We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“haven burnham-on-sea”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burnham-On-Sea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Burnham on Sea Holiday Park - Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2012

although the caravan was clean the furniture and carpets were stained and worn. we had a 3 bed caravan but the beds are not full size, the single beds are like sleeping in a fish finger and only fit for a small child.. the site was clean and well kept. but to get anywhere you had to go through the amusements which was a pain... the food in the cafe/bar was very pricey costing £3.95 for a sandwich and a few chips.. there's no fish and chip or hotdog bar and only pizza available.. the entertainment in the showbar was very good for the children but rubbish for adults.. if it's raining there's only the amusements and the indoor swimming pool which is very small and was packed because there's nothing else to do in bad weather..

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank lainey133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,036 - 1,042 of 1,108 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2012

A week prior to to our trip we were contacted by Haven to say that our booking for a Platinum caravan at Doniford Bay could not be honoured as the new caravans hadn't yet arrived. We were offered a Prestige at Doniford or a full refund. However looking at BoS we thought that this site looked a better option so we negotiated a nearly new Prestige caravan at this site for a week.

On arrival we were given a set of keys and happily trotted of to to find the caravan. On opening the door there was very little said as the caravan looked dated. The carpets and curtains were frayed, walls dirty and the list just goes on. Anyway I get on the phone to Haven (a premium rate number mind you! Clever these buggers aren't they, knowing that your going to call them from a mobile) and fair play to them, within 30 mins we were in a much better and obviously newer caravan.

The site itself was very well kept but our gripes are similar to others on this forum. The indoor pool isn't fit for purpose on a site of this size. It was too over crowded and there wasn't a cat in Hellas chance you could actually do any swimming in it! The changing rooms weren't great either. They were chaotic, messy and the lockers were damaged with keys being put onto standard wristbands instead of of the proper rubber watch type straps. A bit picky maybe but this meant the key kept digging into my daughter when I was picking her up!

Looking at the invoice for our van for this week, this holiday should have cost us just over £1000. I think if you are going to pay this much then all the site facilities should be included. Ie kart hire etc. or at the very least giving each caravan a certain amount of vouchers etc to use these things. Paying this sort of money for a week and then having to constantly be putting your hand in your pocket for extras is awful.

We go abroad normally so that we are guaranteed the better weather and even with the flights and accommodation etc we would probably spend no more that this has cost us and we have so much more fun in the pools and warm sea, enjoying the different cuisines etc.

We left the site 2 days early as we couldn't stand it any longer and this was our first and certainly our last holiday of this kind.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bodminman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Went for a week long holiday in May and am trying to convince all my family to come back with me! The Park is easy to find and is exceptionally clean. Check in was really good and a big thumbs up should go to April in reception for moving us to caravan closer to the amenities as we had no car available to us. (The nearest train station is Highbridge and Burnham and is about 5mins away from the park by taxi). The caravan was exceptional for the money we paid and the utensils provided were clean and there was plenty of it. The on-site shop is a touch expensive but there is a Morrisons about 5min walk away with everything you need for a self catering trip. We were situated in Steart Close which is near the tuition lake so there lots of different birds around which was lovely for the children we travelled with. I only had one complaint while I was there about some night time nosie from neighbouring vans but this was dealt with quickly. The are lots of lovely places in Burnham to eat we ate in the Hungry Horse and had a decent takeaway from the local chinese restaurant. We also ate in the Mash and Barrel on site and whilst the food was good I found it a touch expensive. As for the other facilities the showbar, pool and arcades were all as expected and we had no problem with any of these while we were here. I would go back in a heartbeat, my daughter loved it and so did I!

Room Tip: Book the best accomodation you can afford, it definately worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank purpleruby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Went for a Mon-Fri break on the 28th May 2012. This was our second visit having first gone in 2007. We had paid for a 2 bedroom prestige caravan and asked to be located near to the fishing lake as my husband is a fisherman. Well we couldnt have been any closer without being in one the lakeside caravans (which by the way are surrounded by bird poo!). We were in Mendip close which was an 8 minute walk so approx close to half a mile from the entertainment complex. Caravan was superb and was a 2011 model. It was clean, beds made up for arrival and for the first time ever we were in a caravan with huge bedrooms plus the main one had an en-suite. Compared to other areas of the park this was a quiet location with the caravans nicely spread out. On walking around all over the site I was impressed that there was only around 25(ish) caravans which looked really old, not bad for a site with 700 caravans. The only area I personally would not want to be in was Brentview and parts of Quantock close as the caravans were quite close together and you could hear the rigging on the boats in the marina knocking around in the wind.

Swimming pool was open 9am to 1pm then 2pm to 4.45pm/6pm depending of time of year. Only gripe here was that there was only 2 family changing rooms which is quite bad for a family park. Fishing on the two lakes was £7 day, £17 3 days & £25 week. My husband caught 2 carp while there so worth fishing. Boating lake open 11am to 5pm but the boats are £10 for 30 minutes which is steep. The karts for pedelling around the site are anything from £4 to £15 and you can have them for 30 mintues or an hour. Bowling is £2 per person and you get around 10 goes each for that. The entertainment complex comprimises the Papa Johns pizza, arcade, Mash & Barrell restaurant,nightly entertainment room and access to the swimming pools, kids park, tennis court, sports court, crazy golf and climbing tower. Arcade has a good selection of machines and the 2p token machine was a hit with everyone. Ate at the Mash and Barrell for their curry night and the food was lovely. Good prices and decent offers aswell. Papa Johns deliver to your caravan and we did this on our last night, came on time, food was hot and tasted nice too. Lots of things to do during the day, saw paintballing and water zorbing whilst there. Entertainment was average but thats usual for holiday parks. Guiness, Tetley's, Carlsberg, San Miguel, Gaymers and Coors all on tap. Corona Extra, Budwiser, Carlsberg and Becks bottled. Entertainment room has party shop, Papa Johns, picture shop and outside seating area.

All in all a lovely site that felt very safe, well landscaped, has lovely caravans and I will be recommending to my family and friends. Plus its only a 2 hour trip along the M4 then the M5.

Room Tip: Its well worth upgrading to get the earlier check in time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank Jonesy777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Went to Burnham on Sea (Haven) for 7 day holiday last week and what a great site. Place was easy to find and like most of the Haven holidays that we've been on the site was very clean and the staff where polite and very helpful. Would have given 5 stars except for the mix up of our caravan not being ready as they said that the staff had used it but not told the cleaning crew! Cannot fault the response afterwards though as following our call to the reception a crew was cleaning our caravan within 10mins. Activites where ok on the park and the night time entertainment suitable for most ages. Drinks at the entertainment could be cheaper as J20's £2.45 and Lager £3.20 but most complex's charge a fortune now, surely they could make them slightly cheaper and we would go up to the bar more often. Great to see smiling and helpful staff all around and also great to see security asking a numpty who wanted his boy racer van parked on his caravan door being asked politely to park it in the bays whick where only 20m away as best. This keeps the grass/greens great to run on and play with the kids. Would go back, well done Haven.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We went on the sun deal. we had our first family hliday with our 6 in half monh old baby. He won the fancy dress and was told he was youngest ever they knew to have enterd he was nemo . we had a great time we did get to use the out door pool as mon tues and wed were very hot days outside was a great atmosphere. we ate every meal out and enjoyed them all they could be a bit cheaper tbh we decided to eat out all the time thinking it mite be easier for us with the baby and glad we did.our baby had first swim their i would say that they need to do up changing rooms and extra baby changing area. the park seemed to be very clean in and outside were going again september in a better caravan we had upgraded before going and this next time were upgraded again so should be really nice . we did have ants but read their message on that on arrival and was only a few by door on the wall . we needed a new micowave plate ours was wrong we had bottles to streilize and it was sorted withen the hour.very shrot walk to morrisons and a small town and beach was nicew and quiet but busy .The kids entitainment very good adults on thursday nite was too but other nites not great one nite we ended up going to watch a dvd art home and the other went dwn to the quizz . but i know were out of season and we dident mind going back at 10 pm with the little one also baby dipped feet in the sea and had first ride.
id recomend peopel to go for a weekend or mon - fri

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HSudworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

just returned from a 7 day Haven Holiday.Deluxe 2 bed caravan on Quantock Close,Burnham-on-sea.Long way from activities so chose to drive to reception area & leave car there instead of walking back & to from caravan.Caravan was fantastic. 2 bed with main bedroom having en-suit bath/shower, toilet, sink. stacks of cupboards & wardrobes in main bedroom, plus a dressing table with drawers. cupboards across the width of 2nd bedroom above 2 single beds,wardrobe with shelving plus a mirror with cupboards, take extra hangers, not many provided. separate kitchen/frontroom,actual door between them.immaculate thru out.check fridge temperature when you arrive as ours was turned down low due to previous cold spell but it was scorching on our hols and our food wasn't cold enough the 1st day, turned it up so ok after. 2nd bathroom had a shower,toilet & sink.double glazed & heated all thru.
Activities on park that you pay for are really good.some are more expensive than others so an activity pass helps.£36 for 6 activities. 4 of us did Archery @ £8 each then our 2 children did another activity @ £6 each, total was £44 but 'cos we bought the activity pass we saved £8.If you go in the school hols(we didn't), would advise booking them 'cos there is a limited amount of people per activity.indoor pool 1st day was really cold, after was better.outdoor pool was cool. maximum depth of outdoor pool was 4ft. outdoor play area can only be accessed when the amusements door is open.If you're an early bird & want to take your kids on the park, you can't until after 9am.Everywhere is clean & tidy.Went fishing once,good fun. Permit cost £7 for 1 day. it becomes cheaper if you pay for several days in one go.Mash & Barrel food was lovely.2 adults & 2 kids meals, plus 4 puds & 4 drinks cost £46.( over £7 was VAT).Food was served within 20 mins of ordering on 2 separate occasions, when it was quiet & busy.very hot and plenty of it.Entertainment wasn't good.After a few nights it was repeated & when it was getting quite late, the Entertainment should've stepped up a level for the older people.It catered too much for 2-8yr olds for too long in the evening.By the time adult shows started I was ready for bed.Same Difference were on one evening.They were excellent.So much energy & sang a variety of songs to suit all ages.Burnham beach is about 8 min walk or less from Reception area.We were put off the beach by all the warnings of SINKING at low tide.walked along the beach when the tide was out but did'nt play on it.Instead went to Weston-Super-Mare for the day(twice) You can park on the beach or along the beach front if you are early enough for £7 a day. Lots to do there.when the tide goes out, you can start to see where you will SINK in the mud here but there is so much beach to play on, felt safer. Went up towards the harbour end where there is a WATER PARK & PLAY AREA all in one.our kids loved this.Think this was £1 per child all day.take a towel & swimwear for kids, sandals for later to play on the park & your camera!! 19 hole crazy golf next door which was challenging, great courseFamily tickets are cheaper. Donkey rides on the beach,£2 per child, also horse & cart rides.Something like £1.50 per adult & £1 per child.plenty of toilets along beach front but beware that they shut pretty handy after tea.slightly dissapointed with the pier. opened at 10am but closed when we were there about tea-time. It was a beautiful evening for a walk along the pier but you could'nt get on it as there were big gates that were closed & locked.
From the Park, there is a Morrisons about a 10 min walk away on the beach front, there is a PAY & DISPLAY car park so watch out. We came across a Tesco store which was further away but you'd have to ask where that was.All in all, we had a lovely week & enjoyed our hols which was helped by great weather.Look out for the baby swans and the baby geese, they're gorgeous.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cowgirl36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnham-On-Sea
0.6 mi away
The Royal Clarence Hotel
The Royal Clarence Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burnham-On-Sea
192 reviews
4.6 mi away
Rookery Manor
Rookery Manor
#1 of 1 in Edingworth
914 reviews
8.3 mi away
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hotel
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hot...
#3 of 28 in Weston super Mare
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Days Inn Sedgemoor M5
Days Inn Sedgemoor M5
#1 of 1 in Cheddar
672 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
#20 of 28 in Weston super Mare
635 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Sundowner Hotel
The Sundowner Hotel
#1 of 1 in Highbridge
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burnham on Sea Holiday Park - Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burnham on Sea Holiday Park - Haven

Address: Marine Drive, Burnham-On-Sea TA8 1LA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Burnham-On-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Burnham-On-Sea
Hotel Class:4 star — Burnham on Sea Holiday Park - Haven 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Burnham On Sea Holiday Park Hotel Burnham-On-Sea
Burnham On Sea Holiday Park - Haven Burnham-On-Sea, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing