We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Kalibo
Open today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Started Bad, Ended Ok.

We stoped by Southwest's offices which are right next to the Budget Mart on Boracay to inquire... read more

Reviewed January 17, 2020
Zorrco
,
Central Florida, Florida
Easy Transport but could be better

+ we booked for an arranged transport since we are travelling with a senior and 2 children; booking... read more

Reviewed September 1, 2019
teng7
,
Metro Manila, Philippines
Read all 117 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Panay Island
from $78.00
More Info
from $25.00
More Info
from $16.42
More Info
Reviews (117)
Filter reviews
117 results
Traveler rating
36
17
13
9
42
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
36
17
13
9
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviews door to door service caticlan airport transfer service jetty port the main road return journey terminal fees free transfer shuttle bus arrival area transfer companies same price hassle departure orange timing desks
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 117 reviews
Reviewed January 17, 2020

We stoped by Southwest's offices which are right next to the Budget Mart on Boracay to inquire about activities they had available on the island. We wound up booking a private sunset cruise for our party of 3 for about $70. This included 1 hour on the boat and round trip transportation from our hotel, or about 1.5 hours total. We were told they they would pick us up at our hotel at 4:30 (Sunset that day was at 5:45). They arrived on time to greet us but came without transportation. They had us walk with them out to the main road were they flagged down a tuk tuk taxi. We were expecting a van but ok, it is all part of the adventure!

We arrived at the section of the beach where all of the sunset cruises depart and our guide told us to wait while he went and arranged the boat. About every 10 minutes he showed back up to tell us the boat was on its way. At this point, there were probably 1,000 people on the beach all waiting for their sunset cruise. Most looked to be scheduled on the big group cruises.

This went on until 5:30, at which point we were still being told the same line...the boat would be up to the beach to pick us up "in just a minute or two". By 5:35 (10 minutes to sunset) we decided not to wait any longer. We told the guide we were not happy as there was no way we would make it by sunset and we did not want to be on the boat after dark which would have happed if we got our full time on the boat. He was noticeably frustrated and told us we had already cost him an extra 5 baht. Turns out, all of the "guides" huddle in the middle and do some horse trading to actually secure a boat. Our guide had up the offer by 5 baht apparently.

They did not offer transportation back to the hotel so we took a taxi back to Southwest's office to request a refund. They had us wait while they contacted the guide and finally showed up and suggested they could not refund all of our money as we had already arrived at the beach. Needless to say, we were a little frustrated and in retrospect, I think a TON of people on that beach did not get their sunset cruise despite having already paid for it. These are mostly Chinese and Korean travelers who have limited options to complain without good English.

We wound up leaving the office and heading out for dinner. Up arrival back to our hotel, we stopped by the front desk to inquire about whether we could complain somewhere. They offered to contact Southwest and see if they could help get us a refund. We said ok, and headed to our room. The next day, the hotel staff (her name was Apple, great job!) contacted us and said Southwest would offer us return transportation to Kalibo or a 30% refund. We took the gamble and option for the transportation option since our earlier experience getting to the hotel wasn't great and options are limited for airport runs.

We were told a 7:30 pick up was necessary for our 2:50 flight. As the trip only takes 2 hours from the hotel to Kalibo Airport, this seemed a bit early. Allowing 7 hours for a 2 hour trip was not necessary but we said ok and opted to be early instead of late. Our trip to Kalibo was good though we did arrive more than 3 hours ahead of our flight. Turns out, international check in at Kalibo was not very efficient, partially due to construction at the airport so this wasn't all bad.

I would not used their service again to book actives, especially anything private as they did not deliver at all. For airport Transportion they did fine, so after deducting the cost of our airport run, we were only out about $35 so not a big deal.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank Zorrco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2020

We booked the door-to-door service from Boracay to Kalibo airport thinking this would be the easiest and most efficient thing to do and we were wrong.

The service included pickup from our hotel - but despite telling us they were en route, we got a call 45 mins after our pickup time to tell us unapologetically that no one was available and we would have to make our own way down in a Tricycle.

The boat across was fine, but after arriving at the port we had a long time to wait before the Kalibo bus appeared.

We were also told that there would be no taxis on the mainland and that’s why we should definitely get their bus - this isn’t true and the taxis were cheaper!

It’s advertised across the island that this is the best deal but you can do the journey cheaper and easier if you just book the 3 parts separately yourselves.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank FCtravels3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2019

I booked their service for to transport a group (22 people) from Kalibo Airport to Boracay, Door to Door service. Unfortunately, there was a miscommunication between the corporate office and the local office. They were not able to identify my booking.

Combined with the typhoon, they were not able to accommodate my group. Fortunately, I have relatives in the area that can assists me.

With that being said, I was very and upset and disappointed. After claiming my refund (credit card's benefits), someone from the corporate office reached out to me sending their apologies and explained the situation.

Given the circumstance, I am giving them 4 star for acknowledging their mistakes and promptly returning my money. I will certainly try them again if the opportunity comes and look forward to a more positive experience.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank nycjt2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2019 via mobile

We initially planned to turn up at Boracay airport and grab a tricycle to the jetty port and buy tickets on the spot. It wasn't until I did some research and found the fantastic reviews of South West Travel, that we decided to book transfers through them instead. We are now very glad that we did, as everything was completely sorted for us. All you need to do is show your booking confirmation upon landing and from that moment on the SWT staff take care of you from door to door with minimal disruptions. I am very glad I booked with them, we even used them for departure too and again had a swift transfer with no issues. The staff are very helpful and all very organised, they know where you are going and move you along from coach to jetty then to minibus in the swiftest of manners. I would highly recommend them.

Date of experience: November 2019
2  Thank emilialangridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Journey389520, Manager at Southwest Travel & Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2019

Thank you for your kind words. We hope we did make your Boracay vacation extra wonderful.


#CelebrateMoments
- People from Southwest Tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2019 via mobile

will not book here again. expecting a hassle free transfer coming back to caticlan but apparently the terminal fee was not part of the service. going into boracay was no problem. so which is which? it would have been ok to line up but other transfer sevices had their representatives lining up to pay for them, which is what transfer service is all about.

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank Hunt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews