparently well maintained, but very well worn and basic. An external door that wouldn't lock, and a sign warning not to drink the water didn't enamour us either.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLJDOGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2010

Lytton was chosen as a stop over on the basis that it was a reasonable driving distance from Vancouver, and the choice of accommodation was limited. The Totem was perfectly adequate, but basic. The owner was helpful without being effusive. He recommended the Jade Springs to eat and it wasn't a disappointment. Most whimsical experience in months. The food wasn't great but the ambience was astonishing - and why did they choose to cut the grass outside in pitch black at 8 p.m?

The Totem is truly WYSIWYG and indistinguishable from the rest of Lytton. Plain and honest. I was a bit concerned that trains may have disturbed us in the night as it is placed between the heavily-trafficked CNR and CPR lines, but we had no problems. It's across the road from the local railway museum, the Lytton Jellyroll and next to the Information Centre and swimming pool; so it is convenient to much Lytton can offer. And the rest can be walked to in three minutes. It's not 5-star, but neither are its prices.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pogee06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lytton
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Lytton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lytton
3 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rest Inn Lytton
Rest Inn Lytton
#2 of 2 in Lytton
4 reviews
2.8 mi away
Kumsheen Rafting Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
The Inn at Spences Bridge
The Inn at Spences Bridge
#1 of 2 in Spences Bridge
47 reviews
17.0 mi away
Baits Motel
Baits Motel
#2 of 2 in Spences Bridge
6 reviews
22.8 mi away
Canyon Alpine Motel
Canyon Alpine Motel
#1 of 1 in North Bend
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Totem Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Totem Motel

Address: 320 Fraser Street, P.O. Box 580,, Lytton, British Columbia V0K 1Z0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Lytton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lytton
Price Range: $67 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Totem Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 328
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Totem Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing