We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sandy Glade Holiday Park
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We booked a 3 night stay in a 3 bed silver chalet & were disappointed at how basic it was. Having stayed in a mid range chalet at Pontins last year we expected a similar standard but sadly not. It was very cold outside & the one storage heater in the chalet just wasn't enough. We ended up on the first night huddled on the sofas wrapped in duvets. Eventually we put the oven on with the door open just to heat the chalet! We based what we brought with us on Pontins last year so didn't bring loo roll, washing up liquid, tea towels, dish cloth - none of these were provided so we had to buy it all in. The hob on the cooker was really dirty, the fridge was grubby inside, the table was sticky & the mugs & glasses were stuck to the shelves in the cupboards by sticky stuff. If this was a silver chalet I'd hate to see a basic or standard one!

On the plus side the entertainment was fun & it wasn't busy so we could get seats with no trouble. All things considered we won't book here again, it will be Pontins next time.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nuttydogwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Sandy Glade Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at our holiday park. We certainly do not ignore any constructive criticism and perhaps there are some areas that could be improved in the interest of future guests.

With regard to the heating, we are experiencing extreme weather conditions at the moment and to this end extra fires are normally available from reception. We provide a complimentary toilet roll on arrival, but the other items you mention are not usually part of a self-catering package.

Your comments have been passed on to all departments and the entertainers will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed their hard work.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (632)
There are newer reviews for Sandy Glade Holiday Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

542 - 548 of 632 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

just back back from a super 5 days ,stripey coats Aaron ,Debbie,Lauren and Tom ,wow how hard they worked, if there could be an award in the olympics you guys would have been gold medalists.coun"dt fault them in any way ,Aaron and Lauren top class singers alone ,great quizzes,(lovely bottle of wine as a prize guys ) fun all the way ,love to you all will be back later on in the year

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diane h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Sandy Glade Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

What a wonderful review, thank you, we really appreciate it. Your comments have been passed onto all departments.

We are extremely proud of our entertainments team this year, the effort they put in is amazing. They are all doing a brilliant job, and work extremely hard to ensure everyone has a great holiday.

We hope to welcome you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I stayed here for a 7day holiday in which we cut short and ended up going home after 5 days the location was great, directly opposite the beach and walking distance from the town and nearby water parks and farm. The major let down for me was the chalet it smelt of wet dog and the floor was constantly damp and looked very dirty, and in all the time we were there we never received clean bed sheets, also the shower was high off the floor which I found dangerous having 2 small children. The on site amusement arcade could also do with abit of updating as most of the machines in there were outdated and broken. The only thing that kept me at the resort so long had to be the staff and the kids club both of which were fantastic staff were really friendly and always wore a smile the evening entertainment was also fantastic. I could not fault the staff or entertainment at all.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danitots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Sandy Glade Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

It was such a shame to read your remarks regarding your stay at our holiday park. However, we do not ignore negative reviews and your remarks are being passed on to the park manager so that improvements may be made in the interest of future guests.

I wonder if you informed the park manager of your displeasure while you were on the park - it is always so difficult to deal with the issues after you have returned home. I will be contacting you in order to discover precisely where you where staying.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We returned to Sandy Glades for a week at the end of October.

It was as good as the firs time! It was fantastic. There was the Halloween party and the Christmas party and the week was jam packed with high quality entertainment. The stripeys Debbie, Lauren and Aaron and Liam were fantastic as always.

Those who moan about the bingo on here i find very silly. If you don't like the bingo then don't go to the clubhouse until its finished or join in and your find the time goes alot faster!

The site is always spotless and when our power blew, We went to reception and someone was with us within the hour and sorted it for us and explained what to do if it happens again.

We still cannot fault this site in anyway. We will be returning again in June/July.

Thankyou Sandy Glades! Keep up the good work! xx

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xxx_Lozza_xxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Sandy Glade Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review.

Your comments have been passed to all departments, especially the entertainments and maintenance teams, who will be delighted to hear your thoughts.

We really hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Took my two daughters here in July, I have stayed at similar parks before (first time with John Fowler).

The budget / bronze accomodation is not in need of updating or refurbishment - they need to be knocked down, threadbare carpets, cold, very very basic kitchen, toilet that appeared to have once been 'outside' but now inside, a shower that has similar pressure to that of a Waterbut and uncomfortable beds with linen that has been washed and reused within an inch of its life ( faded thin fabric - not do much a sheet as a voile).

For the same money we could have got much better elsewhere, a great deal of investment is needed to bring this in line with anything vaguely resembling 'basic or budget' standards.

There were only two plus points;
Friendly staff
Good location for visiting tourist attractions

A poor relation to Butlins, Parkdean or Hoseasons - the accomodation seemed to have been last updated in the mid seventies.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sussexsassenach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick J, Guest Relations Manager at Sandy Glade Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

It was such a shame to read your remarks regarding your stay at our holiday park.

If the park was really as bad as you say then thousands of families would not return to us year after year.

We are a family business, having been in existence for well over 50 years. We are well renowned for our customer service and this is borne out in our extremely high repeat bookings – we can boast clients who have been with us for up to 30 years.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Just arrived back home after our weeks stay at Sandy Glade, It was our first visit to this park and we were very impressed with the chalet ( no. 20 ) we stayed in, the only fault we found, which we failed to let you know about, was the heater in the shower/toilet didn't work. The entertainment and chefs corner take away were first class, we were in the club house every night and loved every minute. We will definately think about coming back but next time we'll come in the summertime as weather wasn't so good, but that isn't sandy glades fault. Thank you all for a great time

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick J, Guest Relations Manager at Sandy Glade Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

What a wonderful review, thank you, we really appreciate it.

Your praise will mean so much to the management and staff at the park. They all work extremely hard to make everyone’s stay enjoyable.

We hope to welcome you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

thank you all your holiday park is the best we have gone to as my grandson is in a wheelchair and you all made him welcome and let him join in and let him sing too thank you for a great holiday you all made as all welcome thank you again see you all next year xxxxx

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leila l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick J, Guest Relations Manager at Sandy Glade Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review.

Your comments have been passed on to all departments, especially the entertainments team, who will be delighted to hear your thoughts.

We really hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnham-On-Sea
2.7 mi away
The Royal Clarence Hotel
The Royal Clarence Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burnham-On-Sea
182 reviews
5.7 mi away
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hotel
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hot...
#4 of 28 in Weston super Mare
385 reviews
4.1 mi away
Days Inn Sedgemoor M5
Days Inn Sedgemoor M5
#1 of 1 in Cheddar
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
#20 of 28 in Weston super Mare
622 reviews
5.3 mi away
Lauriston Hotel
Lauriston Hotel
#13 of 28 in Weston super Mare
257 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sandy Meadows Lodge Park
Sandy Meadows Lodge Park
#9 of 15 in Burnham-On-Sea
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Glade Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Glade Holiday Park

Address: Coast Road | Berrow, Burnham-On-Sea TA8 2QX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Burnham-On-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Burnham-On-Sea
Price Range: $27 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandy Glade Holiday Park 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandy Glade Holiday Park is easy to reach, just fifteen minutes from the M5, yet puts you right on a great stretch of Somerset coast. You can enjoy the long, sandy beaches of both Berrow and Brean which are a short walk from the park. The beaches are famous for their sand dunes, which kids will love playing on, and you’ll find that Brean Sands is a perfect beach for sunbathing, playing in the sand or paddling into the water. This Burnham-on-Sea Holiday Park has plenty for you to do once you get here. Our adventure playground means that even when you’re not at the beach the kids won’t be bored, and our heated pool is great fun for the whole family. We also have a clubhouse with nightly entertainment and a cafe and takeaway to make your stay even easier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Sandy Glade Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Glade Holiday Park Hotel Burnham-On-Sea
Sandy Glade Holiday Park Burnham-On-Sea, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing