We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT BREAK will be going back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pontins Brean Sands Holiday Park
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Really enjoyed our short break even though some of the activities werent on we went off site and its such a lovely area with loads to do, our apartment was clean and all facilities work and food was nice and i thought the entertainment was good overall greeat we are going back in october xxx

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jade L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,920)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,453 - 3,459 of 3,920 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2012

We have just returned from Pontins, Brean Sands (21 Aprii) and having read previous reviews I would somewhat agree with the poor ratings. We didn't pay a lot for this 2 night half board break (thank goodness), although I must admit the food was fine. The apartment was very, very basic but adequate with all the equipment you need ie. microwave, fridge etc. I wasn't expecting a shower as paperwork said only bath provided so that was a bonus. If you do go for a short break don't pay for a £5 electricity card, buy them in £1's as you only get a refund if you don't use the card and they do last quite well. We lost £3.64 by buying a £5 card although we did pass it on to another holidaymaker. For us there were far too many young people on their own and parents who have no control over their infants. Maybe places like Pontins cater for the less discerning holidaymaker, all I know is now that we have experienced it we will never return to a holiday park, cheap or not!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cymraes191267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

where do i start.
On checking in we got giving the keys for the appartment but that was it,been on lots of haven holidays and always get giving a timetable and information on how to plan your week,eventually we found an A board (just 1) for the whole complex with what was going on during our stay,considering its easter weekend the activitys where rubbish and very poorly organised, not even an easter egg hunt which i have always had anywhere else i have gone.only after getting home did we realise that all bookings with children during the easter weekend will recieve free easter eggs, which of cause they didnt get.
The picture of the appartments from the website is totally misleading, the actuall appartment is a tiny little dirty discusting dump, halv the size of what you can expect from the picture.
the quilt was covered in stains,there was no hot water for the shower yet the hot water in the kitchen tap was scolding, Booked for 2 adults and 3 kids but had no option for a 2 bedroom appartment so were all crammed in a bedsit. Would never of believed it was a club appartment if we hadn't gone to reception to complain only to be told we were in one of the top appartments there is.
The swimming pool was a apsolute dump,i have never seen changing rooms so dirty,there was nowhere to put your clothes without getting them soaking wet while trying to get changed,oh and mind your step when entering the changing rooms as very easy to stand on all the dirty nappies everywhere,dont rely on the lifeguards to do there job as kids where just running wild climbing up the grotty slide while people where coming down,
The fun factory which is the main entertainment hall for your kids at night time was a dirty dump as well, stained fabric everywhere, kids entertainment starts at halv 8 which is way to late for young children, but worst of all the type of clientell going to this site, all loud and hardly kid friendly and 18 year old lads in big groups, the bingo caller actually walked out because full grown men where drunk and loud and wouldnt shut up, walking back to our bedsit Easter Sunday night we had the great pleasure of our 3 young children having to walk past about 20 drunk lads butt naked. Just about topped it off really to have your 5 year old daughter asking why there was naked men outside our appartment!
They need to decide if they are a family holiday place or a party central place as really cant work as both.
I will never use Pontins ever again and they should not be allowed to advertise as "The UK's Number 1 Holiday Entertainment Destination"
The place needs burning down and starting again from scratch!

Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Charlie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

I have reviewed Pontins Brean Sands 2 years ago. At the time we were on a Sun holiday, we thought that we were in the "standard accommodation" and the children were younger. It was tired and run down but apart from that it was cheap and cheerful.

With an open mind we decided to book again, we booked 2 holidays one via the sun paper Friday to Monday and the another via Pontins (paying on average £70 pp) Monday to Friday in a Classic chalet (3 bed).

We arrived on Friday 13th April and were disappointed with our accommodation as it was dark and dingy and although there was site security we felt that the yobs on site early evening were unruly and drunk obviously they had took advantage of the happy 2 hours (5-7). As it was the £9.50 break we thought that we couldn't complain. We decided to visit the Seagull on the Friday night and skipped the entertainment on camp - The Seagull entertainment was great.

We did try the children's entertainment on Saturday evening and it was rubbish, the Lunar Bar was damp and the blue coats tried their best but I imagine its hard to be happy and enthusiastic when they are on minimum wage. The main ballroom was dirty and the entertainment was Bingo up to 8.30pm and nothing for children apart from the arcade which is noisy, expensive and the exits are littered with smokers.

We counted down the hours to Monday and hoped that the accommodation would lift our depression.

Monday came and we checked in to the 3 bed chalet, this was clean. However, the kitchen layout was dangerous as the plugs were near the sink and the kettle was placed on the microwave. We were out of the Ghetto/Bronx as my partner nicknamed it. It wasn't to the standard that I had hoped (comparing to the stay 2 years previous). I believe that the chalet next to us was unlocked for a couple of hours and was robbed by a family nearby of all luxuries to furnish the less luxurious chalets.

We checked out 1 day early and returned our bedding for the £10 refundable deposit, the lady asked if we were definitely checking out...of COURSE WE WERE.... I learned she asked because several families returned their bedding a day before checkout for the £10 to spend on alcohol/bingo... really??? How disgraceful!!!

We are not snobs however we felt the whole site could do with an upgrade, not just the chalets, get rid of the happy hours, the drunken yobs, the thieving chavs and slummy entertainment venues.

Pontins if you wish to have low expectations of the visitors to come to Brean that only want to spend their money on playing bingo, drink in happy hours and thieve your chalets then keep it up - I won't be returning!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kernowmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

We stayed here for a long weekend in the economy apartments, and thank goodness it was only a weekend! Put it this way, I wouldn't even let my dog stay there! The room smelt awful, the furniture very old and the whole place was filthy. The clubhouse wasn't much better either. Sticky floors and tables which looked like they hadn't been cleared for days and the entertainment was terrible. Can't comment on the food as we ate out the whole time. The clientele were a lot to be desired as well, Chavtastic sprung to mind. Could not wait to get out of there!

Room Tip: Don't go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissChampers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

I stayed at pontins on the 13th April 2012 for a long weekend, had read the reviews and was dreading it, i was wrong, the apartments were clean (needed updating) but had a brand new leather sofa (I stayed in the cheapest)! The pool and on site facilities were free & good, the evening entertainment - especially the magic show was excellent and the blue coats were friendly and helpful. We didn't eat on site but ate across the road at the seagull which was beautiful and reasonably priced. Overall a very cheap weekend with loads for the children and will go again .

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WalesAngie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

please do not rely on the words of these reviews,like most people i was dreading staying here after reading these.we are family of 4 aged 40,41,13,11.we had no trouble checking in it was fast easy and painless,the only thing i can comment on is you have to cue to get youre bedding and leave a 10 pound refundable deposit,and then you have to make up youre own beds.after that there was not one thing we could complain about.the food entertainment and facilities were spot on for the camp.the surrounding area has plenty to do and see.so dont judge by reviews.try it youreself.just booked again for july as my childrem wanted to go back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mark e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnham-On-Sea
3.5 mi away
The Royal Clarence Hotel
The Royal Clarence Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burnham-On-Sea
198 reviews
4 mi away
Rookery Manor
Rookery Manor
#1 of 1 in Edingworth
924 reviews
4.1 mi away
Days Inn Sedgemoor M5
Days Inn Sedgemoor M5
#1 of 1 in Cheddar
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Best Western The Webbington Hotel and Spa
6.3 mi away
Pontins Sand Bay Holiday Park
3.5 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Burnham-On-Sea
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pontins Brean Sands Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pontins Brean Sands Holiday Park

Address: South Road, Burnham-On-Sea TA8 2RJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Burnham-On-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Burnham-On-Sea
Price Range: $51 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pontins Brean Sands Holiday Park 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pontins Brean Sands Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pontins Brean Sands Holiday Park Hotel Burnham-On-Sea
Pontins Brean Sands Holiday Park Burnham-On-Sea, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing