We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great base of operations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sandy Glade Holiday Park
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great base of operations”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I went here with my wife, our two kids, my sister & her two kids a few weeks ago. We stayed in one of their Silver chalets. Service was great - we had a couple of evenings of the camp entertainment in the bar, used the shop a bit too. The shopkeeper was really helpful & when they didn't have what we needed because it was late & they were due to re-stock in the morning they let us know where we could find alternate suppliers close by, which I think deserves some kudos.

Entertainment-wise there was a flog-your-kids-a-cuddly-toy hard sell session, then something for the grown-ups each night. The first night it was cuddly foxes followed by a rather decent singer who belted out a wide range of tunes with enthusiasm & style. The other night it was bunnies & then a guy who juggles chainsaws and did a bit of a comedy act. They had a swimming pool which we used most days, which was reasonably big though never deep enough that you were more than belly-deep in the water, so the kids had plenty of fun. There's a beach across the road & through the dunes - we had a go at some sandcastles but it was a bit dry for those, but nice for sun-bathing. Weston, up the road a bit, was better for sandcastles.

From Sandy Glade we were within easy reach of Wookey Hole Caves, Weston-Super-Mare and Bath and Cheddar Gorge, so every day was a day trip for us, always something good to see or do.

The chalets are indeed a bit basic as other reviewers have said, but it's pretty cheap & cheerful & we had good neighbours that the kids got on with, & the booze in the shop was good & cheap so, all in all I couldn't fault it. Not what I'd usually go for but my wife & sis conspired & well, they were paying so I can't grumble. Good cheap holiday, glad I went.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Sandy Glade Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
What a wonderful review, thank you, we really appreciate it.

Your praise will mean so much to the management and staff at the park. They all work extremely hard to make everyone’s stay enjoyable.

We hope to welcome you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    164
    81
    58
    66
See reviews for
385
95
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We just spent 3 nights at Sandy Glade (Aug 30th 2013). Really clean apartment (Gold Chalet). Easy to park, spatial accommodation. Every member of staff I spoke to was very helpful and friendly and my children had a great time.

Only slight problem was the club house was packed and we had to get a seat by 6pm. Bar prices are also expensive (but aren't they always!) Also at times I felt the entertainment staff were 'filling' to get to certain time slots. However, they worked really hard and my kids loved it!

A great park and a lovely time. Thank you Sandy Glade!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ianandlisa2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Sandy Glade Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review.

Your comments have been passed to all departments, especially the housekeeping team, who will be delighted to hear your thoughts on the cleanliness of the caravan.

We really hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed for a long weekend. We stayed in a gold chalet which was very basic and the air fresheners were very strong. The entertainment was quite poor. We found some staff quite rude - whilst checking out at 10am there was a man at the bar reading a magazine who didnt acknowledge us. I would have expected reception to be properly manned at this time. There were no information packs in the chalets and no facility to give feedback about our break. We were glad the weekend was a good price but we dont feel you get value for money - we wouldnt have paid the brochure price.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isabellaprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Sandy Glade Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at our holiday park. We certainly do not ignore any constructive criticism and perhaps there are some areas that could be improved in the interest of future guests.

Your description of the gold chalet as "basic" is totally contrary to other reviews here, but we can all have different opions on the same subject.

Your comments have been passed on to all departments and we really hope that you will visit us again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stayed in a gold caravan and it was immaculate. Could not fault it at all. Stayed in a chalet earlier in year and it didnt compare. Chefs corner was dire, portions to small for a man. Would definately go again but stay in a gold caravan. A nice touch for those paying for a gold caravan would be a table and chairs outside would have been nice to sit out in the evenings.

Room Tip: Stay in a caravan, the strip of chalets on the main road are my idea of hell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WarwickshireBooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Sandy Glade Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you very much for leaving us such a fantastic review thank you, we really appreciate it. Your comments have been passed onto all departments.

Your praise will mean so much to the management and staff at the park. They all work extremely hard to make everyone’s stay enjoyable.

Our returning guests are so important to us and are the reason that we have been so successful for the past 60 years.

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Booked at last minute,,i went with my dad and my 3 children...the park itself is clean and tidy and i stayed in a bronze caravan and was very pleased as it was very clean and quite nice for a cheaper accomodation.My issue with the park is the facilities,,,the childrens park is in my eyes not a park...my daughter is 2 and had nothing to go on apart from one slide,,the rest is climbing apparatus. The swimming pool needs extending, there are no slides just a pool...and your not allowed inflatables etc in there,,so was a bit boring! The clubhouse itself is quite small,,out of 7 nights we got a seat only 3 of them,,,if u dont get down there by 6,,,u might aswell go back to your accomodation!!on the other hand the childrens entertainers are brilliant,,they do work hard and the bar staff were pleasent enough. If your looking for a site for things to do with your children in the day dont bother staying here,,,if you want a nice small relaxing holiday then its perfect..overall it wasnt a bad place but just ok.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dee717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Sandy Glade Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at our holiday park. We certainly do not ignore any constructive criticism and perhaps there are some areas that could be improved in the interest of future guests. You are quite correct about the clubhouse, it has become the victim of its own success. The entertainment is so popular that it can become a little crowded.

Your comments have been passed on to all departments and we really hope that you will visit us again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Booked a very last minute break here and got a good deal with an offer on the website which combined with a Facebook code. Was looking for a small park that would suit myself, teenage son, mother who has limited mobility and my niece 10 and nephew 6. From the website Sandy Glade seemed to fit the bill, then I read some very mixed reviews on here, so warned everyone not to expect much. What a surprise got there 1/2 hour before check in but our chalet was ready, number 95 a 2 bedroom silver chalet, with a sofa bed in the lounge. At check in I was warned that was limited parking outside the chalets but we managed to park there all week, in all fairness the car park was only a stones throw away, anyway The smell of cleaning fluid was a bit strong but disappeared once we opened the windows. The chalet was spotlessy clean and well equipped, beds including the sofa bed were comfy. Full size oven fridge freezer and microwave, nice selection of utensils and pots and pans,plenty of crockery. Beautiful grassy area just behind the chalet, with signs saying no ball games, but everyone's children were out there playing football, etc. and no-one complained. The adventure playground was just across the way and was a big hit with the children, as was the swimming pool, on one of our days it was busy when we arrived so we couldn't get in, but we just went back an hour later. It's not a fancy pool with slides etc, but there are a couple of fountains and a jacuzzi area, main pool is about 3 feet deep, so not suitable for non swimmers unsupervised but there was a small paddling pool too. Clubhouse again easy walking distance for mum, mixture of entertainment for the kids and adults, bingo every night and a couple of pool tables which suited the teen,ager drinks were reasonable too. Main thing I noticed about the site was how friendly everyone else, at the bar, reception, in the shop, at the pool, even had a long chat with the maintenance guy. I couldn't fault our stay, Sandy Glade ticked all the right boxes on this occasion. I wouldn't recommend it to people who like parks like Haven's Devon Cliffs for instance and there wasn't anything on site really for older children, young adults. My nephew announced that he didn't like chalets when we arrived at the end of the week he didn't want to go home, he'd had a fab time and made lots of friends, everyone drives very carefully around the site so I felt comfortable letting the children out with their scooters. I wouldn't hesitate to go back but would request a chalet that opened out onto the grassy area for preference.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Sandy Glade Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you very much for leaving us such a fantastic review, we really appreciate it. Your comments have been passed to all departments.

The park does not deserve poor reviews and thankfully they are few and far between. We simply do not understand why some people choose to post them, when all the staff work really hard to make everyone feel welcome. However, we are all individuals and we can all have vastly different opinions on the same subject.

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I stayed here about two years ago now in Dune house with my partners family, it was my first John Fowlers holiday but theyve been to many and their younger children and themselves love them as did I. The accommodation was great, site situated across from beach, small theme park and pubs down the road! We went swimming everyday enjoyed the arcade. The children loved the kids entertainment. We as adults hated ours but that's not the camps fault we went when it was country and western theme or cowboy week as we called it and everyone down there does it that time of year so if its not your thing dont go then but w. Are returning Sep 14 and very excited to do so!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belletsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Sandy Glade Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you very much for leaving us such a fantastic review thank you, we really appreciate it. Your comments have been passed onto all departments.

Your praise will mean so much to the management and staff at the park. They all work extremely hard to make everyone’s stay enjoyable.

Our returning guests are so important to us and are the reason that we have been so successful for the past 60 years.

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnham-On-Sea
4.1 mi away
Days Inn Sedgemoor M5
Days Inn Sedgemoor M5
#1 of 1 in Cheddar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
5.4 mi away
Seaward Hotel
Seaward Hotel
#26 of 28 in Weston super Mare
3.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Weston Super Mare Jct 22 M5 (Lympsham) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Royal Clarence Hotel
The Royal Clarence Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burnham-On-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
5.0 mi away
Premier Inn Weston-Super-Mare (Seafront) Hotel
Premier Inn Weston-Super-Mare (S...
#5 of 28 in Weston super Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
3.4 mi away
Burnham on Sea Holiday Park - Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Glade Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Glade Holiday Park

Property: Sandy Glade Holiday Park
Address: Coast Road | Berrow, Burnham-On-Sea TA8 2QX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Burnham-On-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Burnham-On-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandy Glade Holiday Park 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandy Glade Holiday Park is easy to reach, just fifteen minutes from the M5, yet puts you right on a great stretch of Somerset coast. You can enjoy the long, sandy beaches of both Berrow and Brean which are a short walk from the park. The beaches are famous for their sand dunes, which kids will love playing on, and you’ll find that Brean Sands is a perfect beach for sunbathing, playing in the sand or paddling into the water. This Burnham-on-Sea Holiday Park has plenty for you to do once you get here. Our adventure playground means that even when you’re not at the beach the kids won’t be bored, and our heated pool is great fun for the whole family. We also have a clubhouse with nightly entertainment and a cafe and takeaway to make your stay even easier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Sandy Glade Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Glade Holiday Park Hotel Burnham-On-Sea
Sandy Glade Holiday Park Burnham-On-Sea, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing