We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place and best breakfast I ever had in the UK!!!”
Review of Knights Rest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Knights Rest
Ranked #10 of 13 Burnham-On-Sea B&B and Inns
London
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Lovely place and best breakfast I ever had in the UK!!!”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Room was nicely designed, all was totally clean. Location great. Owners extremely friendly and helpful. Got complimentary tea and biscuits, had a fantastic breakfast, were helped to make a reservation in the local restaurant, helped with parking. Could not wish for more. The only thing which would make the stay even more perfect would be an en-suit. But that wasnt a big problem either. So thank you very much for a lovely service and maybe see you soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janab007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    15
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
25
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bristol
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Well what can I say about this place ,it's a lovely little b&b it was lovely and clean and tidy the bed was very comfy the breakfast was great just what we needed to start the day off on such a cold morning.The only couple of negative things about this place was the parking or should I say lack of it and the ensuite was so small and was not worth paying the extra money to have it .
But all in all a nice little place to stay

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lorraine j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembrokeshire
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed at the Knights Rest for a couple of nights before Christmas with our dog and we found the accommodation comfortable and clean. We have to agree with the previous comments though about the very small en suite bathroom and the lack of a table to one side of the bed. But apart from that the breakfast was good and the owners friendly. Unfortunately we were unable to park outside so we used the car park around the corner, making sure that we put money in before 9am otherwise we would have been booked by the patrolling traffic warden!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PembrokeshireAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed at Knight's Rest for 1 night. The room was spotless and the beds were very comfortable.Breakfast was very good and the proprietors very friendly. On the down side - I rang and asked for the availability of a DOUBLE room. I was told there was one available with an en-suite. On arrival our bedroom was a twin room with two single beds pushed together. Having reviewed the property photographs since our return I notice that the room normally has 2 single beds with a bedside table inbetween. This explained why there was only one bedside table in the room and I had to put my glasses case on the radiator at one side of the bed. The en-suite is also spotless but absolutely tiny. A small square shower with curtain, nestles up against a toilet. It is easier to sit on the toilet and then shut the room door (as it is so close to the end of your knees) than to shut the door then try to sit down!..
Overall the accommodation was spotlessly clean and the proprietors unquestionably amiable and helpful, however I would rather be told upfront if the type of room I have requested is not available but an alternative is.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SailorGirlCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duffort
2 reviews
Reviewed October 31, 2012

My stay was very comfortable and my hosts, Hugh and Jenny, could not have been more welcoming or helpful. I stayed in a single room which was very comfortable, clean and well heated. The breakfast was wonderful (and vegetarian was no problem for them) and I had the chance to sample some home-made marmalade which was delicious! Jenny and Hugh made the effort to give me a slightly earlier breakfast than advertised on the second morning as I had to leave to catch my plane, a gesture which was very greatly appreciated as I had to leave early for the airport and the journey itself was rather problematic. All in all I had a very friendly and family feel from this B&B, which is very near to town and within walking distance of most things, including the beach.
A couple of things to bear in mind:
The rooms are all upstairs and there is a shared bathroom, which is not a problem so long as you are not in a hurry to use the toilet! This is not a criticism, just an observation.
Parking can be very awkward with double yellow lines on both roads (the B&B is on the corner but the road is quiet). Choose very carefully where to park in order to avoid the traffic wardens wrath!
I would have no hesitation in recommending this B&B as a nice, quiet, comfortable and friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dannie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night and found the room very clean and the bed was comfortable.
It is very handy to walk to the sea front and town centre.
The breakfast was lovely, with the usual choice of cereal, toast and various hot breakfast items on offer.
There is a good choice of tea & coffee in the room and a flat screen TV with all the digital channels.
The only gripe I have is that the en-suite, was at best, a cupboard.
The shower cubicle was that small, that trying even the simplest of tasks left you with the shower curtain clinging to your torso , I say "Cubicle" it was a shower tray with a curtain around it.
I know that everyone expects en-suite facilities in this day and age, but i defy anyone to manage a comfortable shower in room 2.
The toilet in the en-suite was also very awkward, once you shut the door and sit down your nose is touching the door.

Room Tip: Avoid room 2 if you appreciate a decent en-suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1davo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2012

A great 2 day break in a beautiful b&b , run by a really nice couple who make you feel very welcome, rooms are top standard throughout and very clean, could not fault the place / price, breakfast was excellent too, we would highly recommend this place to anyone visiting Knights Rest...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monia12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnham-On-Sea
0.2 mi away
The Royal Clarence Hotel
The Royal Clarence Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burnham-On-Sea
177 reviews
7.8 mi away
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hotel
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hot...
#3 of 28 in Weston super Mare
364 reviews
6.2 mi away
Best Western The Webbington Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Yew Tree House
Yew Tree House
#1 of 1 in Berrow
131 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#5 of 13 in Burnham-On-Sea
97 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ashbourne House Bed and Breakfast
Ashbourne House Bed and Breakfas...
#2 of 13 in Burnham-On-Sea
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Rest

Property: Knights Rest
Address: 9 Dunstan Road, Burnham-On-Sea TA8 1ER, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Burnham-On-Sea
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Burnham-On-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Knights Rest 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Knights Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Rest Burnham-On-Sea, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing