We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not sure what to say about this place besides outdated!”
Review of Totem Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Totem Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lytton
Canada
Level Contributor
222 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Not sure what to say about this place besides outdated!”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Stayed in Lytton 1 night for work. Not many choices for accommodations, so decided on this one. Wow! It was s step back a few decades in time. I am not a fan of motor courts, or motels or however you would describe this one. It looked like a place you would see on a movie as travelers visit the countryside of small rundown towns.

The inside was clean, but very outdated. Windows and windowsills were dirty. I think the curtains are original from the 1950's! Bathroom is very tiny with strange feeling brown towels. It was just not very comfortable. There was a boil water notice, so don't even use the water for brushing teeth!

If you want Internet, you have to pay 5 dollars for a code that you have to scratch off and use. You can only use the code for 1 device at a time ( laptop, iPad, iPhone etc). Old fashioned! Not very business user friendly, though Lytton is not a town with a lot of business people I don't think.

You can hear trains on the nearby tracks.

I was just looking forward to the night going by quickly so I could move on and get out of the hotel. It was a very strange feeling!

Room Tip: I think all rooms are the same!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christinern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    13
    17
    4
    4
See reviews for
11
19
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2011

very nicely maintained small motor court motel with charming character. we had a room only - no kitchenette. although basic, it was bright, well equiped with A/C. this is definitely a great stopover. get a kitchenette and with lawnchairs out back and the good-sized public pool next door, it feels like a hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whirlledpeas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2010

The rooms are in a series of wooden huts reminiscent of a 1950's holiday camp. This we knew when booking; what took us slightly by surprise was that the interiors matched! The place was clean and apparently well maintained, but very well worn and basic. An external door that wouldn't lock, and a sign warning not to drink the water didn't enamour us either.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLJDOGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lytton hotels

Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2010

Lytton was chosen as a stop over on the basis that it was a reasonable driving distance from Vancouver, and the choice of accommodation was limited. The Totem was perfectly adequate, but basic. The owner was helpful without being effusive. He recommended the Jade Springs to eat and it wasn't a disappointment. Most whimsical experience in months. The food wasn't great but the ambience was astonishing - and why did they choose to cut the grass outside in pitch black at 8 p.m?

The Totem is truly WYSIWYG and indistinguishable from the rest of Lytton. Plain and honest. I was a bit concerned that trains may have disturbed us in the night as it is placed between the heavily-trafficked CNR and CPR lines, but we had no problems. It's across the road from the local railway museum, the Lytton Jellyroll and next to the Information Centre and swimming pool; so it is convenient to much Lytton can offer. And the rest can be walked to in three minutes. It's not 5-star, but neither are its prices.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pogee06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
128 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2009

Stayed for one night while passing through on motorcycle trip. Best thing about the Totem is the friendly owner and the homey atmosphere. Very basic rooms, but everthing one could need. Great view of the river (I am sure there is gold in that river!) and right in the middle of town.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Twice_the_Money
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Mainland BC
1 review
Reviewed June 17, 2009

I found the customer service very warm and friendly. The atmosphere very cozy. I would stay there again. Thanks so much for your hospitality. FYI - It's your basic needs to stay but it is very pleasant. The Jade Resaurant was very good. The chinese food was like how they used to make it before it got all fancy. I definitely enjoyed the Chinese food at Jade. I recommend that restaurant should you stay in Lytton. I love Lytton.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeenElder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kimberley
1 review
Reviewed June 3, 2009

I was passing through Lytton on my way down to Vancouver and was looking for a place for the night and ended up staying for three.
The Totem Motel is a cute little place in a tiny town, which at first glance has not much too offer but after speaking with the owners, I want to come back to see some more. The rooms are clean and reasonably priced but what I enjoyed the most was sitting in the back at night, and looking at the river and the trains. The owners are nice people who will go out of their way to make your stay pleasant, which is a rare thing these days.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kat087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lytton
0.1 mi away
Rest Inn Lytton
Rest Inn Lytton
#2 of 2 in Lytton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
16.3 mi away
The Inn at Spences Bridge
The Inn at Spences Bridge
#1 of 2 in Spences Bridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
2.9 mi away
Kumsheen Rafting Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Lytton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lytton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
17.0 mi away
Baits Motel
Baits Motel
#2 of 2 in Spences Bridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
16.9 mi away
REO Rafting Resort
REO Rafting Resort
#1 of 1 in North Bend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Totem Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Totem Motel

Property: Totem Motel
Address: 320 Fraser Street, P.O. Box 580,, Lytton, British Columbia V0K 1Z0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Lytton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lytton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Totem Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 328
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Totem Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing