We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,503)
Filter reviews
1,503 results
Traveler rating
799
473
141
67
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
799
473
141
67
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews japanese restaurant lobby bar jacuzzi bath five star hotel pool area old town sea view miramar restaurant palapa restaurant breakfast buffet peak season taxi ride amazing hotel altea town cold meats reception desk large hotel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
158 - 163 of 1,503 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2016

We booked via On The Beach and we were not disappointed. The only down side was that the hotel was not within walking distance of the town and we had to catch taxi's to Altea. The hotel was well maintained, and the rooms were fabulous, and I asked for cheeky upgrade to sea view and we were happy on the top floor, at the quiet end of the hotel, probably one of the best hotels we have stayed in. The staff were friendly and courteuous. As we only booked B&B, there was certainly plenty to choose from. We travelled out to Calpe and Benidorm to visit some old haunts from previous holidays which was great. Definately worth a visit if you want to chill out and are not to worried about getting out and about. 30/40 mins from Airport, which was perfect.

Room tip: Top floor is best - as quieter
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shhoteles, Quality Department. at Hotel SH Villa Gadea, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2016

Dear Kate,

Thank you for stay with us during your holidays in Spain and thank you very much for your feedback as this will help us to improve our service.
Hopefully we will welcome you back to our Hotel SH Villa Gadea.

Yours sincerely,
Quality Department.
SH Villa Gadea Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2016

A modern spacious hotel,comfortably furnished, some of the bedrooms were spacious as was ours with good facilities and excellent views. Breakfast was buffet style with a wide range of hot and cold food on offer and of good quality. For evening meal there was a choice of buffet or restaurant, we ate in the latter, the service was good the food was tasty and the wine was the best we had in the area. The pool area was spacious with plenty of sun loungers, reservation of which was not allowed. All areas in the hotel were spotlessly clean
Disappointing aspects were twofold. The hotel is 3 kilometres from Altea, their websites states that there is a bus stop out side the hotel, there is , but there is a singular shortage of buses, there is supposed to be an hourly service for part of the day. We didn't see one, and the Reception was remarkably unhelpful, and remained so throughout the week . There is an hourly train service in both directions but this is 25 mins walk uphill. The second disappointment was the Spa with its facilities and heated pool, that is there but the website omitted to mention that the entry charge was 15 Euros per 90 mins per person!

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank ic0n0clast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shhoteles, Quality Department at Hotel SH Villa Gadea, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2016

Dear guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a writing review of your experience on your stay, so that we can analyse it and see those points that can be improved in order to meet our guests´ expectations.
We regret your comments about location and transport. You can find in the hotel door a Taxi Station, nº27 Bus Station five minuts walking and La Olla Train Station 10 minuts walking from the hotel. We are sorry for not having fulfilled your expectations in this aspect.
We hope you choose to stay with us again and rest assured that we will do our best to make your stay thoroughly enjoyable.

Yours sincerely,
Quality Department
SH Villa Gadea Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2016

This was one of the best hotels that we have spent two weeks holiday at.
The staff were always friendly and helpful.
The food was of a high standard and plentiful.
We had a large room overlooking the pools and the sea.
The free return taxi service into Altea was very welcome, Altea and the surrounding area is stunning.
We were on an all inclusive holiday with Saga and their hotel representative, Jan, was extremely helpful and was always on hand.
Sometimes the lobby bar only had one staff member to cope with serving drinks and food which resulted in poor service for the hotel guests.
Will we return? most certainly.

Room tip: Sea view rooms are definitely wort the extra.
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ReneGourock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shhoteles, Quality Department at Hotel SH Villa Gadea, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2016

Dear Rene,

Thank you so much for choosing our hotel for your stay.
We are delighted to read that overall you had an enjoyable stay with us.
We highly appreciate your comments regarding the staff and we will share your compliments with Jan from Saga.
Once again, we'd like to thank you for your feedback.
It will be a pleasure for us to welcome you back in future.

Best regards,
Quality Department
SH Villa Gadea Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2016

Just had a 3 night stay at the Villa Gadea. This is one of the nicest hotels we have stayed in. On the plus side
1. The hotel is beautifully designed, and immaculately clean
2. Reception staff are very professional and helpful (special mention to Sorin and Coke)
On the negative side
3. On arrival was delighted to note that the pool area was rather quiet and the pools even quieter. I soon realised that was because the 3 pools were probably the coldest in any hotel I have visited. Think the icebergs had just melted. The info book in the room suggested one of the pools was heated in the Autumn, but obviously not. The sea was definitely warmer than the pools.
4. The Spa needs some attention. Flooring around the indoor pool is dangerous in places and requires repair. Some tiling is missing, some discoloured. Some water features not working.
5. The hotel is a little too far out of Altea for our liking. Really too far to walk, and the hotel is not aligned to the local transport system. Having said that had a lovely train / tram journey from Altea to nearby Olla.
6. Atmosphere in the hotel is a touch formal for us (just our taste).
Asked about our stay on leaving, and mentioned 3 and 4 to Reception Comments received with some charm by Coke.
Villa Gadea probably not for us, but I am sure many will like it a lot - those who come to relax, who have a car and are happy not to use the pool. Again - great staff are a credit.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shhoteles, Quality Department at Hotel SH Villa Gadea, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2016

Dear Mr. Green,

First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a writing review of your experience on your stay, so that we can analyse it and see those points that can be improved in order to meet our guests´ expectations.
We would like to inform you that we are working in facilities improvments in the Spa area, thank you very much for your comments.
We hope you choose to stay with us again and rest assured that we will do our best to make your stay thoroughly enjoyable.

Yours sincerely,
Quality Department
SH Villa Gadea Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2016

We stayed for 5 nights at the end of August with our 7 year old daughter along with other family members.

The staff in this hotel are excellent - extremely helpful and attentive. The only area that could possibly let them down a little is in the lounge bar where service can be a bit a slow (although still very polite!) - this is especially of an evening when it appears that more staff are required!

We found the hotel itself to be super clean and comfortable. The outside areas around the pool offer plenty of shade and there were always plenty of sunbeds! We had no problem with the pool towel system which was simple and efficient. The outside bar is lovely too. There are plenty of activities for the children if they want to join in with the great kids club and the spa is lovely for the adults too!

Our room was spotlessly clean (cleaned daily) and quiet, with a lovely large bathroom and we found the beds to be comfortable.

We ate breakfast daily in the main dining room and thought the choice and quality was brilliant - everything you could want for breakfast! The only possible gripe here would be that the food from the hot food buffet was generally not very hot.
We didn't eat in any of the other hotel restaurants, but did eat from the snack bar - the menu was limited and simple but perfectly good and not expensive.

The beach behind the hotel was pebbly and a bit of a seaweedy shoreline but otherwise very pleasant - the water quality was really good if you want a swim! There is a lovely beach bar (turn right out of the back of the hotel and it can be found by the SUP rental which is just a short walk away) which serves simple food for a very reasonable price (they have a lovely barbecue in the evening also). There are many nice restaurants a short drive/taxi ride away - just use tripadvisor!

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here - could definitely have stayed longer! Will be back one day . . .

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ferold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shhoteles, Quality Department at Hotel SH Villa Gadea, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2016

Dear Ferold,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at SH Villa Gadea Hotel.
We appreciate your feedback and please be assured that your comments and recommendations have been taken on board.
Hopefully we will welcome you back to our Hotel SH Villa Gadea.

Yours sincerely,
Quality Department
SH Villa Gadea Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews