We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, quiet and the cheap drinks kept us cheerful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Royal Clarence Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burnham-On-Sea
Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Clean, quiet and the cheap drinks kept us cheerful!”
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

As a local to Burnham I regularly visit the RC as I like it's more mature clientele, the free entertainment, the friendly bar staff and the excellently priced ales (about a pound a pint cheaper than anywhere else in town) i had family coming to visit and no room at my inn so i booked a room here. The room was clean and well appointed overlooking the front with a nice sea view. Breakfast was standard continental fare but perfectly adequate. These are rooms above a pub more than a standard hotel i would feel (there will be drinkers downstairs at the weekend) but my visitor was more than happy and said he'd gladly stop there again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
12 Thank Becky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    53
    29
    21
    29
See reviews for
19
103
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

When Grumpy and I arrived at the Royal Clarence we were shown to our room by a rather quiet young girl. We had no welcome from anyone. The room was very clean, no complaints there. We stayed in one of the back rooms, big mistake. The bedroom overlooked the smoking shelters in the court yard out the back. The noise was horrendous. It was so loud you couldn't hear the television in your room. The television was difficult to watch because it was mounted high on one wall. There was only one small seat to sit on and that was wedged between the wall and the bedside table which meant that one of your legs was pressed up against the beside table. The only other thing to sit on was a small dressing table stool with wobbly legs. The best place to watch the television was lying down on the bed.
The parking there is also a problem, we were lucky and managed to park a short distance away from the Hotel but you then had to keep an eye out for the time that the ticket ran out and go and purchase another one!

Although the bed sheets were clean the bed was so uncomfortable neither of us could sleep properly. The en-suite was spotlessly clean, clean fresh towels but toilet seat a little wobbly.

I think the website is very misleading with all it's beautiful pictures of the 'continental' breakfast. You had a choice of three types of cereal, toast (three types of bread, white, brown and best of both), fruit consisted of either apple, orange or banana. Yogurt, orange juice, apple juice, preserves (raspberry, strawberry preserve and marmalade.

On the website there is also wonderful pictures of cooked meals. The Royal Clarence don't do any type of meals. (Unless you want a packet of crisps from the bar!) On the website they talk about the lounge bar. In reality the lounge bar has music blasting out all night long. Grumpy went to order some drinks at the bar, he was trying to order half a pint of lemon and lime larger shandy but after trying to tell the bar maid what he wanted three times he came away with a pint of larger shandy so most of that was wasted. The music was so load you couldn't hold a conversation with the person sitting next to you.

The website does not tell you either that there is live entertainment on some nights, the Saturday night we stayed there the live entertainment went on until 12.00 midnight.

It wasn't cheap paying for a three night stay at the Royal Clarence, we would have been better off staying at a Premier Inn. We were so disgusted we left as soon as we could on the Sunday. We just couldn't face another night there.

What was supposed to be nice quiet break turned out to be a really stressful time.

I wouldn't recommend to Royal Clarence Hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Carol P P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Burnham-On-Sea hotels

Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Great value for money stay, perfect for a stop over and above a good pub with very cheap drinks. Very friendly barmaids - Cat & Max run a tight ship and will even help you find other pubs after theirs is closed! All in all a good £45 a night hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We booked a two night stay in a family room after looking at the hotels own website. The pictures and reviews were all very positive, what a disappoinment on arrival !!! As we had paid in full and as it was peak holiday season and no other accommodation was available we had no choice but to stay. But one night was enough!! We went out for the afternoon and found on our return the door to our bedroom was open, thankfully we had taken all our valuables out with us because of our initial impressions of the place. Our youngest daughter refused to stay because she was so frightened someone would come into our room during the night. We had to arrange for her to stay with family - unfortunately there was not enough room for us all!!!! The next morning after no sleep, we asked to speak to the manager, but we were told they were away until monday, the supervisor asked us to return after 12noon to arrange a refund, when we returned she was not there, again we asked to speak to management, but again we were told no one was available.
Although the beds had clean sheets on, the springs in the mattress caused red marks. The en-suite was basically a shower & toilet in a cupboard, the room smelt musty and the carpet had dirty marks over it. The family room is located directly above the busy and noisy bar. The toilet seat moved when you sat on it........... I could go on.................
We have emailed the manager and we have been informed that because no one else wanted the room on our second night we were not entitled to a part refund. He claims that we left the door open to our room and it is not his fault that other residents leave the front door open which leads directly to the bedrooms during the day.
From our experience the manager certainly does not respond well to negative feedback!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Renno2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Would just like to say how impressed we was with our stay at The Royal Clarence Hotel.We found our stay there to be comfortable and all the staff was very friendly.
The room its self was very clean and well stocked with tea and coffee facilities.
WiFi was available throughout the hotel.
We would recommended this hotel if you wanted a friendly run place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank sonia061268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

A friend had booked a twin room in this Hotel as it was conveniently situated for a wedding we were attending. I had looked on trip advisor, after she had booked, and seen the negative reviews, but hoped that things may have improved after a change in management - sadly, they hadn't. The room was very scruffy & grubby with a dirty carpet, the mattress on my bed had bed springs poking through, the bathroom was tiny and very old, with no soap or tolietries supplied, and had a bad smell coming up from the drains when you ran the water. The continental breakfast promised turned out to be cornflakes/ coco pops, a couple of loaves of bread and a toaster, and some orange juice, with a coffee/tea vending machine - not a croissant in sight :(
The bar below was very noisy, this was also the reception for the 'hotel', so we had to wait sometime to be checked in by the bar staff.
I would have liked to speak to a member of the management with my concerns, but there was no one available. If this had been a bargain price then I would have expected these problems, but at £75 for the room per night, am feeling a bit cheated. A friend of ours stayed in a double on the next floor up, and to be fair, this was a bit nicer than our room.
One good thing, free WiFi! I will never return

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hazel004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, Owner at The Royal Clarence Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2014
The Hotel has changed ownership since this guest stayed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcs
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We loved stay here,the room was comfortable and had lovely sea-view,all the staff were very helpful,hard working and friendly.Definately we will return,had a great time.Drinks are said to be the cheapest in somerset,thatchers on draught only £2.15 a pint!! Bargain.

Room Tip: Have a seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank suzie1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnham-On-Sea
2.1 mi away
The Sundowner Hotel
The Sundowner Hotel
#1 of 1 in Highbridge
21 reviews
4.1 mi away
Days Inn Sedgemoor M5
Days Inn Sedgemoor M5
#1 of 1 in Cheddar
611 reviews
7.8 mi away
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hotel
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hot...
#4 of 28 in Weston super Mare
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
#19 of 28 in Weston super Mare
584 reviews
6.6 mi away
Beachlands Hotel
Beachlands Hotel
#1 of 28 in Weston super Mare
424 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#5 of 13 in Burnham-On-Sea
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Clarence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Clarence Hotel

Property: The Royal Clarence Hotel
Address: 31 Esplanade, Burnham-On-Sea TA8 1BQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Burnham-On-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burnham-On-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Royal Clarence Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Adult-Only Royal Clarence Hotel was built in 1796 and retains much of its historic character. As the only hotel on the seafront in Burnham-on-Sea, guests can enjoy uninterrupted sea views across Bridgwater Bay to Wales and the North Devon coast.Our 19 en-suite rooms accommodate guests in a mix of single, twin, double and triple rooms, many with sea views.The comfortable Lounge Bar serves a large range of drinks at great prices. This hotel does not accept persons under 18. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your The Royal Clarence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Clarence Hotel Burnham-On-Sea, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing