We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Magnolia House

Magnolia House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burnham-On-Sea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Magnolia House
Ranked #7 of 13 Burnham-On-Sea B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed for one night at magnolia house and on arrival was greeted and shown to our room by Roz room was spotlessly clean and bathroom was very good bed was very comfortable . Breakfast choice was great as was hospitality and tasted fantastic overall a great value for money stay! When staying in burnham would highly recommend you stay here a great big thanks to Alastair and Roz especially for going out of there way to take us to asda when they didn't have to do so ! We would definatly stay again F A N T A S T I C

Room Tip: Rooms at back quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wes M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    18
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
37
79
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed August 15, 2012

I stayed at magnolia house with my family and would recommend it to anyone. The service was fantastic we were made to feel very welcome the rooms were flawless, clean, fresh and tidy I would deffinately stay there again I coulnt find even one fault it was perfect

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandyandbec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Booked 2 nights at the Magnolia House after reading the excellent reviews about it. We were not disappointed. Even whilst booking the break with Alistair over the telephone I was already impressed by how nice and helpful he was. We were greeted at the door and showed to our room, which was fab, lovely and clean, beautifully decorated and a great en-suite as well, to say nothing of the view of the chickens from the window!! Always wonder about booking breakfast because sometimes you just don't want to get up, but really glad I did, as we ordered what we wanted the night before there was no hanging about and it was fantastic and so much choice, glad I did get up :) nothing was too much trouble for either Alistair or Roz and was nice chatting to the other guests! Its a beautiful house with a wonderful couple running it and nothing is too much trouble, can't wait to go back which I know for sure we will - and Roz you really should think about 4 in a bed (the TV programme!) - you'd win hands down. Thanks to both of you for making our few days so enjoyable - people looking for a wonderful break head down to the Magnolia House. Julie and Tom, Birmingham.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed at Magnolia House for a long weekend, the room was great, very clean with everything in good working order, upon our arrival, Alistair showed us to our room & spent time explaining how everything worked. We had a good selection to choose for breakfast each morning which was delicious every day. Magnolia House is well placed with lots of things to do nearby either by foot or a short drive, there was lots of information on what to do and Alistair & Roz had lots of tips too to ensure we got the most enjoyment out of our trips, we were also able to borrow DVDs from their collection to watch in our room which was fab.

In summary, we would highly recommend Magnolia House, run by a lovely couple who clearly put a lot of thought & effort into ensuring that everything little thing is just right for their guests.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bromwich
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Iv just returned from a monday to friday stay at Magnolia House. It was my partners birthday so we decided on Burnham on sea for the week. When we arrived Roz met us at the door and welcomed us with open arms and had the courtesy to show us to our room. The room was immaculate, bed linen bright white, fantastic cooling air fan on the wall which is what we needed in the heat that we had. Roz and Alistair even put a bottle of wine in our room for my partners birthday which i thought was brilliant! We had great information from them at the lovely breakfast that was pre-ordered for us every morning. They recommended sights and attractions etc which was brilliant! Being a former maid, breakfast waitress and currently a receptionist myself i did do the odd going over the room and service (as an auditor would) but it was fantastic! The only small problem i had with room was the shower curtain, it looked a bit old and dated and had a few black spots on but that was it! Our rooms were security coded and everything else was brilliant. As stated when we left this morning we will definately return in the future. Thankyou Roz and Alistair!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizndaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

A great stay in July 2012. - A warm welcome, very easy to find almost bang in the centre of B-O-S. near all central shops and pier. parking available at the front of the property.
Large room with very comfortable bed, quality linen, flat screen TV with DVD player and freeview. Quality tea and coffee making with nice biscuits. Wide choice of breakfast items ,excellent quality food. Own hens so good eggs ! Clean and tidy house. Not your typical guest house by any means.

Slight and only very slight downsides, next to a petrol station which we though might be noisy but proved not to be. Our shower was small and electric which means not very powerful and has a shower curtain that means its hard not to get the floor wet.

We would book again if staying in the area again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We stayed at Magnolia House for 2 nights while attending a friends wedding locally. Our friends had booked our room for us and we had no idea what to expect. WOW it was fabulous and so friendly from the first handshake as the door was opened for us on arrival. Our room was spacious, attractive, clean , comfortable and a good ensuite. I was not feeling 100% over the weekend and probably didnt do justice to the excellant breakfast on offer but my husband thought it the best he had eaten in a long while. Magnolia House have their own chickens so the eggs were delicious. There was safe parking at the front of the property and Alistair and Roz were excellant hosts. We will most certainly be staying there again in the future and will be looking forward to making the most of that excellant breakfast menu. What a gem of a place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Primetime50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnham-On-Sea
0.1 mi away
The Royal Clarence Hotel
The Royal Clarence Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burnham-On-Sea
173 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Sundowner Hotel
The Sundowner Hotel
#1 of 1 in Highbridge
21 reviews
2.5 mi away
Laburnum House Lodge Hotel
Laburnum House Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Huntspill
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Yew Tree House
Yew Tree House
#1 of 1 in Berrow
125 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#5 of 13 in Burnham-On-Sea
93 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ashbourne House Bed and Breakfast
Ashbourne House Bed and Breakfas...
#3 of 13 in Burnham-On-Sea
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia House

Property: Magnolia House
Address: 26 Manor Road, Burnham-On-Sea TA8 2AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Burnham-On-Sea
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Burnham-On-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Magnolia House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnolia House is a top-class Guest House situated within a 2 to 3 minutes walk of the centre of Burnham-On-Sea. In 2016 Magnolia House was awarded for the 9th year the very prestigious 4 stars by the AA & Visit Britain. This makes Magnolia House one of the few guest houses to hold both these prestigiously high awards simultaneously and it is the only Guest House in Burnham-On-Sea to have achieved this. All of the rooms are beautifully decorated and spacious with exquisite, fully tiled en-suite facilities. Each room also has its own wall mounted LCD Freeview TV, for families there is a unique suite available which offers two interconnecting bedrooms to allow accommodation for up to four guests. There is plenty of off road parking for guests at Magnolia House. All rooms have keyless entry security locks and there is free Wi-Fi access. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Magnolia House Burnham-On-Sea, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing