We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“September Splendor!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burnham-On-Sea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lakeside Holiday Park
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“September Splendor!!!”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Here we are once again for 2012. We're staying in the famous 53, which is like a home from home to us, we found the caravan to be SPOTLESS. The linen we hired has no rips or isn't dirty and is clean and crisp. The reception staff aren't rude, as someone previously said on here, maybe Kate has recognised us over the 5 years we've been coming, as we haven't had any problems and seem to get on with her. Also the bar and entertainment staff seem polite enough and aren't as bad as people falsely claim (but what do you expect if you take your own food in The Boathouse), we also get on with Dan. The only problem we have is the tokens in the laundry, which are difficult to insert. The entertainment has been good as always, and the food to be of good value. We have no complaints about the basics on sale in reception, as we would sooner support the site. We spent Sunday afternoon on the sea front in Burnham and enjoyed the sunshine. The BARB lifeboat station is open Sundays, and made a contribution to the collection. We went to Brean Down to the beach and the bird garden where various birds were happy to pose for many photos, although Cocky wasn't in a talkative mood! We paid a visit to the Beachcomber Complex, and plan to visit the scenic Berrow beach and Rich's Cider Farm. There are many places in and around Burnham to explore. All in all you get what you pay for at Lakeside, and we would rather stay here than at HMP Pontins!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debi1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wlpark, Public Relations Manager at Lakeside Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Hi - Thank you so much for your comments. We are so glad you enjoyed your holiday with us & that you found everything at Lakeside of a good standard. Thanks also for your comments on the laundry tokens, it is always good to get feedback on little things like this from our customers - when we close for the season, we will have a look into this & see if we can rectify the problem - Please also remember that we are more than willing to come & help in future if you have any problems like this again! See you next year - Best Wishes from Lakeside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    71
    34
    17
    10
See reviews for
140
46
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham,Berkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed here for 5 days & have just arrived home yesterday,firstly the caravans are lovely,we stayed in a "gold 8 berth",we are a family of 6 & there were plenty of room for us all,had everything we needed for our stay.The beeds are really comfortable,plenty of extra blankets as the kids felt cold at night.

There is a shop on site which sells the basic's like bread,milk,toilet rolls.But very near by there is a Tesco's & also a morrisons,for anything else you need.

The boat house where the entertainment is very small,in my oppinon was to small for the size of the complex.

My husband booked as he wanted to fish,well he went fishing almost everyday day and eve,& all he caught was a wooping 2 fish so he wasnt to happy,there is a fishing competition every Thursday,but no one was catching anything,so didnt really see the point,dont go here if you are going just to catch fish as its a waste of money,there were other familys which were there for 7 days,& they didnt catch either.

The town & beach itself is a short walk away,But while we were there a little 4 year old boy fell of the jetty and drowned.

************************************ BEACH,BE VERY CAREFUL **********************************
The beach is sandy,but there are WARNINGS that there is a strong under currant & SINKING SAND at low tide,the water is more muddy than anything else. The tide goes out very quickly,the fastest ive seen,& with what happened with the little boy be very carefull if you have small children,my children are 7,10,11,& 15 & the after math of the little boy didnt want to go to the beach,as at the time there were lots of people still searching for his body,& waiting for it to be washed ashore,& as a mother & father we didnt want to be on or near the beach if that happened,& luckily we were on the complex when this happened.

Brean lesiure park was a good day out wrist bands are £20 & you can go on all the rides if you are over 1.2 meters,& as many times as you like,the fair ground opens at 11 am,there is a pub there where you can eat & also a wimpy which is reasonable in price,the location is only about a 10 min drive from Lakside,so not far at all,& if you like seafood,get a prawn cocktail on the way out,it was lovely,looked more like a cocktail.

There is a swimming pool which was good,a bit small but my kids didnt complain.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tracy_streich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wlpark, Public Relations Manager at Lakeside Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Hi - Thanks for your comments, we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our caravans & your stay here.
I am sorry you had bad luck with your fishing however we can inform you that Lakeside's Lake is in fact extremely well stocked with fish. Lakeside has had a Fisheries Survey conducted in which it was reported that our lake is ''well stocked & balanced''. It may be helpful for us to note that Lakeside is a natural lake & so fishing standards are fairly challenging. It is not the same as a commercial fishery, which lends it self well to beginners. Many of our guests as well as fishing at Lakeside, visit Emerald Pools Fishery which is close by to us for a different fishing experience. This is a commercial fishery & we would recommend it to any of guests as well as trying out fishing our lake. Best Wishes from Lakeside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We wanted a change this year from the big, over the top caravan parks and opted for lakeside as the brochure was very appealing. We were not disappointed, our Premier caravan was large, immaculate and the park itself was small and clean. A welcoming pack awaited us as we arrived and had loads of information about the park, the area, local amenities and a lovely little story of the history of burnham. The outdoor pool looked inviting but unfortunately we didn't have the weather, so we did hire the bikes a few times - but when we cycled down to the beach front we werent allowed to ride them! The clubhouse was small and the bar staff and park team were very pleasant and kept us entertained with many quizzes and games. Food was good and reasonably priced but the site could do with a small shop as the little offering they had in reception wasn't very good. Overall we were very pleased with our holiday and would definetly stay again.

Room Tip: DO NOT FEED THE GEESE!!! the welcoming pack is right, they won't leave you alone
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank georgieWalesUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wlpark, Public Relations Manager at Lakeside Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments. We are so very glad you enjoyed your holiday with us and got exactly what Lakeside is all about! Thanks also for your comments on our shop, we shall keep them in mind and review this at the end of the season. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Best Wishes from all at Lakeside.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2012

I booked the break through Hoseasons and was not very impressed with Lakeside Holiday Park and won't be returning. The caravan wasn't particularly clean and a chair in the main area had obviously been too close to the gas fire and was badly scorched. One of the sheets given to us had holes in it and the pillows were terrible and stained.

The caravan was right next to the childrens play area and there was a shelter for smokers unfortunately this acted like a magnet for young folks at night time. I had to go out on two occasions after 10:00pm to ask folks to be quiet.

Parking was difficult and the caravans were far too close to each other.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glenn_langham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wlpark, Public Relations Manager at Lakeside Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your break at Lakeside. Here at Lakeside we have an extremely good household team, that always keep our caravans to a high standard of cleanliness. Our linen is delivered to us by a professional cleaning company, all freshly cleaned and ironed and we have never had any previous problems with the standard of this. We always aim to please and if you had any cause to complain we would have happily addressed any issues that you had, if you had brought them to our attention. We have no record of any maintenance issues reported to us or any comments received from you on our feedback forms, we would have happily given you another set of laundry and resolved the problem if you felt your caravan was below standard for you.

We do not have 'smoking shelters' only picnic tables by the play area and sadly we can not police who chooses to smoke! Lakeside is a family holiday park & on nice evenings will have children who will stay out later and play as they are on holiday. Families are requested to be aware of noise and to be quiet after 11.00pm as a courtesy to others.

We are sorry that you experienced some problems but advise in future if this should happen that you bring it to the attention of the staff on the park, so that they can resolve your issues to give you an enjoyable rest of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Had a nice stay here ,caravan was clean and comfy although we did have a view of bins next to our window! Not the best view.The pool is always good for the kids ,and also the location is good being near the sea front.The club house is good and has nice food.Although as any of the public can come onto the site mainly the club house it can get really busy and over crowded not enough tables etc.I dont think this is fair because we paid for a carvan ,pool,club house and entertainment.The club house and entertainment we didn't get on most days because of the public coming.I think it should just be for the people who are staying on the site.Also the games room needs an update.Overall had a nice time but these points should be taken up!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AsshhleyBarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wlpark, Public Relations Manager at Lakeside Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Hi - We are glad you had an enjoyable stay & found the pool and location to your liking. We are sorry to hear that you found the Clubhouse overcrowded at the time of your stay. We are sure this was just due to the high volume of people staying with us on Park when you visited. During peak season, we experience the highest volume of guests so things can get a bit busier than the rest of the year & we apologies if you found this. We advise customers to come to the Clubhouse early to avoid disappointment! The Clubhouse is a large room & we do not normally have this problem, we hope that if you return you will be able to enjoy a good evening out with us.
Thanks also for your comments on the Arcade, we will certainly look into this at the close of season. We are only a small arcade, however we do try to update the machines annually & shall review this.
Thanks very much, we hope to see you again, Best wishes from Lakeside.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I thought this was a great caravan loads of room in the main areas of the dining and living room area. The rooms were just enough in size but very good as fitted out well, the shower was surprisingly good, it was just two of us staying but it had another 2 twin rooms and a sofa bed so next time we go and we will some friends are coming with us. The location is great close to the seafront and a short drive to Cheddar Gorge or Wookey Hole. The club house had a lovely bar and also did take away meals as well as an eat in option. Next time I go I will be taking some home essentials though such as toilet roll and some kitchen bits like tea towels as these are not provided, other then that a happy break and would recommend to others

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suant1901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wlpark, Public Relations Manager at Lakeside Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thanks so much for your comments, we are glad you had an enjoyable stay and liked the area, we look forward to seeing you again in the future, Best Wishes from Lakeside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Myself & my partner have just returned from a midweek break at the Lakeside.
Reception was small but quiet so only 3 minutes to check us in and provide us with all the necessary information required. (Maps, local toursit attractions)
The Caravn park itself is only small, quiet and not a lot going on, but this is what we expected and wanted. The caravan (190) was perfect, spotless, and provided all the necessary utensils we needed for our break.
The onsite Boat House was reasonabley priced, as was the food.
Bingo every evening, followed by quiz and onwards entertainment.
People need to be aware this is not a Pontins/Haven holiday park therefore is alot smaller & quiter, families are welcome & so are older people but all wanted to enjoy there holiday together.
Overall a lovely break(sunshine helped) I have no idea why people are moaning, there expectataion are obvisiouly just too high!!
We will be back xx

Room Tip: 190 upgrade is well worth it, luxury caravan and a small supplement!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sallyMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Lakeside Holiday Park, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments. We are so pleased to hear you had a good holiday at Lakeside. Thank you for sharing your comments, it is always nice to hear a happy customer! We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Best Wishes from all at Lakeside.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnham-On-Sea
0.5 mi away
The Royal Clarence Hotel
The Royal Clarence Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burnham-On-Sea
173 reviews
3.6 mi away
Days Inn Sedgemoor M5
Days Inn Sedgemoor M5
#1 of 1 in Cheddar
613 reviews
3.8 mi away
Rookery Manor
Rookery Manor
#1 of 1 in Edingworth
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Burnham on Sea Holiday Park - Haven
2.5 mi away
Sandy Glade Holiday Park
Sandy Glade Holiday Park
#4 of 14 in Burnham-On-Sea
586 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#5 of 13 in Burnham-On-Sea
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Holiday Park

Property: Lakeside Holiday Park
Address: Westfield Road, Burnham-On-Sea, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Burnham-On-Sea
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Burnham-On-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Lakeside Holiday Park Hotel Burnham-On-Sea
Lakeside Holiday Park Burnham-On-Sea, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing