We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unusual Decor”
Review of Hotel Bernina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Bernina
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Tirano
Reviewed August 1, 2013

The Le Suites are not attached to the hotel, they are a few 100 metres from the Hotel, so you must check in at the Bernina Hotel near the railway station. The rooms were decorated in themes, our room was "Kenya" complete with a huge carved elephants head on the wall, scary African masks, artwork and a 4 posted bed with african fabrics. My fathers room was "Thai" complete with a 5' plastic replica of wood carved Thai woman laying on the bench in the bathroom...apart from the decor the rooms were clean and comfortable with good security. The only downside was that their is no airconditiong and it was 32 deg and very warm at night in the rooms. We had no interaction with anyone from the hotel, even at breakfast it was pretty much self service everything.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (655)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 655 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2013

This was an overnight stop to catch the Bernina Express in the morning, was expecting little from the hotel and town, but was surprised by both. Allow yourself sometime to explore the town, cross over the stream to have a look at the older part of town, it's great. We requested a quite room so got one at the back of the hotel with no view, in hindsight this is not necessary and the front rooms facing the square would be better as the town seems pretty quite at night. The dinner and breakfast were both excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

The Bernina suites hotel was a very pleaasant surprise. Right by the train station in Tirano, a little town that I must go back to. The rooms were great, probably the best we had on this trip through six countries. Great bed, great shower, spotless and quiet. Breakfast was more than a good spread.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back may be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank airbus0320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Hotel Bernina is within 100 steps of the Italian and Swiss railroad stations in Tirano making it extremely convenient for those travelling by train.

The rooms are average size and very nice. Ours faced the train stations and the little town square but there was absolutely no noise. In addition, we had great mountain views. We slept well.

We ate in the hotel restaurant and it was a real treat. We chose a five course meal from the fixed price menu and were not disappointed. We also chose a glass of the local wine to go with the dinner that was very good. The food and service were top notch and the price was very reasonable.

The breakfast was also very good with a great variety.

We will definitley stay here again as the hospitality and service could not have been better. The staff at the hotel and the restraunt made you feel welcome.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FCB-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

The hotel was booked as part of a package from Switzerland to travel the fabulous Bernina Express. Our room was not in the main hotel near the station but in an office block a few minutes away. This had no personnel on site from the hotel. Bare, echoing stairs to the room which was actually a suite with a kitchen which had lots of cupboards but absolutely no utensils - not even teaspoons. A nice selection of teas was provided but the kettle plug would not fit into any sockets and we had to heat water in the microwave. A few bottles of drinks were in the refrigerator but no idea if these were free or chargeable. There were no fire escape instructions which are particularly important if you are stuck out on your own in an otherwise empty building!

Comfortable bed but quite a bit of noise from the street - loud singing in the early hours woke me.

A couple of times the toilet would only stop flushing after many repeated attempts.

The girl from reception in the hotel took us to the room but left immediately without giving any advice or instructions. We had to work out how to connect and set up the Sky box ourselves.

Breakfast was a buffet (at the hotel, of course, so have to put on outdoor clothing in winter). A good selection of fresh pastries, yoghourts - but only banana when I went to choose one. Coffee machine made very weak cappucino. Cheap plastic beakers for orange juice.

We did have a great lunch here - separate review.

Room Tip: The room in the separate building is too remote from the hotel with no services.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank herebedragons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

This hotel was literally right next the station. The hotel was very pleasant and clean and the rooms were well presented, hard to fault this place really. If you use the restaurant (see separate review) we aware of the 2 Euro per person cover charge.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mark_bates09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Stayed here with my mother while travelling the fantastic Bernina Express. The hotel is in a superb location, across a square from the railway station but far enough that you aren't disturbed by trains. Breakfast buffet was standard fare, lots of fresh fruit, juices, cereals, joghurt and bread. The bread, unfortunately was pre-sliced and was therefore quite dry but there was plenty of it, as well as cake if you like your sugar kick! Coffee and tea from machines but better than nothing. The restaurant seemed really full and popular at lunch and dinner but we can't judge as we ate out.

Major let down was the freezing cold stairway and hallway to the rooms and then the incredible noise at all hours as people went up and down stone/concrete stairs. Try to avoid rooms 101/102 and the same numbers on upper floors! These back onto the stairs and you can hear every footstep and word spoken - we were lucky to have 3 hours sleep...

Bathroom was large and clean and the towels were fresh. The bedroom was comfortable and also clean if a bit stuffy; we turned the heating off in the bedroom!

Room Tip: Request (or demand) rooms away from the stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kateluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tirano
0.3 mi away
Hotel Centrale Tirano
0.1 mi away
Hotel Corona
Hotel Corona
#3 of 5 in Tirano
384 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo Meuble Stelvio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hotel Combolo
Hotel Combolo
#1 of 3 in Teglio
247 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rooms & Breakfast Tirano
0.3 mi away
B&B il Riccio
B&B il Riccio
#2 of 22 in Tirano
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bernina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bernina

Address: Via Roma 24/28, 23037, Tirano, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Sondrio > Tirano
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Tirano
Price Range: $71 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bernina 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Bernina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Ristorante Bernina Tirano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing