We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A five star experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crewkerne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fairways Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 10 Crewkerne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed at this lovely b&b on Saturday last after attending a joint 70th birthday party of a couple of old friends who live nearby. We were made so welcome by Tim and Sarah, the room was beautifully furnished and the bed was extremely comfortable with luxury cotton bedding and pillows which guaranteed a blissful night's sleep. Breakfast the next morning was a relaxing experience and the food, especially Tim's homemade granola, bread and marmalade, was delicious. The dining room and the guest sitting room have the most amazing views - we just wish we could have stayed longer in this lovely part of Somerset and at this exceptional b&b. Tim and Sarah have created a little bit of heaven at Fairways - we will definitely be back again but for more than one night next time!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Doreen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairways B, Owner at Fairways Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review - it was a real pleasure to welcome you. We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and very much look forward to seeing you again for longer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 178 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed at Fairways for two nights as we were attending a wedding in the local area. After searching on the web we chose Fairways as it looked good and the price was reasonable. What a wonderful surprise to find one of the best B&Bs that I (we) have ever stayed in. The room was spacious, well appointed, comfortable and very clean. The views over the countryside were a bonus. However, what really made the visit so pleasurable was both the quality of the the breakfasts produced by Tim, the conversations we had with Tim and Sarah and the fact that we were made to feel so welcome. It is difficult to fault Fairways as a place to stay. Next time we need to stop in the area we will certainly try to stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairways B, Owner at Fairways Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

What a lovely review you posted for us! Thank you so very much for taking the time to do this. We thoroughly enjoyed having you to stay, and hope to see you again when you're down our way. Tim and Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

I'm only sorry that I couldn't have stayed longer! It's often difficult to find somewhere that's comfortable for the single traveller, but this was just perfect and I couldn't have been made more welcome! Beautiful surroundings, inside and out, and nothing was too much trouble. I'm really looking forward for a revisit!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Lynda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairways B, Owner at Fairways Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Thank you so much taking the time to review us at Fairways. We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay, and were so fortunate with the fabulous weather. We look forward to seeing you again! Tim & Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

I stayed at Fairways with my boyfriend- we live in London but had a wedding in Somerset. It was absolutely wonderful, so peaceful with one of the most beautiful views of the countryside I have ever seen. Our life in London is rather frantic, but a couple of nights here and I really did feel recharged. I am quite a fussy eater but Tim cheerfully accommodated all my requests with a big smile on his face, nothing was too much trouble and I never felt awkward for asking. The food was wonderful, right down to the homemade toast that came with breakfast (and the delicious home made scones at tea time). The room was lovely, very calming with a huge comfy bed and very very clean- fluffy dressing gowns and delicious hot showers! I loved my stay and will definitely go back for another relaxing weekend- I feel like I have lovely new friends in hosts Tim and Sarah. Amazing! Oh and I must add just quickly- living in London I forgot how amazing the stars look on a clear night in the country, and what it is like to sleep without light and noise at all hours! Wonderful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairways B, Owner at Fairways Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Thank you so very much for such a lovely review of Fairways. We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay. You were lucky enough to have fabulous weather, so were able to have breakfast outside on the decking in the sunshine. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

I live just a couple of miles away from Fairways and really wish I lived further away so I could stay over. Visited for a private group dinner with drinks on the terrace beforehand. The views are amazing and the house is beautifully apppointed, stylish, light, airy and comfortable. Tim served a fabulous three course meal and there are lovely touches such as quality napery and silverware without it being stuffy or pretentious. I was shown the two bedrooms and they are even better than the photos suggest and finished to a really high standard. This is an absolute gem of a place!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CharlotteHowells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairways B, Owner at Fairways Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review of Fairways. We are so glad that you enjoyed your evening here with us. It was an absolute pleasure to welcome you, and of course we were truly blessed with a lovely warm evening in this current May heatwave in Somerset!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Fairways is a really lovely place to stay. Nothing is too much trouble for Sarah and Tim. Great views from the living room and terrace, fantastic breakfast and really comfortable room finished to the highest standard. I left my IPad in the room and after phoning to tell me Tim drove some 15 miles to return it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheesebox, Owner at Fairways Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind review. We're very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at Fairways and were glad to be able to reunite you with your iPad! We look forward to seeing you again. Tim and Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We had a great stay at Fairways; an excellent, well appointed room with every comfort, delicious meals and a friendly welcoming atmosphere. Having the use of a guests' sitting room was a bonus as was the opportunity to watch birds in the garden while having breakfast. The views from the house are beautiful and access to Crewkerne and the neighbouring countryside was most convenient.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 770Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheesebox, Owner at Fairways Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Fairways. You were our first official guests and we thoroughly enjoyed welcoming you into our home. We're so glad that you enjoyed the use of the guests' sitting room, and hope to see you again when maybe it'll be warm enough to sit out on the decking! Tim and Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Crewkerne hotels
0.8 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#2 of 2 in Crewkerne
51 reviews
2.2 mi away
Haselbury Mill
Haselbury Mill
#1 of 2 in Haselbury Plucknett
512 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lower Severalls Farmhouse
Lower Severalls Farmhouse
#4 of 10 in Crewkerne
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Calendar Cottage
Calendar Cottage
#3 of 10 in Crewkerne
47 reviews
2.9 mi away
Watermeadow Lakes & Lodges
Watermeadow Lakes & Lodges
#3 of 6 in Crewkerne
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairways Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairways Bed and Breakfast

Address: Fairways Hewish Lane, Crewkerne TA18 8RN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Crewkerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Crewkerne
Price Range: $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sarah & Tim Dommett, who ran a Specialist Cheese Shop in Surrey for 20 years, opened their Bed and Breakfast on 1st of April 2014. At £100.00 per room per night we are offering Luxury Bed and Breakfast at our home high up on a hill on the edge of Crewkerne in Somerset, with distant views overlooking beautiful countryside. We have two very comfortable double bedrooms with underfloor-heated en suites - one with bath and over the bath pressurised shower and the other with walk-in pressurised shower. You also have the use of our Guest Sitting-room/Breakfast-room with television and wood-burner where your evening meal would be served, should you wish to eat at Fairways. This room has French Windows onto a large expanse of oak decking where you can sit and enjoy the lovely sunsets. The house is a 10-minute walk from the town centre, a 6-minute drive from Windwhistle Golf Club, a 25-minute drive from the Jurassic Coast and has a plethora of National Trust properties locally for you to visit. Crewkerne is only a two-and-a-half-hour Train trip from London Waterloo, and we can arrange for a Taxi to collect you from Crewkerne Station if you let us know your time or arrival. We have a secure drying-room for your bikes and wet-weather gear. Give us a little bit of notice and Tim will cook you a lovely supper when you come in tired and hungry or else you can take pot-luck and share whatever supper we are having. The supper rate for a 3-course meal would be £30.00 per person if pre-arranged, and negotiable if impromptu! All you need to do is bring your own bottle of wine as we don't have an Alcohol Licence. Sadly, we cannot allow dogs in the house. The accommodation and grounds are not suitable or safe for small children and the maximum occupancy per room is for 2 people, with the minimum occupant age per room being 16 years old. Fairways is a non-smoking Bed and Breakfast in the house and in the grounds. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fairways Bed And Breakfast Crewkerne, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing