We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable break for youngsters”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pontins Brean Sands Holiday Park
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Am shocked and surprised at some of the reviews on here. We visited brean sands in the October half term and we had a lovely time. I'm not saying it was perfect but for a short break that cost less than £50 it was fine.
Here are the positves The chalet was small and very basic but was clean and enough for the 4 of us (2 adults 2 children 8and4) the entertainment staff were fantastic and couldn't do enough to help. we spent one day off site at a farm then the rest of the time on site as there was plenty of activity to keep us going. The pool and changing area was clean on the day we went swimming only draw back was the slide was only open for 15 mins. Daytime we watched wrestling, took part in a quiz, went to a Halloween party, and the children even had an hour in the arcade with the bluecoats playing on games for free. The arcade wasn't great however the candy floss machine was utilised every night.
The negatives. Had to arrive early at the fun factory in order to get a table and seat despite signs telling you not to save seats or push tables together whole groups would leave bags on tables or leave 1 person sitting there and then come back 2 hours later and nothing was done. Onsite takeaways chicken place was nasty and often ouy of what was advertised, fish and chip shop was nice food but only 2 staff members on shift and food took almost 40 minutes to get though at least was cooked to order and not sat under hotplates. There are a choice of takeaways just ouutside camp and on brean leisure park there is a Starbucks for a decent coffee. All in all for the money paid we had a fab time and people should remember this is not a luxury resort and turn up with an open mind instead of reading bad reviews and immediately thinking the worst.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mickee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,855)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,063 - 3,069 of 3,855 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2013

JULY 2012

Chosen because they could accommodate 8 in an apartment, affordable and close and perfect for children.
We knew what to expect before we went as we'd been in the past but didn't expect to find it worse than we remember. We were located next to the tennis courts next to some incomplete construction and apartments being refurbished.

Accommodation - 2 bedroom apartment, big enough for 6 ideally but can squeeze 8 in if they are prepared to sleep on sofa bed in lounge (not ideal as its in the kitchen/diner). In dire need of some TLC. We were short of 1 bed and linen that was brought to us after requesting at reception.

Facilities:
Tennis Court - in bad shape and constantly used as a cut through to the chip shop and children's soft play area.
Spar Shop - very over priced.
Amusement Arcade - large and as expected but never enough staff on duty to deal with the constant broken machines. Prizes in the machines were pathetic and our children had much more fun visiting the many arcades off the site with good prizes.
Swimming Pool - Pretty grim, water slide only in operation at certain times due to lack of staff. Water cold, changing rooms dirty. Horrible! Closed on two occasions because it needed to be treated.
Bars - Over priced and under staffed, always had to queue in the main venue. Ran out of the advertised special drinks cups.
Entertainment Room - not enough seating or tables for a site this big. Unless you were down really early and saved seats you didn't get one. In 1 week we never managed to get a table for our group of 3 adults and 5 children. We were lucky if we got a chair to seat our Nan who is disabled. Because of this we very rarely stayed to watch the shows unless we stood at the back.
Bluecoats & Shows - A very good hardworking team who made it for the children. The shows we did see were very good and as expected.
Activity Programme - very full however, on certain occasions activities didn't run due to staff shortages which was extremely disappointing for the children. Especially when the football match was cancelled there were so many disappointed kids that we decided to run it ourselves but had to beg the staff to let us use their ball (ridiculous).

Fast Food - Several times the chicken/burger bar ran out of items that were on the menu.

Parking - nightmare!

Equipment - Shabby and overpriced bicycles, go karts for hire

Brean - plenty to do and see outside of Pontins so quite a good base if you want to visit places like Brean Down, Weston Super Mare, Burnham on Sea, Cheddar Gorge etc but please note that trips to Cheddar Gorge & Wookey Hole are not cheap.

Bring back the old Hi De Hi style holidays instead of ramming all the cheap and nasty merchandise down our throats (not so cheap)! Expensive photo opportunities etc its just not fun anymore unfortunately and everything costs extra.

The children with us were between 5 & 15. There is nothing for the older kids and the younger ones quickly got bored with the activities but enjoyed watching the children's shows.
I was a bluecoat many years ago and loved it. I'm not sure we will ever get back the traditional way a Holiday Camp used to be run. Shame!



Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
4  Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We booked this for new year the night before we went. Payed £136 for a top of the range chalet (maybe not top of the range) for 4 people was clean better than when we went here 3 years ago. Was very wary of going has when we went 3 years ago in one word STINKING. To my knowledge it's been taken over and they are slowly getting there. We payed a bargin price and didn't expect luxurys as most people on here expect for such a cheap holiday. Our chalet had just had a total decoration throughout so was clean and tidy not fabulous but acceptable. My 4 year old daughter loved the blue coats and is still doing all the dance moves. Entertainment was second to none. We was very disappointed as to not get a table new years eve as people was queuing from 5am in the morning absolutely ridiculous!!! This they must sort out as it isn't fair on people having to stand most of the night. Was very annoyed as we was promised a table and we never got one. This place as become a total turn around and they are slowly getting there just takes time. If you want to go there then do pay the extra and upgrade it is worthit In the long run. Don't expect luxury when paying peanuts for a holiday. I will defiantly be booking for new year again as we really enjoyed it. But they must sort out this table reserving so everybody gets a seat and table. So if you are going make sure you upgrade that is my advice to you.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gemmadeegemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

stayed here last september with my husband and my two children and had an amazing time we paid total £38 from sun holidays it was raining when we were there and i have to say they do need drainage but apart from that it was fab the blue coats were excellent with the kids.
we are hopefully coming back this year with friends and family.

ignore all coment that are bad they have nothing better to do what do you expect when you pay £9.50 each these people expect a 5* resort get a grip.


thankyou pontins brene xxxxx

Room Tip: if you can upgrade if you have two adults and two children you will be more comfortable xx
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I have just returned today after booking a 3 night stay here for new year. Wish I had never bothered!!! We waited ages to check in, when finally got the keys we could barely on pen the door to apartment as the lock was dodgy. Got in to find no electric or hot water, was filthy inside dining table sticky, hairs in bathroom. Beds were discusting and the mattresses and bedding stunk of wee. We went to reception to report the electric problem... Nearly 3 hours we waited after having to go bk to reception 3 times! Finally sorted it about 5.30 when we got to our room at 2.30. Couldn't have a shower as there was no hot water in the tank! Got changed and went to the 'fun factory'. No seats or tables available so we had to stand the entire night! Next night(new years eve) people started waiting for tables at 5am in the morning. By the time we got there in the evening there was not a chair in sight! Seen 2 fights over tables and chairs! And an elderly and disabled couple who were left standing as there was nothing left to sit on! We were told to walk round the room n just take chairs if noone was sitting down! Absolute joke!!! Ruined our New Year's Eve, entertainment got kids was rubbish! We came home a day early as couldn't bare to be there any longer! I will be making a complaint and expecting a full refund! We only ended up here as butlins was fully booked!! Please stay away!!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anais0987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Firstly, Iam very shoocked to read some of the reviews on here... Before going on holiday i did not look on this site and im glad else id have really been put off.
It is a great holiday site personally i think one of the best ive been too and for the price you pay on Sun Holidays you dont expect luxurys.
We arrived very late around 8pm so checked in straight away, got our keys and directions to our apartment. I was pleasntly suprised, it was very clean, a fair size and once the heating was on the chill was gone. There was a build up of condensation on the doors and the sofa bed in the front room was horrible to sleep on especially being 8months pregnant, therefore i ended up in a single bed and my son and his dad were in the lounge. This aside though the facilites in the apartnment where good, ironing board, microwave, toaster, fridge/freezer ironing board etc.. Things on some holidays u have to pay extra for. The only downfall i felt was the hot water is was a milky colour and smelt like mint & milk.. Very bizzare i chose to boil the kettle when we washed up and washed our faces etc. Though im sure it is probley fine im quite picky. The only other negative is you can hear people in the next apartment.
As for entertainment: The kids clubs are standard for a site like this, the Queen Vic was average and the onsite arcade was ok. The shops abit expensive but theres a tesco a 5 minute drive away. For children though i thought the outside sand pit and play areas where very good there are also tennis courts and football courts also climbing centre and a place to hire out bikes etc.. We did notice a games room too with pool tables and mini golf. Again we did not use any of these as my son is only 2years old. However on site there is an indoor play area for 0-3years and can i just say it is amazing!! Theres a home type room with slides and little tikes cars for children to play on, games consoles for the ones a little older.. Theres a room where children can do drawing and painting and a large screen showing films.. Futher to this there is an indoor jungle play area up to approx 8 years this too is in great conditon and good for keeping children entertained. The lady who works in this centre is absolutley lovely!!! She really went out of her way to make sure my son was happy paid close attention to me and offered support if i needed it as being 8 months pregnant with SPD its hard to get about.
Other staff on site i cant really rate as didnt really see or speak to them.

Overall definatley worth the trip.. Its a pleasent site and we are looking to return next year in the summer to see what else it has to offer. Oh forgot to mention there is an indoor swimming pool which my partner & son very much enjoyed.

Definatley visit if you have young children. I do not no what its like in peak times but we went November and it was fairly quite with plenty to keep us occupied.
Hope this helps anyone considering a holiday here!!! :)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Keza_89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

On arrival we had to wait 2 hrs to get checked in, after gettings keys for appartment staff could not even tell us where it was in resort, the food at restaurant was disgusting, the appartment was filthy, and the apartment on end of our block had mice, the bar staff were serving teenagers alcohol knowing they were under age, there were people trying to start fights every night in the resort, and the security guards openly offered us drugs for sale!!! This is the worst place i have ever stayed for a holiday and will never go back even if it was free and i was given £1000 spending money

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Missymoo30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnham-On-Sea
3.6 mi away
The Royal Clarence Hotel
The Royal Clarence Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burnham-On-Sea
189 reviews
4.9 mi away
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hotel
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hot...
#4 of 28 in Weston super Mare
397 reviews
4.4 mi away
Smiths Hotel
Smiths Hotel
#12 of 28 in Weston super Mare
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Days Inn Sedgemoor M5
Days Inn Sedgemoor M5
#1 of 1 in Cheddar
662 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Sundowner Hotel
The Sundowner Hotel
#1 of 1 in Highbridge
31 reviews
11.2 mi away
Warrens Village
Warrens Village
#2 of 2 in Clevedon
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pontins Brean Sands Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pontins Brean Sands Holiday Park

Address: South Road, Burnham-On-Sea TA8 2RJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Burnham-On-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Burnham-On-Sea
Price Range: $48 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pontins Brean Sands Holiday Park 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pontins Brean Sands Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pontins Brean Sands Holiday Park Hotel Burnham-On-Sea
Pontins Brean Sands Holiday Park Burnham-On-Sea, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing