We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid! Expensive and not good quality”
Review of El Bodegon de Pepe

El Bodegon de Pepe
Ranked #182 of 306 Restaurants in Altea
Price range: $19 - $25
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed September 8, 2017 via mobile

We went directly to the restaurant after a recommendation of the hotel. I was expecting a tapas bar but this was an overpriced restaurant with poor quality. The croquetas were not the traditional ones and i was not impressed with the mix fish dish. Services was also very slow despite there were only 2 tables with people.The only positive point is that is by the beach. There are much better options.

1  Thank londonrafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
javier h h, Propietario at El Bodegon de Pepe, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2017

Londonrafa, si esperaba el típico bar de playa con sangría y comida rápida, desde luego no fue al lugar correcto, puesto que nuestros platos son caseros pero presentados de manera no tradicional y todos ellos elaborados al momento.

Londonrafa, if you were expecting the typical beach bar with sangria and fast food, certainly you did not go to the right place, because our dishes are homemade but presented in a not traditional way and all of them elaborated at the moment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 211 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2017

We enjoyed the food and service. The fish and seafood is fresh from the boats and you can tell. The abas (beans), made following an old family recipe are great.
I especially liked the battered cod with a sweet red pepper sauce that won this spring's tapas competition.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank _salbasquez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
javier h h, Propietario at El Bodegon de Pepe, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2017

Salbasquez thank you very much for your visit, nice to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2017 via mobile

Worst dinner I have ever had in Spain and expensive as well. When we got in our main course it only had fish and sauce. I tried to reason with the waither that our main course is missing rice or anything similar. They did not understand at all! Kids menu was not eatable, would not have fed dogs with that crap. All in all, worst dinner ever for 90Euros and we all had to go and get some real food directly after, terrible.

2  Thank Karrobarro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
javier h h, Propietario at El Bodegon de Pepe, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2017
Google Translation

Principalmente resaltar su falta de educación y saber estar hacia mi personal y demás clientes los cuales fueron testigo de su comportamiento agresivo digno de un oscar de Hollywood. Entremos en materia ,nosotros somos un restaurante conocido por su calidad precio no un bar de platos combinados que seguramente es lo que Usted estaría buscando. Su cuenta fueron 85€ no 90 € a su convenencia para redondear como usted dice, un plato por cabeza y bebida para 6 personas 85€ con I.V.A incluido ........ CARO???????Aparte se les pusieron unas patatas fritas frescas sin cargo de las cuales se le olvida mencionar. Su plato fue un Crujiente de bacalao con salsa de pimientos de piquillo tal y como esta anunciado en la carta incluido en su idioma(plato premiado). Y no son maneras de alzar la voz por toda la terraza "Quiero MIS PATATAS FRITAS Y MI ARROZ BLANCO !"Tampoco le permito que diga que los combinados de niños no se lo comen los perros.Ya que entraron vacíos los platos. ATT. El Bodegón de pepe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2017 via mobile

We really enjoyed the food and the service. Stuff was friendly, we received a free drink and really enjoyed the evening!

Thank Dietmar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2017

I agree with Rijko and plagiarise his review as I was disappointed that this last remnant of the old Altea seafront succumbed. This place was very special and had a huge history just serving mussels and sardines mainly (and beans, with a bucket by your table for the shells). It has expanded as it was handed down the family chain and sadly it has lost its uniqueness.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Batikbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Bodegon de Pepe also viewed

 
Altea, Costa Blanca
Altea, Costa Blanca
 

Been to El Bodegon de Pepe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing