We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food, Service, and Location”

La Costera de Altea
Ranked #3 of 282 Restaurants in Altea
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $56
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Cheltenham, England
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Service, and Location”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We visited the restaurant twice in late October.
The food is wonderful, beautifully presented, sensibly priced, and the service is excellent.
Located in the Old Town, a few minutes walk from the church with the blue dome.
Worth booking ahead for a weekend or in high season.
There is a great terrace as well.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gcoppard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    326
    78
    18
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arezzo, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“beautiful place”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We loved this restaurant, so beautiful, the food was really nice and very well presented. They have a nice terrace, we had a really good time there.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food. Good wine. Good value.”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Honestly I would rate it as a 4.2. We had a really nice time eating at this restaurant. You can tell that there is passion at La Costera. Passion for delivering quality food and wine. We tried a few starters all excellent except the carpaccio which was drenched in truffle oil which way overpowered the subtle flavors of the otherwise nice starter. The foie gras terrine was excellent. For the main course I had the Irish Angus Steak which was very good although it was served with a potato gratin that was completely killed by excessive nutmeg. I would take it out completely to be honest and let the cream and potato work its magic. Yes I know nutmeg can be nice in bechamel type sauces but trust me it's an enemy of potato. If it wasn't nutmeg I'm sorry but whatever the spice it still has to be removed to improve the dish. I'm done whining about minor things. The wine list is one of the most impressive I have ever seen. Such good value! Service and atmosphere were both very nice even though our waiter was a bit artificially charming and the plates could have been cleared with a bit more efficiency. Again I'm nit picking on a very good restaurant that I can recommend to anyone. Well done. Very close to a home run.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PartyMarty01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altea, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“"One of Altea's hidden treasures"”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

If your wondering where to go out for a romantic dinner in Altea, then this venue is a must visit. Its hidden away in the back streets of Altea's Casco Antiguo, away from the crowds and not too far walking distance from the Plaza de la Iglesia. The interior as well as its courtyard are spacious with a real intimate feel. The menu offers a great variety of fresh daily products, and of course being french, you will not be disappointed with any of your selected dishes. Although I do recommend to find out if there is a band playing at the Plaza de las Aguas as it can be quiet loud and ruin the special occasion if sitting outside. (Summer months)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Vintagekrug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous!!!! Don't miss it!”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We dinned there twice on our holidays there in August and had a thoroughly enjoyable experience on both occasions. The restaurant is an absolute treasure and a lucky find for us as we wandered up through the maze of little cobbled streets. It was lovely to get away from the hustle and bustle of the church square higher up (and all the Italian restaurants!!) and just relax on the beautiful terrace of la Costera.
The service was welcoming and extremely friendly and attentive....the English waiter was particularly charming although it seems unfair to single any one of the waiting staff out as they were all lovely and great at their jobs.
The food was DELICIOUS and such a wonderful change from the tapas which at that stage we had grown tired of. Each course was beautifully presented and perfectly cooked....I even took photos to send to my sister in Dublin to make her jealous!!! The wine we ordered was good and
although I am not a wine drinker myself my companions were more than happy.
We had two wonderful nights there and found the final bill each time to be very acceptable.....for the same meal in Dublin we all agreed would cost us a lot more!
We won't forget this fantastic restaurant and would highly recommend it for singles, couples, families indeed anybody....just try it!
Thanks again to all the staff in La Costera for two great nights!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mckeever301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Costera de Altea also viewed

 
Altea, Costa Blanca
 

Been to La Costera de Altea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing