We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Holiday Ever!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sandy Glade Holiday Park
Reviewed April 6, 2013

This was our first time at a John Fowler holiday camp and it will not be our last. We returned home today after 7 nights with them. And never again will we book with any other company. The park was beautiful and clean. The accommodation was perfect and had everything we needed. Everything was close by, even walking distance, 10-15 minutes to fun fair which highly recommend. Everyone on the park was very friendly. Aaron, Debbie, Lauren & Tom (entertainment team) were fantastic and kept everyone entertained for the whole night. Have already book another holiday with them. If you want a great holiday then come here. They are one of the best and we have been to all the big named resorts in UK.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonBell79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Sandy Glade Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

What a wonderful 5 star review, thank you, we really appreciate it. Your comments have been passed onto all departments. As a first time visitor, you have now experienced that which our regular guests have been enjoying for years. Thank you so much for spreading the word.

We are extremely proud of our entertainments team this year, the effort they put in is amazing. They are all doing a brilliant job, and work extremely hard to ensure everyone has a great holiday.

We will look forward to welcoming you again later in the year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (632)
There are newer reviews for Sandy Glade Holiday Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

539 - 545 of 632 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2013

Firstly, this was only a £9.50 Sun getaway, so I wasn't expecting huge things. But, having paid to upgrade to a gold chalet, I was a little disappointed. One of the reasons for upgrading was that the Gold chalet came with a TV and DVD player. As my children have their favourite DVD's, I thought it would be an ideal way to kill an hour. However, the TV had a freeview box connected via a scart. The problem was, there was only 1 scart socket on the TV. So when the kids wanted to watch a DVD, it meant fiddling about to swap the scart lead over. Not a biggy, but several times I mentioned to reception that we were only getting a few TV channels, and even those were pretty poor reception. Whether this was related to scart swapping or not I don't know, but I've never experienced a TV system that cannot pick up a single BBC channel. Until now. I'd hate to think how poor the Bronze chalet we'd originally been booked into was.

Then there is the heated swimming pool. Heated???? With what exactly. Twice we dared to venture in there, and twice came out with a handsome dose of frostbite. I'd never seen that shade of blue in my own skin before. OK, I'm slightly exaggerating, but the pool was probably colder than the sea at the beach, so for John Fowler to advertise it as heated is a joke.

Unfortunately, it doesn't end there. The cafe on site made up the hours of opening as it went along. The first day we arrived, we decided to grab a bite to eat whilst we waitied for the chalet to be available. We took a seat only to be told they were closing due to an "electrical" fault. They re-opened later, but we had to venture off site for food. Everyday, it opened at different times. One day it was shut until 6pm, the next day it opened mid morning, and closed at 6pm. In the window, they were advertising what sounded like a tasty full english. That's great if they were actually open at breakfast time!!!

The shop on site was so expensive, you could easily justify the fuel to go to Tesco in Burnham. £2.89 for a 2 litre bottle of Coca Cola. Come on!!!

The arcade was like stepping back in time. Most of the machines were out of order at some point during the stay, and those that weren't were available on the Sega master system 25 years ago.

I left there this morning, and had to leave the key on reception. There was no early departure box, which amazed me. There was a young girl cleaning the arcade area who simply said leave it on the desk. Bizarre security practice!!

There was a plus side. The stripeys were excellent at entertaining the kids. Aaron, Tom, Lauren and Debbie really worked hard for the kids, and my daughters always had fun in the evenings taking part in the fun and games. They were first class, and a real credit to John Fowler holidays.

This is the first time at this resort, and will be the last, which is a shame as the surrounding area, such as the beach, was lovely. It would have been even lovelier had it not been for coldest Easter week on record, but I can't blame the park for that :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Sandy Glade Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

It was such a shame to read your remarks regarding your stay at our holiday park when most reviews paint a totally different picture. We are looking into your concerns in order that improvements may be made in the interest of future guests.

With regard to the TV, I have spoken to the manager and he is really disappointed that the problems were not dealt with immediately, as you can read in other reviews.

The swimming pool issue was beyond our control. We have just experienced the coldest March since 1962 and all our parks are struggling to raise the temperature of the pools to an acceptable level. The systems are designed to operate from March to October, but obviously not when we are experiencing such adverse conditions.

I am assured that the takeaway has been operating precisely as the published opening time list except for one day when, due to circumstances beyond their control, they were forced to close.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the entertainment and the local area. We are extremely proud of our entertainments team this year, the effort they put in is amazing. They are all doing a brilliant job, and work extremely hard to ensure everyone has a great holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night break and what a fab time we all had. This was a free holiday due to a horrendous time we had last year at illfracombe holiday park. There were 16 of us all staying in gold caravans which I highly recommend, they were all lovely and very clean.
There was plenty of entertainment for the children, the swimming pool was lovely ( just could have been a bit warmer), there was a lovely park and children enjoyed seeing the ducks that just wandered around the site.
The entertainment staff were fab, the children looked forward to going to see Freddie the fox and all the other characters at night, the entertainment staff worked hard, us adults even had fun.
I would highly recommend this park to anyone, lovely clean park, polite staff and lovely places to visit around the area.
Well done to everyone at Sandy Glade holiday park!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Sandy Glade Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

What a lovely review, thank you!

All our staff work really hard to ensure that all our guests have a great time and I will certainly pass your comments on to everyone, especially the housekeeping and entertainment teams.

I can see that this experience has changed your opinion of John Fowler Holidays and I feel confident that we will be welcoming you all to one of our parks in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We booked a 3 night stay in a 3 bed silver chalet & were disappointed at how basic it was. Having stayed in a mid range chalet at Pontins last year we expected a similar standard but sadly not. It was very cold outside & the one storage heater in the chalet just wasn't enough. We ended up on the first night huddled on the sofas wrapped in duvets. Eventually we put the oven on with the door open just to heat the chalet! We based what we brought with us on Pontins last year so didn't bring loo roll, washing up liquid, tea towels, dish cloth - none of these were provided so we had to buy it all in. The hob on the cooker was really dirty, the fridge was grubby inside, the table was sticky & the mugs & glasses were stuck to the shelves in the cupboards by sticky stuff. If this was a silver chalet I'd hate to see a basic or standard one!

On the plus side the entertainment was fun & it wasn't busy so we could get seats with no trouble. All things considered we won't book here again, it will be Pontins next time.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nuttydogwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Sandy Glade Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at our holiday park. We certainly do not ignore any constructive criticism and perhaps there are some areas that could be improved in the interest of future guests.

With regard to the heating, we are experiencing extreme weather conditions at the moment and to this end extra fires are normally available from reception. We provide a complimentary toilet roll on arrival, but the other items you mention are not usually part of a self-catering package.

Your comments have been passed on to all departments and the entertainers will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed their hard work.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

just back back from a super 5 days ,stripey coats Aaron ,Debbie,Lauren and Tom ,wow how hard they worked, if there could be an award in the olympics you guys would have been gold medalists.coun"dt fault them in any way ,Aaron and Lauren top class singers alone ,great quizzes,(lovely bottle of wine as a prize guys ) fun all the way ,love to you all will be back later on in the year

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diane h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Sandy Glade Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

What a wonderful review, thank you, we really appreciate it. Your comments have been passed onto all departments.

We are extremely proud of our entertainments team this year, the effort they put in is amazing. They are all doing a brilliant job, and work extremely hard to ensure everyone has a great holiday.

We hope to welcome you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I stayed here for a 7day holiday in which we cut short and ended up going home after 5 days the location was great, directly opposite the beach and walking distance from the town and nearby water parks and farm. The major let down for me was the chalet it smelt of wet dog and the floor was constantly damp and looked very dirty, and in all the time we were there we never received clean bed sheets, also the shower was high off the floor which I found dangerous having 2 small children. The on site amusement arcade could also do with abit of updating as most of the machines in there were outdated and broken. The only thing that kept me at the resort so long had to be the staff and the kids club both of which were fantastic staff were really friendly and always wore a smile the evening entertainment was also fantastic. I could not fault the staff or entertainment at all.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danitots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Sandy Glade Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

It was such a shame to read your remarks regarding your stay at our holiday park. However, we do not ignore negative reviews and your remarks are being passed on to the park manager so that improvements may be made in the interest of future guests.

I wonder if you informed the park manager of your displeasure while you were on the park - it is always so difficult to deal with the issues after you have returned home. I will be contacting you in order to discover precisely where you where staying.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We returned to Sandy Glades for a week at the end of October.

It was as good as the firs time! It was fantastic. There was the Halloween party and the Christmas party and the week was jam packed with high quality entertainment. The stripeys Debbie, Lauren and Aaron and Liam were fantastic as always.

Those who moan about the bingo on here i find very silly. If you don't like the bingo then don't go to the clubhouse until its finished or join in and your find the time goes alot faster!

The site is always spotless and when our power blew, We went to reception and someone was with us within the hour and sorted it for us and explained what to do if it happens again.

We still cannot fault this site in anyway. We will be returning again in June/July.

Thankyou Sandy Glades! Keep up the good work! xx

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xxx_Lozza_xxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Sandy Glade Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review.

Your comments have been passed to all departments, especially the entertainments and maintenance teams, who will be delighted to hear your thoughts.

We really hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnham-On-Sea
2.7 mi away
The Royal Clarence Hotel
The Royal Clarence Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burnham-On-Sea
182 reviews
5.7 mi away
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hotel
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hot...
#4 of 28 in Weston super Mare
386 reviews
4.1 mi away
Days Inn Sedgemoor M5
Days Inn Sedgemoor M5
#1 of 1 in Cheddar
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
#20 of 28 in Weston super Mare
622 reviews
5.3 mi away
Lauriston Hotel
Lauriston Hotel
#13 of 28 in Weston super Mare
257 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sandy Meadows Lodge Park
Sandy Meadows Lodge Park
#9 of 15 in Burnham-On-Sea
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Glade Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Glade Holiday Park

Address: Coast Road | Berrow, Burnham-On-Sea TA8 2QX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Burnham-On-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Burnham-On-Sea
Price Range: $27 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandy Glade Holiday Park 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandy Glade Holiday Park is easy to reach, just fifteen minutes from the M5, yet puts you right on a great stretch of Somerset coast. You can enjoy the long, sandy beaches of both Berrow and Brean which are a short walk from the park. The beaches are famous for their sand dunes, which kids will love playing on, and you’ll find that Brean Sands is a perfect beach for sunbathing, playing in the sand or paddling into the water. This Burnham-on-Sea Holiday Park has plenty for you to do once you get here. Our adventure playground means that even when you’re not at the beach the kids won’t be bored, and our heated pool is great fun for the whole family. We also have a clubhouse with nightly entertainment and a cafe and takeaway to make your stay even easier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Sandy Glade Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Glade Holiday Park Hotel Burnham-On-Sea
Sandy Glade Holiday Park Burnham-On-Sea, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing