We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rocky Ridge Country Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

My granddaughter and I stayed 2 nights recently. We chose a loft unit because it gave each of us some privacy. The breakfasts choices were wonderful - we had trouble deciding what to order (the breakfast burrito and french toast were so delicious). Josh prepares and serves breakfast on his own, everything was served hot and on time, and coffee was always available. He still took time to give us some suggestions for hiking.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Doreen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    16
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
37
46
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Stayed in a 3 room cottage at the Rocky Ridge Country Lodge. The cottage is very roomy, clean and beautiful. It is close to Waterton and very reasonably priced. The cottage is nicely decorated in fishing and bear themes, We have full use of a barbecue. It was a quiet and wonderful cottage.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 777happy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed one night. It has a warm earthy and woody tone inside providing a very relaxing and tranquil environment. Unlike typical B&Bs, Rocky Ridge is unique in that the owners do not actually live in the cottage thus extending additional privacy to the guests. Just search for "larkycanuck rocky ridge" on Google to find detailed information on it.

Room Tip: Pick the rooms not facing the wind side as it get very windy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed here during our snowshoeing adventure in Waterton Lakes National Park. The B and B was clean, nicely decorated and Josh did a great job with breakfast. We stayed in a loft room which worked well for our family. We had a kitchenette with a coffee maker down the hallway which made it easy for me to get up early and have my morning coffee before the rest of the group woke up. The living room was cozy and the kitchen had all the gadgets we needed to cook up dinner.
Our group ( 3 families) was the only group staying there at the time. As sociable as I can be, I'm not sure I would have enjoyed my stay as much if we weren't the only ones. This would be a wonderful venue for a scrap booking retreat!
Working hot tub and a strong wi-fi signal and I would have given this a 5 star rating!!

Room Tip: The loft rooms work well for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ASchoolOfFish95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal, quebec
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

We were a group of twelve people visiting Waterton National Park. The rooms were very nice and the breakfast served was delicious. Each and every morning freshly brewed coffee was waiting for use before we sat down as a group and had our breakfast served while we were planning our day trip to the National Park. In the evening we had the entire kitchen for ourselves so we could prepare dinner for our group.
Very efficient and charming staff and owner, well it is one guy runnig this family business and everybody is helping out when they are in a big rush.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ueberflieger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fraser valley, BC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were a bit nervous at first what to expect of this B & B. We booked the 3 bedroom cottage without seeing any pictures of it. Well we should not have worried; this place is exceptional although the location might not be for everyone. The expression of "in the middle of nowhere" fits perfectly.
Josh, the person that runs the place, serves an excellent breakfast. The breakfast menu is changed every day and can be ordered at variable times. Although we stayed in the cottage we still had the use of the main house.
As mentioned in earlier reviews the internet Wi-Fi is sketchy at times but that is what one can expect at a semi remote location like this.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RenMar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

My wife, two children, and I stayed here three nights and could not have been more pleased. Rocky Ridge Lodge is a very pleasant, comfortable place. Our room was fine, the kids enjoyed sleeping up in the loft. There was a very pleasant living room where one could hang out, as well as a small kitchen area right outside the room. Josh prepared great breakfasts - every day, we had several to choose from; the breakfast menu changed from day to day. The decor throughout the lodge was very well done. We had easy access to Waterton, about a fifteen minute drive. Josh was a very pleasant host. HIghly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MarkL111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mountain View
15.4 mi away
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
#7 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
15.4 mi away
Waterton Glacier Suites
Waterton Glacier Suites
#4 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
15.8 mi away
Northland Lodge
Northland Lodge
#6 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Prince of Wales Hotel
Prince of Wales Hotel
#1 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
15.4 mi away
Aspen Village
Aspen Village
#8 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
15.3 mi away
Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa
Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa
#2 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky Ridge Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Ridge Country Lodge

Property: Rocky Ridge Country Lodge
Address: 523 2nd Street North | Box 103, Mountain View, Alberta T0K 1N0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Mountain View
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mountain View
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rustic country Bed and Breakfast, located just 20 minutes East of Waterton Lakes National Park. Perfect for families, couples getaways, family reunions and business retreats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Rocky Ridge Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky Ridge Country Lodge Mountain View, Canada - Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing