We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding weekend MAY 4, 2013.- Myrna Blunt” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sundance Guest Ranch

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sundance Guest Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wedding weekend MAY 4, 2013.- Myrna Blunt”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

My first trip to B.C. and we stayed at the Sundance Guest Ranch for a weekend for my nephew's wedding and I was totally amazed at the beautiful Ranch and the surrounding area. All the staff were very friendly, kind and mostly polite and very professional and willing to go out of their way to make your stay wonderful. The handlers were also very kind and made sure everyone enjoyed their 3 hour horseback riding. The chef and kitchen staff were very kind, polite and very efficient on serving our meals and all the meals were excellent and very good. I got to talk to some of the handlers and kitchen staff and they all were very nice ladies to talk to and we all had a great time at the dance. I would highly recommend Sundance Guest Ranch for anybody to go and experience what we experienced....totally awesome and most enjoyable.

Room Tip: I would recommend the Sundance Guest Ranch, the rooms are very clean and beds are very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Myrna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    41
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
163
87
27
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Sundance was gracious enough to host our wedding...and we couldn't have asked for anything better! Everyone had a fabulous time and most importantly, so did we! We rented out the entire Ranch, and the front office was fantastic to deal with in planning. The chef was very accommodating to our meal requests (and of course the food was fabulous as usual). All staff extremely friendly and accommodating. We had mostly beginner riders, and the wranglers were very accommodating for what everyone wanted. This was my 2nd time, my wife's 4th time at the Ranch and we'll for sure come back again!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Stayed there a year ago and tried to stay there a week ago but had to cancel this time. On both occasions the staff were above and beyond the call of duty. Friendly, helpful and willing to please. Meals are fabulous and accommodation is great, but it's mainly the people. Everyone has a good time.
Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garymack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle WA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Just spent an entire week at Sundance Guest Ranch and lost four pounds! The food was delicious, and the chef was happy to make sure that what I ate was healthy (whole grains, lots of salads with protein). I rode up to 5 hours each day, and my recent strength training meant I hardly got sore. I brought up a portable DVD player and did my Jillian Michaels DVDs every other day. Way cheaper than a Biggest Loser retreat and so much fun.

This ranch is family run, super friendly and welcoming. Great place to come by yourself because you eat family style and meet so many great people. Great place to come with friends and families--the relaxed friendly spirit works well for everyone. There's a heated swimming pool if you want to do some swimming or water walking or just relax for fun.

Can't recommend Sundance enough, I'm already signing up for another week next year.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the pasture side to see 100 horses gorgeous horses run by in the morning and eveni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

A first time at Sundance for hubby and I. Booked the Rodeo Room for the April gourmet weekend, as wanted to see the horses run by out and in of pastures. Sadly, pastures weren't ready for them yet, so we missed out on this experience. That was the only disapointment all weekend. Room was private with a good king bed. All staff were wonderful, friendly, attentive.
Wranglers patient and knowledgable. Horses well looked after and well matched to riders. We felt very safe on our mounts. The rides had something for everyone - a little "run" if you wanted to try, walking through sage and scrub, up hills to amazing views over the Thompson area.
When not riding, we felt at home, free to wander and relax as we wanted. Met so many great people, all there for the same reason. Many laughs. The food was absolutely amazing. Simply saying "gourmet" cannot begin to describe the meals. We still have smiles on our faces, and will hold close our wonderful memories of the people, the horses, the whole thing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank darlenew1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley, WA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

I brought my 2 daughters up this year and we had a lot of fun. Dave, the new barn manager and Lauren, the new cook, are holding up the reputation for Sundance being a peaceful, relaxing place to ride some beautiful country and eat some amazing food...they also bring some great new ideas. The staff are very accomodating and helpful and friendly. It's a great place to come on your own or bring friends/family. We loved the wranglers, the kitchen staff and the office gals.....Home, home on the range again! Thanks!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DudetteLangley_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison Hot Springs, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Spring Cowgirl wknd!! What more can a cowgirl ask for..great fun/rides/food and what beds..slept well..laughter was free.. wranglers and horses, fantastic..If you like to ride and have fun: Sundance is the place to be!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashcroft
10.3 mi away
Sandman Inn Cache Creek
Sandman Inn Cache Creek
#2 of 10 in Cache Creek
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bear Claw Lodge
Bear Claw Lodge
#1 of 1 in Kispiox
5.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
4.4 mi away
Ashcroft River Inn
Ashcroft River Inn
#4 of 4 in Ashcroft
3.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites-Desert Motel
20.8 mi away
Lakeside Country Inn
Lakeside Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Savona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Wilderness Way Adventure Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundance Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundance Guest Ranch

Property: Sundance Guest Ranch
Address: 2591 Kirkland Ranch Road | Box 489, Ashcroft, British Columbia V0K 1A0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Ashcroft
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Ashcroft
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sundance Guest Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is it - this is your ranch, only four hours from Vancouver, Canada! Whether you're looking for a horseback riding holiday with a bit of adventure, a family vacation at a dude ranch where even the kids will have fun, or just some place new where you can really get away from it all, you've found it. Sundance Guest Ranch is located in the warmest, sunniest spot in Canada with sweeping, panoramic views of the wide open Thompson River Valley that are so beautiful, they're ridiculous... but that's not it. Sundance Guest Ranch is just an easy four hour drive from Vancouver, Canada, making us a perfect weekend getaway destination... but that's not it. Sundance Guest Ranch serves absolutely amazing food that goes well beyond what you might expect from a "dude ranch"... but that's not it either. Sundance Guest Ranch runs a herd of over 100 happy, well-cared-for horses with thousands of acres of spectacular and varied terrain to explore, and the horseback riding is truly wonderful, whether you're looking for relaxing, instructive or exciting... but even that's not it. When you've just gotten back from a ride, and you're sitting on the lounge deck with your favourite drink in your hand, watching the herd gallop out to the field for the night and laughing with someone you've known ten minutes like you've known them ten years... lean back, put a foot up on the railing and look around... you're close, close to knowing why we say: "The first time, it's a vacation - after that, it's coming home." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Sundance Guest Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundance Guest Ranch Hotel Ashcroft

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing