We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely caravan park”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burnham-On-Sea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Burnham on Sea Holiday Park - Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2012

stayed here for the weekend in august friday until monday
we booked a superior caravan 3 bedrooms
the caravan was beautiful, lovely and clean which had a glass patio set outside in which we could use thank goodness the weather was great. the caravan was in the medip close area which was very quite and we had loads of space either side of the caravan so that our children could have a really fun time running about.
they have a pizza place, a shop and the mash and barrel restaurant but no fish shop lovely arcade area for the children with loads of 2p machines which was lovely and cool we found the showbar was very very warm during the evening shows i dont think the air con was working it will cost you £12.80 for a jug of lager and £2 for a coke there is a coke machine in the showbar and its only £1.50 for a bottle so if you want to save some money buy from the machine . one night we even had a lift off the security staff in their golf buggy back home to our caravan which my son thought it was fantastic
we visited the inddor pool which was nice the only problem was the water was really really cold so we went to the outdoor pool and found it was loads warmer than the indoor one which was really strange overall the park is lovely with loads of things to do and would be returning

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benny42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,086)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

988 - 994 of 1,086 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2012

We returned from a 4 night holiday at this Haven site last night (17/08) and we wish we had booked longer! We booked a superior caravan for 7 of us, myself, fiance, his mum and our 4 children (aged between 3-6!).

On arrival at the caravan, we were told it wasn't quite ready but it would be in 30 minutes, so we could have a wonder around and get our bearings before heading to the caravan. The whole of the site was clean and tidy, there was no rubbish lying around.

We got to our caravan which was only a short walk away from all the amenities. The caravan was lovely and tidy, and plenty big enough for the 7 of us. The bedrooms were a bit tight but at the end of the day, it's a caravan... If you want a room with a decent amount of storage space and space around the bed, book a hotel!!! We had two bathrooms - one with just a toilet and the other with a toilet and shower, which made it so much easier! My fiance and I had the pull-out sofa bed in the main living area and it did us for the week.

We ate at the Mash and Barrel only once - we took the opportunity to dine before 5pm and we got 25% off the main bill (excluding children's meals but their's were cheap enough). We ordered and the food didn't take too long to arrive at all. All the meals were lovely and piping hot, and were all decent portion sizes. We also had desert after our meal, which arrived quickly. There was only one confusion with the pudding with one of the sticky toffee puddings coming with custard instead of ice cream but this was easily rectified.

We went to the show bar on every evening of our stay, except Thursdays (mainly because there were no tables or seats.). We only stayed until 8.30pm due to having small children but the entertainment we saw was good and all the children enjoyed themselves! They loved going for a dance every evening and in particular, loved the pantomime on Wednesday night!!

To get to the show bar, you have to walk through the arcade where there are a lot of machines to distract children. It could prove pricey but we limited it to a few 2p's an evening which kept them more than happy.

We used the outdoor pool twice, it was good for the kids and they loved the slide in the smaller paddling pool. The indoor pool was also good, the kids loved the slide and the mushroom waterfall - we couldn't drag them out!

We never used any of the other entertainment things like the water walkers, swan lake or archery, etc. These were all at an additional charge but we never got round to it!
The beach at Burnham is only a 2 minute walk through the park, we were able to walk down the promenade to the shops. There is a Spar shop on site which we use but there is also a Morrisons just 2 minutes down the road as well.

Places like Cheddar Gorge, Wookey Hole, Weston-Super-Mare, etc are only a short journey away, it really is a fab base to explore!

We will definitely be returning!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Just come home from a weeks holiday at Haven Burnham, had a fantasic time. Yes, it's not a relaxing holiday and yes I never had a moment to myself plus the weather was typically english (rain and sunny intervals). But the KIDS had an absolutly fantastic time (and that is what it's all about). Out party consisted of 6 Adults, 2 teenagers, 4 kids and 2 infants. There was plenty of activity for all age ranges, which was a godsend and saved us spending money on outside the complex. We all watched the circus, the wrestling, booked water jets and water gliders, hired a buggy cycle, went to the showbar most nights and the kids went to the kids clubs.

In my family we had 2 adults and 4 children, we had a basic 3 bedroom caravan and it was adequate for our needs. Yes, it was dead luxurious and did lack storage but we wasn't in it that often, it was clean and tidy and the beds were comfortable. So NO complaints.

The beach at Burnham is not a 'sandy' beach and we normally holiday in North Deven so this aspect we missed. But we drive to Lyme Regis (which took about 45 minutes) and they have a lovely sandy beach.

Would reccommend Haven to any family looking for a holiday that is all about the KIDS! I would not go to a Haven site if it was just me and my partner.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for! Basic = Costs less (but is clean and tidy)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

What can i say another great week at Haven Burnham on sea. they are doing a lot to the site to keep it up to date they have changed the evening entertainment so its not reptative, couple of the extra things they have put on like the swan boats are very expensive £10 for half an hour and it was only round the small lake /pond. around and about just a 5 minute walk to the town where their is a morrisons with loads of offers on all week a lot cheaper than the spar on site weston-super-mare is just a 8 mile away either by car or by bus, Brean leisure park is even closer and its a great fair wrist band £20 all day just pick the right day that the fair is open all day so you can pop back after you have been on the beach. at the end of brean their is brean down about 125 steps then a magnificent walk to the end where their is a fort pick the right day and its fab.Not far away is Wells Cathedral, Wokey hole cheddar George.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kwikyrag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Myself the wife and our 2 children aged 3 & 6 stayed at this park for the first time at the park 4th – 11th August. We have stayed at other haven sites previously but never this one. Our caravan was privately owned and was v clean on arrival. Initial impressions of the park were clean and tidy and this was present throughout. Weather wasn’t great to begin with but the array of activities for children kept our kids happy and occupied & if you have kids you will know this is of high importance!! The night time entertainment was perfect for our kids age and they thoroughly enjoyed it. Shaneo the manager of the blue coats was great and you can see why the kids love him, he is very good at his job. We generally didn’t stay past 2030 as we like to get our kids to bed so can’t comment on the more adult entertainment. We had breakfast in the Mash and Barrell once and found this good value and decent food. The indoor pool is smaller than those of the other Haven sites we have stayed in with just one slide. The outdoor pool is big but of course you need the weather! The other outdoor activities were good and my son enjoyed the quad bike in particular. The beach is close and we spent 2 full days on there at the end of the week when the sun came out to play which the kids loved. In all we had a great stay and are already looking at going back next year.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

stayed in top of the range carvan looking over the lake, with family,6 of us,great site clean,friendly staff,lots of things to do on site,ive been to many haven sites and i think this is one of the best ,it is smaller than some but really lovely tree lined and well kept,very close to beach and shops,my 80 year old dad was happy local asda was close,we all would go back again

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Went here a few weeks ago - our first holiday as a family since 2005! - so the kids were very excited.

We arrived a bit early than expected so we went to see if we could check in any earlier. We were told that the Caravan was not yet ready but we were quite welcome to make use of the facilities and they would ring us as soon as it was. I asked about an upgrade and was told that they only had prestige caravans left,I said this was fine but when the receptionist checked she said there were none left?!

We decided to get something to eat from the Mash and Barrel on site,the food was no more expensive than what you'd pay for pub grub any where else imo. We had a 20 minute wait for food and when it came the portions were quite small.I started eating and found my chicken was black inside! I sent it back and while I was waiting for a new meal I discovered the cause was the cutlery-in the groves of the knife was black muck! I pointed this out to the waitress when she returned with a new meal but she made some sort of no committal noise and walked off again. Needless to say we didn't bother eating there again during our holiday.

When it was time to go to our caravan we were very disappointed,I'd paid for a superior caravan but superior it wasn't. Barely any space in the bedrooms,bed was solid to the floor in the main bedroom so no where to store suitcases in there. Same for the twin room . Tiny wardrobes. Hardly any cupboard space throughout in fact. Bathroom was a joke,you sat on the loo and your knees touched the opposite wall.Beds were awful,you could feel every spring,the poor kids ended up sleeping on the seats in the living room in the eand-and even that didn't turn in a bed properly! The caravan was nothing like it appeared to be in the photo's you see on the website.Husband went again to reception twice over the course of the holiday to upgrade but we were not able to.

Only went to the show bar twice,entertainment was not brilliant and the drinks were very expensive,also to get to the show bar (and pool/park/restaurant/sports pitches etc) you have to walk through the 'funworks' area which is arcade machines,we must have easily spent a small fortune collecting the tickets over the week for the kids to come away with a slinky and some sweets at the end of it.

The spar is over priced,there's a Morrisons 5 mins away or an Asda in Highbridge so I'd recommend going there.

Papa Johns Pizza was expensive but very tasty and they deliver to your Caravan!

The pool is dated and not that big,the outdoor pool was open but it was freezing.The changing areas are communal so be aware. The pool and changing rooms were clean.

Go Karts,archery,water walkers etc will all cost extra.

Fishing lake is nice for a walk around. The beach is literately 2 mins away but it's at the mouth of a river so not a lot of sand but lots of mud! 5 mins walk up to Burnham town with all the usual tat shops,ice creams and amusements.

We visited Wookey Hole,Cheddar George,Dunster Castle and Weston Super Mare which were all good days out (a Cheddar George explorer ticket is valid for 10 years after purchase)

We checked out a day early,we'd just had enough.

A lovely part of the country but if we visit again it wont be to Burnham on Sea Holiday Village.

Room Tip: Do not be fooled by 'Superior ' as it really isnt,pay a bit more and hopefully you'll ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsK3911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnham-On-Sea
0.6 mi away
The Royal Clarence Hotel
The Royal Clarence Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burnham-On-Sea
188 reviews
8.3 mi away
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hotel
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hot...
#4 of 28 in Weston super Mare
397 reviews
8.7 mi away
Anchor Head Hotel
Anchor Head Hotel
#17 of 28 in Weston super Mare
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
3.4 mi away
Sandy Glade Holiday Park
Sandy Glade Holiday Park
#5 of 15 in Burnham-On-Sea
639 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Old Rectory
The Old Rectory
#1 of 1 in Brean
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burnham on Sea Holiday Park - Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burnham on Sea Holiday Park - Haven

Address: Marine Drive, Burnham-On-Sea TA8 1LA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Burnham-On-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Burnham-On-Sea
Hotel Class:4 star — Burnham on Sea Holiday Park - Haven 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Burnham On Sea Holiday Park Hotel Burnham-On-Sea
Burnham On Sea Holiday Park - Haven Burnham-On-Sea, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing