We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best in the West!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rocky Ridge Country Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
richmond, va
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Best in the West!”
Reviewed August 23, 2010

I was traveling with my spouse and sister to Waterton Park. I made reservations with Josh via the internet several months in advance of traveling. The location is only ten minutes away from the entrance to Waterton. The room price was very reasonable and it accomodated the three of us.

This is the very best B&B that I have ever experienced!! Josh is personable, efficient, a great chef and takes pride in making sure your needs are met while staying there. The house is charming and the decor is delightful. We were in the western room which had a country/cowboy motif. The beds were very comfortable and quiet. We had to share a bathroom with two other rooms but the other rooms in the house had there own bathrooms. It was never a problem with sharing and enjoyed meeting the others in the house. The house had an indoor sauna and hot tub overlooking the beautiful fields surrounding the house. There is a common living room with tv and adjoining room with a pool table. Josh doesn.t live here so there are only guests there in the evening. It was a great experience meeting others and hearing of there experiences hiking in Waterton. It is one of the special memories of our trip!

The breakfasts were prepared by Josh. He gave us a different and delious breakfast each morning. It was prepared to please the eye as well as the palate. Great way to start the day. We could enjoy our breakfast at our own leisure and Josh always checked to make sure all of our needs were taken care of.

HIGHLY RECOMMEND this bed and breakfast to anyone at any time. You can rent the whole house for special occasions and he also has a cottage on flower ladened and beautifully tended grounds around house. Lovely location, remote and beautiful. I would go back to Waterton just to stay here again!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbaker1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    16
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
37
46
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2010

We highly recommend this place. It would be great for family get-togethers or mini reunions any time of year. We stayed in the cute 3 bedroom cottage with bears & fishing decor--would be great for a family, but lots of room for 2 couples. Comfortable beds; so cozy. Right in the middle of prairies and mountains. Beautiful location. The food was fantastic! You pick your menu, watch while it's being prepared and chat with the chef! The wedding we were attending was hosted at the competing motel down the road. When it couldn't heat all the food for the wedding rehearsal, Josh, OUR manager, was SO generous to heat the food and even deliver it! He was gracious and friendly and we were SO glad we were staying there instead of that other place. It's family owned and run, so maybe that's why they make this place extra special. The Lodge's sign had blown down in the wind so we weren't sure we'd found the right place, so get specific directions...but pick this one! It's worth it! We'd definitely like to come back!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveHSaskatoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2010

The wife and I stayed here last year for 3 nights and again this summer for 3 nights. We loved the place. Josh was great and cooks a very good breakfast to get your day going. It is only a 15-20 minute drive to Waterton Park from here in Mountain View. The main thing I remember about the place is how quiet it is. All the guests both trips were very quiet and you felt like you had the place to yourself; but you do have an opportunity to talk to other guests if you so desire. I highly recommend this place and if/when we return to the area we will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ga84gw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2010

this was my wife and myself first trip to canada, rocky ridge was booked by my son and his wife and set the scene for a lovely holiday. we found the scenery beautiful and truly relaxing.
i took 600 photographs in a two week stay.
josh made us feel like part of the family, and let my family use the hot tub in the garden.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malcolmh44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2010

When my daughter and I arrived at this delightful B&B in Alberta we were greeted by the friendly and welcoming Josh, he gave us a full tour of the accommodation and gave us our breakfast menu, not only to choose what to have but what time as well. We had chosen to stay in the Heritage Room 2 single beds (1 in the wall) which was beautifully appointed. Josh made us feel so welcome and nothing was too much trouble for him. The next morning breakfast was wonderful and we were happy that we had another choice for the following day (we had been clever enough to book for two nights)!
The local gas station & local store has a great gifts. I will definately make sure I stay here again when I come back to Waterton National Park. This in my opinion is the best place to stay in Southern Alberta.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stebeckia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
1 review
Reviewed June 11, 2010

The facility was clean and beautiful. Josh was a wonderful host, cooked us a wonderful breakfast each day with great choices. We just were so genuinely welcomed. You can stay anywhere, but it's great when you have good conversation and just fun with your host. Hope to take my whole family there someday!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaniceBirmingham_AL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2010

We came for a wedding in Waterton. Josh ( new owner) was very attentive and friendly.We shared a cabin that was modern with all the conviencies of home but lots of country charm.The homemade breaksfasts were delicious and it was hard to choose as the selection was wonderful along with the usual staples and side dishes. Would definitely stay here again.The location is very picturesque and peaceful.R & A Carrie Saskatoon,Sk

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buzzamc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mountain View
15.4 mi away
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
#7 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
451 reviews
15.4 mi away
Waterton Glacier Suites
Waterton Glacier Suites
#4 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
342 reviews
15.8 mi away
Northland Lodge
Northland Lodge
#5 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Aspen Village
Aspen Village
#8 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
207 reviews
15.0 mi away
Prince of Wales Hotel
Prince of Wales Hotel
#1 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
822 reviews
15.4 mi away
Crandell Mountain Lodge
Crandell Mountain Lodge
#6 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky Ridge Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Ridge Country Lodge

Property: Rocky Ridge Country Lodge
Address: 523 2nd Street North | Box 103, Mountain View, Alberta T0K 1N0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Mountain View
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mountain View
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rustic country Bed and Breakfast, located just 20 minutes East of Waterton Lakes National Park. Perfect for families, couples getaways, family reunions and business retreats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Rocky Ridge Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky Ridge Country Lodge Mountain View, Canada - Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing