We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Villa Ambra”
Review of Hotel Villa Ambra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa Ambra
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sant'Albino
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 26, 2008

We stayed three nights at Villa Ambra and can't say enough about how wonderful Marzio was. He and his staff went out of their way to be helpful, making phone calls for us, helping us to find car repair, pharmacies, directions, etc. When his English failed him, he whipped out his Italian-English dictionary and we were always able to make ourselves understood. His sister, Catia, is the chef at the hotel restaurant and it was the best meal we had during our vacation at a relatively reasonable price!! She is also warm and welcoming and went out of her way to make sure that we enjoyed our dinner. This was a complete dinner from antipasti to dessert and Catia's Teramisu was fabulous! In addition to the wonderful prepared food, there was a salad bar that included a cheese and deli meat tray, several vegetable salads and potatoes. Breakfast was included in the price of the room and was very generous - juice, cheese, deli meat, homemade yogurt and packaged yogurt, fresh fruit, pastry, croissants, cappucino, cereal and milk - everything was on a buffet table and you could take as much as you liked, except for milk and cappucino. We each ordered two capuccino every morning and there was no extra charge. The rooms were large, clean, and comfortable and there is a small elevator which meant that we did not have to carry our bags up the steps. The only negative was the shower, which was a bit small, but it was a minor inconvenience. There was plenty of free parking at the hotel and it is an easy drive into Montepulciano. We used it as a base to visit Montalcino and Orvieto as well and we were between 40-50 minutes drive through beautiful countryside from each of these places. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hommyhartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Villa Ambra
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 172 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2007

Stayed just one night and I'd say I'm overall happy with our stay. Hotel was very clean, room was a bit small but otherwise OK, and had a nice bathroom, and a large terrace (without view). Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was standard, with mainly continental offerings. Swimming pool looked good from my hotel room window, but I wasn't tempted as it was a bit chilly out. Ideal for those traveling by car as it is a little out of town. Ample free parking space is a plus. Value for money all round.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcr1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Columbia, SC
526
Reviewed September 8, 2005

On our way back to Rome from Tuscany, we spent one night at this more-modern facility outside Montepulciano with easy access by car. The setting is lovely and the rooms are large, if spartan. Good air-conditioning, adequate bathrooms (by European standards), easy parking and a lift. The front desk was wonderful about resolving a slight glitch in our reservations and made sure we were completely satisfied with the arrangements. We were a bit confused by the dining room schedule; they stopped serving dinner around 8:30, which had been unheard of in all our other travels in Italy; but the staff did make sure we got fed a good meal. There seemed to be some arrangement with a spa, and we think most of the other guests, who appeared to be more elderly, were there for an extended stay involving the spa. There seemed to be a very set schedule for meals with dining room tables "assigned" to each party. Never did quite figure it all out. But the staff were lovely, and the accommodations were just fine for one night.

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank antonio c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Sparacino G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
Thank finferlinetto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Albino
1.4 mi away
Hotel Panoramic
Hotel Panoramic
#6 of 28 in Montepulciano
427 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel I Due Cigni
Hotel I Due Cigni
#2 of 28 in Montepulciano
781 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tre Stelle
Hotel Tre Stelle
#4 of 28 in Montepulciano
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Villa Poggiano
Villa Poggiano
#7 of 28 in Montepulciano
256 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sant' Antonio
Sant' Antonio
#13 of 28 in Montepulciano
196 reviews
2.5 mi away
Albergo Il Rondo
Albergo Il Rondo
#3 of 28 in Montepulciano
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Ambra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Ambra

Address: Strada Statale 146 n. 8, 53045 Sant'Albino, Montepulciano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano > Sant'Albino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sant'Albino
Price Range: $93 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Ambra 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Villa Ambra is situated in S.Albino, a few km from Montepulciano and ChiancianoTerme. It is easy to reach by A1 highway, exit at Chiusi - ChiancianoTerme, and by train at Chiusi railway station. The position of the hotel is exceptional, with the Tuscan hills on the background, and next to art, history and culture centres. The rooms are clean and comfortable. In each of them you can find a Sat-TV, telephone, private bathroom with hair-drier. Some rooms have a balcony and those without have an independent air-conditioning system. A lift, car-park and services for disabled are available. Villa Ambra is also a high quality restaurant and traditional dishes are served. The guests can find fine wines and olive oil, besides other typical products. A genuine affection to the guests and a comfortable atmosphere make the stay at Villa Ambra a very pleasant one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Villa Ambra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambra Hotel Sant Albino
Hotel Villa Ambra Italy/Montepulciano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing