We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B. Beautiful House, lovely rooms and a very friendly welcome!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cheriton Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 13 Burnham-On-Sea B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 9, 2011

We hadn't booked, turned up unannounced after visiting several other unsuitable B&B's in the area, and we were warmly greeted by the proprietors Gilly and Mike. We checked in for 1 night but we were made to feel so at home and very comfortable in the lovely Tower Room, that we stayed a 2nd night. The house is charming and very clean, only a 2 minute walk to the beach and in a lovely quiet area. Mike's Full English Breakfast was plentiful and delicious (my hubby was impressed with the optional black pudding!)
This was the last 2 days of our 7 day tour of South Wales and Somerset and without doubt rounded off our holiday beautifully. One of the best B&B's we have ever stayed in...and we would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone. Thanks Gilly and Mike

Room Tip: Our room was very clean, spacious, plenty of storage, a comfortable bed and had a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RudiMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chillyandmike, Owner at Cheriton Lodge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2011

Thank you so very much for taking the time to write a review of our B&B, we are so pleased you had a good stay and we would love to see you again, Regards Gilly and Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 38 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2011

One of the most welcoming B&Bs we have ever been to. Gilly and Mike were kind and helpful and very friendly. We booked the twin room as we stayed for two nights as the double was only available for one of those nights. But, we were given the tour and the Tower room is amazing, with a sea view and plenty of space to relax in.
Parking is very easy, just off the main road. The walk to the beach is 3 minutes away and the walk in to town is very easy and pleasant. Not much to do in Burnham but this makes a weekend away very peaceful and relaxing. Mikes breakfast is cooked from fresh and very filling. The bedrooms are each decorated to a different taste with the rest of the B&B having its own character. Definately worth a visit.

Room Tip: Cosy & Comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JillyRhads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chillyandmike, Owner at Cheriton Lodge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2011

Thanks so much, we look forward to seeing you again. Gilly and Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

We arrived unannounced and were greeted warmly by Gilly and her husband Mike. There is a choice of two double rooms - one with en-suite and a larger one with private bathroom which we chose. It is a short walk to the restaurants. Breakfast was the typical full English and delicious. The hosts couldn't do enough for us. Ample parking in the street which is a Cul-de-sac.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnandrobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed at the Cheriton for two nights and found the establishment to be run in an extremely friendly and welcoming way, the proprietors of the B&B were delightful people and also proved very helpful, informative and accommodating towards us.
The room we stayed in was a large double with en-suite bathroom. I found the cleanliness to be very good and the bed extremely comfortable, so much so that we had problems getting up in the morning!!! There are also a lot of nice touches throughout the B&B which give it a very homely feel making our stay that bit more special.
Full English breakfast in the morning was superb, no cheap nasty food but instead some delicious bacon, sausage, egg, mushrooms, tomato and my favourite black pudding.
Could not recommend this B&B enough.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lewisprice101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

Mike & Gill made us very welcome. Nothing was too much trouble, Cheriton Lodge is excellently run, clean & inviting. We will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rachelsbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2010

In june this year we had the good luck for our over night stay on route to cornwall to select Cheriton lodge,mike and gilly are excelent hosts,with nothing to much trouble.We stayed in the blue room which met all are requirements,mikes breakfast can only be described as wow.we have since returned pauline and ray fenney.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rayfenney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2010

My partner and I stayed at the Cheriton Lodge for two nights in August 2010. We were given the Tower room which had a lovely sea view and was a charming and comfortable room, we slept very well. The house itself has lots of character and original features. We very much enjoyed our stay, the weather was not great but that didn’t put us off as the stay at the
Cheriton was fantastic.

Very clean good rates and good breatfast, owners couldn’t do enough for you, very helpful and pleasant would defiantly recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank missddonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Burnham-On-Sea hotels
0.1 mi away
Ashbourne House Bed and Breakfast
2.2 mi away
Yew Tree House
Yew Tree House
#1 of 1 in Berrow
136 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Royal Clarence Hotel
The Royal Clarence Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burnham-On-Sea
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Old Rectory
The Old Rectory
#1 of 1 in Brean
254 reviews
0.6 mi away
Knights Rest
Knights Rest
#11 of 13 in Burnham-On-Sea
55 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#4 of 13 in Burnham-On-Sea
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheriton Lodge Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheriton Lodge Bed & Breakfast

Address: 4 Allandale Road, Burnham-On-Sea TA8 2HG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Burnham-On-Sea
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Burnham-On-Sea
Price Range: $98 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cheriton Lodge Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cheriton Lodge is a charming & distinctive house in the Victorian seaside town of Burnham on Sea, only a two minute walk from the 7 miles of sandy beach & within walking distance of the town centre. All rooms are tastefully furnished & have en-suite or private bathroom, WIFI internet, Freeview TV, tea coffee & a Full English Breakfast included in the price. Only five minutes drive from Junction 22 of the M5 motorway & close to Britol airport (19 miles/30 km) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Cheriton Lodge Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheriton Lodge Bed & Breakfast Burnham-On-Sea, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing