We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Royal Clarence Hotel (over 18s only)
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brent Knoll Lodge(Brent Knoll)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rookery Manor(Edingworth)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Admirals Table(Bridgwater)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (201)
Filter reviews
201 results
Traveler rating
46
61
35
22
37
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
46
61
35
22
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewcourtyard barcafe round the cornerbank holiday breaktea and coffeebudget hotelsnight staybooked a double roombuilding worklovely clean roomopposite the beachan enjoyable staylovely weekendgreat showerroom keythis lovely hotelstayed one night
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
181 - 186 of 201 reviews
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Our first impressions of the hotel were not good. We had to park on the sea front and the out side of the hotel looked a bit tatty. We had booked a very cheap stay here though, £45 BnB so weren't expecting much. There was no reception, but you had to ring a bell in the corridor and wait for someone to come out from the bar to look after you. However, once we saw our room we were very happy. It was very nicely furnished and spotlessly clean. It also had a nice shower room attached. There was no shower gel provided but we'd been caught out like that at another cheap hotel the week before, so I had come prepared.

Breakfast was continental and a bit basic, but again, everything was spotlessly clean. There were no staff around but everything was laid out for guests to help themselves. Sliced bread was in baskets and covered with cling film to keep it fresh, there was a small glass fronted fridge with jugs of milk and fruit juice, all covered to keep them fresh and with use by dates written on the covers. There was also plenty of fresh butter. The breakfast room over looks the sea front so that is very nice. No staff around to check out with but there is a box to drop your keys into.

We would be happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: Make sure you take your own shower gels etc as these are not provided.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Arranging a visit for my six sisters, their husbands, my wife and myself was made very easy by Paul who was well organised and helpful. Parking is always a problem at any seaside town so a few yards to my car was no great issue. The Clarence has a rich history and this shows in the quirky layout with steps up and down even on one floor only added to the character. Our room was very clean and the beds comfortable.
All the staff were friendly and made every effort to help whenever there was a need. Breakfast was plain & simple but more than adequate. The bar prices were incredibly low and having seven different ciders on tap plus 8 barrels of local scrumpie was a real treat..
We will be returning.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SueMick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

My wife & I stayed at the Royal Clarence B.O.S. last night.. First impression was where was the car park. It consisted of a small area out front for 2 cars only, which were already there. So had to park on sea front, thankfully it is Winter so didn't have to pay but if we stayed during the Summer it would have a cost a small fortune!
Was shown to our room, which was pleasant enough, twin beds, tv, kettle etc. Decided to have a shower, but no freebies such as shower gel, shampoo, there was only liquid hand wash. First time we have stayed in a hotel which didn't supply the usual. Had we known would have brought our own. Be aware there is live entertainment in the bar below, which is a bit loud but did finish at 2300 hrs. Mattresses were too soft, so woke up like Quasimodo next morning.Went to our free breakfast, which was disappointing. Continental at the R.C. is toast, yoghurt, cereal, tea or coffee. The bread was hard, put out too early I think, it was thin sliced, & the toaster didn't have a cancel button, so by the time the slices popped out they were cremated. No butter only individual spread. Coffee wasn't very pleasant, it came from a self service machine that did Lattes etc. The only member of staff we saw was when we checked in the night before, she was however pleasant . We used to live in Burnham and this was the first time we stayed at the RC and the last..

Room Tip: Sea view is available.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GRAHAM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Royal Clarence Hotel on Wednesday and Thursday nights the 2nd and 3rd October 2013. From the outside this hotel looks as if it has certainly seen better days, but on entering our room we were surprised. There were twin beds which we had asked for, a TV, coffee/tea making facilities with more than enough milk etc., and in the drawer was a hairdryer. The bathroom was very clean, as was the bed linen. There was ample wardrobe and chest of drawer space, and a small dressing table. The couple whom run the Hotel were more than pleasant, and the breakfast they provided was superb. This consisted of orange and apple juice, coffee machine providing different coffees, with tea bags available - PG Tips - wonderful, not those horrible, cheap teabags that only taste of the paper the tea is in! Breakfast also consisted of apples, oranges, bananas, 3 types of cereal, dried fruit, peach or cherry yoghurts, brown or white bread and two toasters that actually toasted the bread all over. We think this hotel offered such good value and we would not hesitate to stay there again. Also, although there is a large bar downstairs, we could not hear any noise coming from it when in our beds before closing time!

Room Tip: We did not have a seaview and did not request one, so I cannot say if they are available, but it maybe worth asking. Our room has frosted glass windows looking out towards another building, but as weren't spending any time in the room, other than to sleep, we did not request anything more.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Dot218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

As a local to Burnham I regularly visit the RC as I like it's more mature clientele, the free entertainment, the friendly bar staff and the excellently priced ales (about a pound a pint cheaper than anywhere else in town) i had family coming to visit and no room at my inn so i booked a room here. The room was clean and well appointed overlooking the front with a nice sea view. Breakfast was standard continental fare but perfectly adequate. These are rooms above a pub more than a standard hotel i would feel (there will be drinkers downstairs at the weekend) but my visitor was more than happy and said he'd gladly stop there again.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
12  Thank Becky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews