We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a great place to be”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sundance Guest Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 25, 2011

I go to Sundance a few times every year. I always look forward to it and I am never disappointed. It is my favorite place!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pasture have a great view of the horses coming and going.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (482)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

391 - 397 of 482 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2011

I just spent the weekend at Sundance ranch for their ladies-only weekend. The weather was great, the staff was friendly and attentive, and the food was great! The horses are well- taken care of and Brian the stable manager truly cares about his horses which is nice to see. In regards in the rides the wranglers take you on, some are better than others ( Tim's Trail is the best). I found some of the geography of the rides a bit boring due to all the tumbleweed, I prefer more forest. The rooms are bare bones basic, but hey, you are staying at a ranch, what should you expect? There is a couple rooms with pool tables, board games, video games etc. for evening entertainment and they also organized some fun games for us ladies. I would 100% go back again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tremmmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Just returned from a week in Canada, suring which I spent 3 nights with a friend at the Sundance Ranch.

The ranch is in a beautiful location, it's semi-desert there which means it's very dry, however this doesn't take anything away from the surroundings which are mountainous and majestic and make for exceptionally good trail riding - and the chances of being rained on are very low!

The service at the ranch is exceptional, with every single member of staff going out of their way to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. The food is fantastic, and the communal lounge, with it's large open fire, is a relaxing and sociable space.

The rooms are not luxurious, however they are comfortable and in keeping with the rest of the ranch. I had 3 fabsulous nights sleep so definitely no complaints about the beds which have lovely feather duvets and pillows.

My horse was great and I rode him for the whole of the break, as an advanced rider you always worry that horses that ride in groups all the time will be unresponsive, however nothing could be further from the truth, I felt the horse was always doing as I asked and not just what the others were doing. My friend rode 3 different horses during our stay, and really enjoyed experiencing a variety of different horses, all of which were very well trained, and seemed exceptionally well cared for.

I guess the most telling information I can give you is that I'm already planning my return for 2012!

If you're reading this, thanks Sundance Ranch!! xx

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clairus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

I have just returned from a months holiday in Canada of which our stay at Sundance Guest Ranch was one of the highlights. We chose Sundance over several other alternatives because of the promptness with which they responded to emails and how easy they made it to book and pay - even from the other side of the world in different time zones. It was our first visit to Canada - and our first for a guest ranch - this is now the very high standard to which all others will have to aspire. Firstly - value for money was excellent - rooms were clean and comfortable and in keeping with the homey and western theme of the ranch. Don't go expecting modern or glamourous - if you do you will be disappointed. The meals, which were included in the tariff, were wonderful - there was plenty of food and the kitchen managed to provide special meals for us due to allergies. This is not Las Vegas - and we didn't come to Sundance expecting an all-singing, all-night party - so we were very happy to play Yahtzee in the games/lounge room or watch a movie in the evening.
We also had a special treat while at the ranch - after having been told by lots of people that we would be too far south to see the Aurora Borealis - we were truly fortunate to have it light up the sky on our first night at the ranch!!! Very special.
All the staff at the ranch were wonderful - they could not be more friendly, knowledgeable and helpful and were willing to go the extra mile to make our stay one of the best things we have ever done. The guides and wranglers were great - its been many years since I did any horseriding and due to patient instruction and wonderful horses - I quickly regained my confidence and be the end of our short stay, I was riding with a great deal of enjoyment and confidence as were my children who enjoyed the experience so much they want to go back as soon as possible. We loved the horses.
Sundance catered really well for my 10yo son. He was disappointed that we travelled at a time when there were no other children for him to ride with but he had a great experience and wanted to take his horse(Aspen) home with him. In short, we loved the whole experience. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aprilsun1268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We've been to this resort 4 times (3 in the last year alone!) because we love the setting and the riding. It's not a fancy resort: the amenities are mostly limited to a seasonal pool, a horseshoe pit and a lounge/game room, but it's homey and the staff really makes you feel welcome. The rooms are somewhat shabby, so don't come expecting a 4-star resort (and bring your own shampoo, etc. as well!) but they are clean and comfortable -- and you won't be spending much time in your room anyway. Todd, the chef, is amazing, and his culinary expertise continually blows me away. The wranglers and the riding are outstanding, and they have about a zillion trails to choose from on any given day. We've ridden horses all over the world, and we keep coming back to Sundance Ranch (and will be back in 2012 -- we've already booked a week!)

Room Tip: The named rooms (Rodeo, Buffalo, etc.) are definitely worth the upgrade price. They are much bigger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seattletravelgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

This was our first visit to Sundance and we loved it. We felt relaxed and the whole experience couldn't have been better. If you want highfaluting hotel rooms and snobby attitude this is NOT for you!! If you want to kick back, have a good time and feel like you are with a large group of friends, this IS for you!! The wranglers were great and made sure everyone was comfortable with all aspects of the ride. The chefs cooked up a storm and the front line staff accommodated every wish. Really what more could anyone ask for?? No wonder there are so many people that keep returning to Sundance - we certainly plan to!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gogokiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

First time horse riding ever!!. Great welcome from all the staff. Food was superb, Accomodation was basic but very clean.
Had a great time, but as a beginner could have done with a little more tuition.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sundance Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundance Guest Ranch

Address: 2591 Kirkland Ranch Road | Box 489, Ashcroft, British Columbia V0K 1A0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Ashcroft
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Ashcroft
Price Range: $259 - $522 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sundance Guest Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is it - this is your ranch, only four hours from Vancouver, Canada! Whether you're looking for a horseback riding holiday with a bit of adventure, a family vacation at a dude ranch where even the kids will have fun, or just some place new where you can really get away from it all, you've found it. Sundance Guest Ranch is located in the warmest, sunniest spot in Canada with sweeping, panoramic views of the wide open Thompson River Valley that are so beautiful, they're ridiculous... but that's not it. Sundance Guest Ranch is just an easy four hour drive from Vancouver, Canada, making us a perfect weekend getaway destination... but that's not it. Sundance Guest Ranch serves absolutely amazing food that goes well beyond what you might expect from a "dude ranch"... but that's not it either. Sundance Guest Ranch runs a herd of over 100 happy, well-cared-for horses with thousands of acres of spectacular and varied terrain to explore, and the horseback riding is truly wonderful, whether you're looking for relaxing, instructive or exciting... but even that's not it. When you've just gotten back from a ride, and you're sitting on the lounge deck with your favourite drink in your hand, watching the herd gallop out to the field for the night and laughing with someone you've known ten minutes like you've known them ten years... lean back, put a foot up on the railing and look around... you're close, close to knowing why we say: "The first time, it's a vacation - after that, it's coming home." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Sundance Guest Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundance Guest Ranch Hotel Ashcroft

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing