We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paid full price, but got a window with a view of a wall”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Centrale Tirano
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Tirano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This was a very nice, very clean hotel with a lovely complimentary breakfast, but for this price, we should have gotten a room that was not looking directly into someone else's living space. We arrived late in the evening and no shuttle service from the rail station was available. The young lady at the desk was extremely accommodating and patient and we certainly appreciated her assistance. The next morning I was having some difficulty with the Wi-Fi service and when I inquired of another young lady at the front desk, I was met with an arrogant stare. Perhaps she had some prior experience with American tourists that made her treat us rudely while others were treated professionally, but it was not impressive and I will not return to this establishment

Room Tip: Check out some of the other reviews and request a specific room.....otherwise you may be looking at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCentraleTirano, Direttore at Hotel Centrale Tirano, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear Customer,
we are sorry you didn't appreciated the location of our hotel, in historical downtown, is very difficult to have view around a city, and the court you are refferring is also used as exibition in the local events, like the sforzato Wine Exibition we just had last week.
And as per the kindness of the receptionist, probably if you had wait just minuts for the check-out of the other guest she could had assist you.
Sorry for your trouble.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (276)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 276 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2013

A great little hotel in the old part of Tirano, which is surrounded by mountains. The room was perfect and the staff were lovely. We had room 34 which had wonderful mountain views. the breakfast was self service buffet with a good range of foods. They even had gluten free.

Room Tip: room 34 has the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonbake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCentraleTirano, Responsabile reception at Hotel Centrale Tirano, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

We'll always try to do our best, and we hope to welcome you again, with christmas snow.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We lucked out with this hotel that our Bavarian friends chose. It was located in the picturesque part of the old town and our room on the 3rd floor had great views over either mountains or rooftops. The room had all the desired attributes of a 4 star hotel and was quite comfortable. This would be a good choice in any town or city.

Room Tip: You will get better views on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry17149021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCentraleTirano, Direttore at Hotel Centrale Tirano, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thanks for your compliments, and we'll hope to see you again, may be in winter when the snow surrounding the valley looks magic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Our family thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hotel Centrale. We had two rooms and they were very clean and fresh with comfortable beds and beautiful bathrooms. We were greeted everyday by a lovely, friendly lady who prepared breakfast, which had lots of variety including lots of fresh fruit and bacon and eggs. The ladies on reception were friendly and helpful and spoke good English. The hotel is in the beautiful, old part of Tirano and you can reach all of Tirano on foot quite easily. I hope to visit this hotel again one day.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeGios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCentraleTirano, Direttore at Hotel Centrale Tirano, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear Sirs, we thanks you for your compliments and we'll welcome you another time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We recently stayed for two nights after travelling by rail from Milan.
We arrived at the hotel after a 10 minute walk from the railway station and we were greeted by a friendly receptionist who expediently processed our check-in.
The rooms were clean and modern and the hotel is conveniently located close to shops, banks restaurants etc.
The hotel staff were cheerful and friendly and assisted us with our sightseeing arrangements.
We completed a return day trip to St Moritz on the Swiss rail system. The Swiss and Italian railway stations are located about 20 meters apart.
We would definitely recommend this hotel where the friendly helpful staff made our stay very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobbieGeoffK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCentraleTirano, Direttore at Hotel Centrale Tirano, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

Sorry for the delay answering, Many thanks for your comments, we are proud of our job
Merry Christmas and Happy New Year
GG

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Good points: room and fittings all high standard. Bathroom was sparkling, looked like new fittings, excellent free wifi connection, well located in old quarter, reasonable sized room, moderately priced, quiet, very comfortable bed and pillow. Breakfast was fine, although we were startled to have a plate of (well made) scrambled eggs delivered about 1 minute after starting our cereal. Staff seem to be especially clueless.

Bad points: reception staff had poor English and communication was difficult. Staff not overly helpful. Strange loud puff of air every 30 seconds in room for first 20 minutes: turned out to be some central leaning system but it was quite a drama trying to resolve it with staff. No instructions on how to use phone (ie you had to try every button and number to call reception), could not transfer an incoming call to room, safe did not work, not that easy to find –no signposts anywhere, hard to park outside and offload luggage, parking in a small private garage 200 metres away worked OK but have to arrange to meet with garage owner, cannot easily pop back to car to get something, our room (15) was dull and lacking light only view was full frontal of emergency stairs.

Departure was a circus with the computer not working, the option of taking payment and sending the bill later not occurring until well after the traffic situation outside had deteriorated badly with our car half-blocking the road; a truck arrived and forced my wife to roar off without me with no ability to stop or pull over due to an articulator truck hunting her down ...Conclusion: hardest hotel I have ever encountered to access with a car.

Room Tip: Room 15 is gloomy and internal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hini66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCentraleTirano, Direttore at Hotel Centrale Tirano, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear Sir,
we are happy you appreciated our good and quick service of the breakfast, and as per your bed points you forget to mention that when you got the room (2 hrs in advance of the normal check-in) the housekeeping was still working, so the noise was necessary to grant confort also for the other guest; that the safe you find closed was opened by the receptionist, that the instruction how to use the phone are in a card near the phone, that contains also other information as the Wifi Code that you used); and at last dear Sir, if you choose an hotel placed in central of any old town (built aroun 18 century) as we are, you can't get the parking and is also write everywhere that we do not have a privat parking, but around the hotel at 50 meters we have only 2 square available with 80 places, ans as per the check-out as you stated, there were working progress near and that caused a black-out on our computer, what you suggest to send the bill later is under the Italian law since also if you buy a glass of water or a candy you HAVE to go out with a receipt.
Sorry for your trouble, we always try tio do our best, but we are aware that not all will be satisfy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed for one night after using the Berina Express up to St Moritz. The staff here very helpful and the rooms are big, comfortable with lovely decor and the bathrooms were exceptionally modern. Would definitely recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Kirsten H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCentraleTirano, Direttore at Hotel Centrale Tirano, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Thanks for your compliments, we are proud of our job and we'll do it with passion.
Our guest came in as guest and walk out as friends.
G. Gemin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tirano hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bernina
Hotel Bernina
#1 of 5 in Tirano
660 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Corona
Hotel Corona
#3 of 5 in Tirano
386 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albergo Meuble Stelvio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
B&B Hotel Tirano
B&B Hotel Tirano
#1 of 22 in Tirano
219 reviews
0.2 mi away
B&B Stephany Tirano
B&B Stephany Tirano
#3 of 22 in Tirano
78 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alexander Rooms
Alexander Rooms
#12 of 22 in Tirano
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Centrale Tirano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Centrale Tirano

Address: via Don Luigi Albonico, 23037, Tirano, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Sondrio > Tirano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Tirano
Price Range: $87 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Centrale Tirano 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant and charming Hotel is located in the center of Tirano in Valtellina valley, on the border with Switzerland.The building was in the past a typical grocery store. It has been totally refurbished to offer an elegant welcome and a careful hospitality to those who choose to discover the history of this area rich in traditions.Enjoy bright and comfortable rooms, appointed with attention to the smallest detail, with direct dial telephone, LCD TV, internet connection. Rooms/Facilities for disabled on the ground floor. Start every morning with the hotel’s rich and free breakfast.Questo raffinato e delizioso Hotel si trova nel centro storico di Tirano, nel fondovalle valtellinese, al confine con la Svizzera. La struttura, che in passato ospitava un’antica drogheria, è stata totalmente rinnovata per offrire un’elegante accoglienza e un’ospitalità attenta a coloro che decideranno di conoscere la storia di questo centro ricco di tradizioni. Le camere - curate in ogni piccolo dettaglio - sono spazi eleganti ed accoglienti. Dispongono di telefono diretto, televisore LCD, collegamento ad internet. Le camere poste al piano terra sono attrezzate per diversamente abili.Al mattino vi attende una ricca prima colazione a buffet dolce e salata. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Centrale Tirano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing