We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of L'Oree de Giverny

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
L'Oree de Giverny
Dublin
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed here for only one night in the little cottage and loved our stay here. The cottage was very clean and the bed very comfortable. It is just a short walk to the center of Giverny and Monets house and gardens. We would certainly recommend. It was also a bonus to have the option of dining in the evening at the B&B and the food was delicious.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
57
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Provo, Utah
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed three nights at the L'Oree and enjoyed our entire time there. It is within a kilometer of Claude Monet's garden and "museum" with the owner (Regis) giving helpful hints on tickets and times to visit. His wife Veronique has compiled a remarkable book of other neighboring sites that included descriptions, locations and expected driving time! During our e-mailing to set up our stay, Regis was incredibly prompt in answering our questions. We had a chance to look at all three facilities (upstairs in the main house and two cottages). The advantage to the upstairs in the main is the availability of TV and a bathtub with shower. The two cottages have no TV and only showers. All of the facilities have been recently renovated and with expected amenities including the wonderful towel warmer. There are no distracting noises day or night. Both Regis and his wife were always available to answer questions and give directions. I had a problem getting WiFi access on my little AirMac which was solved by Regis giving me one of his laptops through our stay. They were flexible in providing breakfast both with time and the menu. They also provided us with a "back road" to the Charles de Gaul Airport that was absolutely beautiful and relaxing taking less time than driving the freeways to Paris that often include a couple of missed exits. We echo the excellent reports reports given by others -- this is a rewarding place to stay.

Room Tip: See above description of the rooms; there are three alternatives to help meet your expectations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uvsfrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic stay at a truly wonderful B&B less than 1 km, from Monet's gardens. Regis and Veronique are charming, intelligent hosts,and prepared a very enjoyable evening meal, at a very modest price. The cottage was exceptional, and we would highly recommend this B&B. Stayed July 2012.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Trevor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

We arrived really late because we couldn't get a cab from vernon, finally we got there and we were greeted so warmly. They made us feel right at home. the place we stayed was so wonderful it was a renovated boat house right next to the beautiful river. It was just renovated i think we were the second people to stay there. It had a huge bathroom with a wide sink and large shower. and a very comfortable bed. The breakfast in the morning was delicious. and after we took the bikes that they let us use for free and rode into Giverny to see Monet's gardens. They gave us a wonderful suggestion for food and it was one of the best meals we had on our trip. We regrettably only booked two nights and asked to stay longer. although they didn't have any rooms open (i think they only have 3 rooms) they didn't turn us down. They took us over to his friend a she put us up in her beautiful house for one more night. When our stay was over they gave us a ride to the train station and insisted on giving us a discount price despite our protests. they insisted because a previous guest had complained about our room, saying it was damp and the windows wouldn't open, it was a little damp after we ran the shower but we just opened the door. Also they said they were going to install new windows and a Fan which I'm sure they have done by now. All in all it was the best stay we had, I can't express how wonderful it was.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

I recently took the train from Paris to Vernon where friends picked us up for few days at d'loree de Giverny. Régis and Veronique were gracious hosts wanting to share everything that their area of France has to offer, fresh fruits and vegetables, great chicken and food, beautiful views, lots of history.

The accommodations were more than adequate with modern touches in an old style gated farmhouse compound along a stream that feeds into Monets gardens. The breakfast was beautiful and complete with extra touches of local jams, and cheeses added to the croissants and other standard breakfast fare make you feel relaxed and comfortable.

The hosts cooking prowess along with invited guests made for some very enjoyable relaxed evenings. Even though the food was French, and the conversation drifted from French to English we felt very much at home here. We saw once again that good produce, and good food with good company is a universal tradition that unites people.

Some of the local day trips include many varied things from hikes and bike rides to castle exploration, cathedral and architecture tours museums. Not to mention Dday beaches. We went and toured this unbelievable castle and Chateau that had tunnels carved through the limestone cliffs and had beautiful views of the Seine river valley.

I would recommend this place for anyone. Couples or families.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mag-shoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

L'Oree de Giverny ("The Border of Giverny") is a fairly new B&B operation and the owners are enthusiastic and positive. We stayed in a "stand-alone" cottage "Aux pred de giverny," which was clean and quiet. The host gave us a warm welcome and offered us cider in the garden.

Generally the accommodations were very satisfactory. Our complaints were minor--we couldn't figure out how to lock the door opening on to a small patio; there were no cups or glasses provided in the room for drinking; the vent fan in the bathroom was weak or non-functioning.

We purchased a meal to be prepared by the host because it seemed to be a simple solution for us after several days of heavy travel and socializing.. We had not anticipated that we were in fact going to be sitting down for a family-style dinner with the host (and two other guests who were personal friends of the hosts). Everyone was quite pleasant and the food (and drink) was good, but for us on that particular night I would have opted instead to go to a restaurant rather than to have a social event with strangers. On a different night, this might have seemed like a wonderful opportunity to meet "real" locals.

Breakfast was good both in terms of quantity and quality.

The hosts are trying really hard to be welcoming and helpful. They had good advice about visiting the Giverny gardens (if you can't go late in the afternoon, go around 12:00 noon when the massive tours break off for lunch). And they have bicycles available for local touring.

The B&B is right beside "the" main road, so there is some road noise--but not a big negative. It's a few minutes away from the Giverny gardens and museum and a few more minutes from Vernon--a larger town with the train station and plenty of commerce.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curdmudgeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

From the email exchange to book our room, our hosts could not have been more helpful - suggesting trains to catch and offering to meet us from the station. Both our room and the main house are tastefully decorated and situated in lovely gardens in a peaceful location within walking distance of the Monet Gardens.
We had dinner on two of our three evenings and the food was truly exceptional. On the third evening when we had decide to make our own arrangements, we relied on a recommendation from our hosts and were even brought home by them.
Being able to borrow bikes for a scenic local ride was an added bonus.
Our early start home on a Sunday was no trouble - fresh bread and croissants for breakfast ....and a lift to the station.
We would have no hesitation in recommending L'Oree de Giverny and would certainly suggest booking in for dinner!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Limetz-Villez
0.9 mi away
La Musardiere
La Musardiere
#2 of 2 in Giverny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
1.3 mi away
Le Jardin des Plumes
Le Jardin des Plumes
#1 of 2 in Giverny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
4.0 mi away
Domaine de la Corniche
Domaine de la Corniche
#1 of 1 in Rolleboise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Normandy
Hotel Normandy
#1 of 3 in Vernon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
7.1 mi away
Les Jardins d'Epicure
Les Jardins d'Epicure
#1 of 1 in Bray-et-Lu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
1.7 mi away
Les Jardins du Val
Les Jardins du Val
#1 of 3 in Port-Villez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Oree de Giverny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Oree de Giverny

Property: L'Oree de Giverny
Address: 17 rue de l Eau, 78270 Limetz-Villez, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Yvelines > Limetz-Villez
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Limetz-Villez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your L'Oree de Giverny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing