We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The lap of luxury, at a reasonable price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel SH Villa Gadea
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Altea
Certificate of Excellence
Banstead, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“The lap of luxury, at a reasonable price”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We had noticed this hotel from the road on previous visits to Altea: given its 5* rating, we had imagined it would be too expensive for us, so we were delighted this year to discover otherwise. Our room (with balcony and sea view) was perfect, with a beautiful bathroom and huge shower room; the 3 pools make a pleasant change from driving to a beach, and the buffet restaurant was fine for our needs (we didn't try the other ones). Service was efficient and attentive: e.g. the maid promptly converted the 2 twin beds to a double, the room was impeccably clean and well-serviced, and the front desk staff were genuinely friendly and very helpful. No silliness over 'reserving' poolside sunbeds.
The only detail we missed was the inability to make tea/coffee in the room, but we appreciate that this is an Anglo-Saxon peculiarity. Even the cocktails at the pool bar were world-class and very reasonably priced.
A previous reviewer has stated "not a genuine 5*", but I would rate this far better than any of the 5* Hiltons we've stayed in (such as Jumeirah Beach).
We'll definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Go for superior room with sea view: a superb experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shhoteles, Quality Department at Hotel SH Villa Gadea, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for having chosen the SH Villa Gadea Hotel for your stay in the Spain.
We greatly appreciate your opinion, this encourage us to improve our service every day.
Should you choose to stay with us again, rest assured that we will do our best to make your stay thoroughly enjoyable
Best regards,
Quality Department
SH Villa Gadea Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    594
    391
    119
    49
    20
See reviews for
380
542
18
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South of England
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

I had dismissed this hotel orginally because of one or two poor reviews, we don't really like large hotels and definitely not ones where you need to reserve sunbeds with towels and where breakfast is a battle of the queues, but we decided to try it for ourselves and we were so glad we did. From the moment we arrived the hotel was an oasis of calm, our luggage was unloaded an put into the room, the car parked and we were given lots of information about the hotel. Our room was beautiful, (1009) it was large, clean and well decorated with a sea view. The bathroom incuded a jacuzzi bath and a large walk in shower. The balcony was quite small but perfectly adequate with 2 comfortable chairs and a table. Our room did have the view slightly obscured by trees but actually we preferred that as it also gave us privacy. There are three pools all with very comfortable sun beds and shade if you want it. The pool bar served great cocktails and the restaurant at the pool had a good menu. We were concerned that being outside of Altea we would be trapped into using the hotel restaurant but actually it is surrounded by very good restaurants and beach cafes. You can walk into Altea in about 45 minutes but beware once you leave the beach front the road is busy and in parts does not have a pavement. A taxi into town is about £5 and a trip to the old part of Altea is a must. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and attentive, I would have preferred it to have WiFi ( it does but you have to pay) but you can have 2 hours free WIFI in the bar if you buy a drink. It was busy over the weekend especially Saturday and i can imagine at the height of the season there may be some pressure on the pools but in September it was fine. Somebody mentioned in their review that the bed was hard, in fact they are memory foam beds and superbly comfortable, if I could have put it in the suitcase i would have!

Room Tip: We have room 1009 and loved it, it was close to the door to the pools, and had windows on two sides...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Maisieandjazzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shhoteles, Quality Department at Hotel SH Villa Gadea, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for having chosen the SH Villa Gadea Hotel for your recent stay in Costa Blanca.
We greatly appreciate your comments, and we will consider them to improve our services. We would like to emphasise that guest satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us.
We remain our gratefulness for your confidence in our hotel, and we really hope to welcome you in the next future.
Yours sincerely,
Quality Department
SH Villa Gadea Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We enjoyed a lot our stay in SH Villa Gadea. The hotel its very new, and the rooms very big and comfortable. It has all you need in a beach hotel. The thing I would light to highlight its how kind the staff was, everyone was really focused on making our stay wonderful. The breakfast buffet has a big variety of things, but probably the quality of some of the fresh products was not really 5 star. The hotel has an incredible swimming pool, we could have stayed there for the whole weekend. The wellness SPA also looked nice but we didn't try it. The location is good, 5 minute drive from the beautiful town of Altea. The only thing we didn't like was the beach in front of the hotel. Its made of small stones and swimming its quite difficult. For the rest lovely stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diego F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shhoteles, Quality Department at Hotel SH Villa Gadea, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for having chosen the SH Villa Gadea Hotel for your weekend in Altea.
We greatly appreciate your comments, we would like to emphasise that guest satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us.
We hope you choose to stay with us again and rest assured that we will do our best to make your stay thoroughly enjoyable.
Yours sincerely,
Quality Department
SH Villa Gadea Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed here for two nights. The room was quite big, especially the bath room. The bed/mattress was slightly uncomfortable, but ok enough. The pools were big and clean, the outer area generally very nice. The spa area was very disappointing. It is very small, and many things didnt work. For example the showers and some of the "waterfall" functions in the pool. We both tried the therapautical massage 1 hour, and this was also very disappointing. The massage was not "therapeutical" more like a "comfortable massage", the staff at the spa is probably not certified masseurs. The staff gave us shower caps in a plastic bag before we could enter the spa. They "forgot" to tell us that shower caps costs 4 euros each and they charged our room for this. We were not aware of this before check out time. Even when we told the receptionist that no one told us they were to be handed back to the spa, we had to pay. They even called down to the spa staff, and even though we only speak a little bit of spanish it was clear that they were having fun at our behalf. Very rude receptionists! The hotel is located far away from Altea center, so it is necessary to take a taxi to visit the beautiful Altea old town. If you are looking for a spa hotel, you should choose some other spa hotel because this was the most disappointing spa I have ever been to.If you are looking for a hotel near Altea and the beach, there are plenty of other good hotels in Altea.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank hakmolle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shhoteles, Quality Department at Hotel SH Villa Gadea, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Guest,
The SH Villa Gadea staff would like to apologise for the inconveniences caused during your stay.
Although our top priority is offering our guests quality service all the time, we have read your comments and we see that you were upset about the Spa. We greatly appreciate your comments to improve our service.
We hope you choose to stay with us again and we will do our best to make your stay thoroughly enjoyable.
Yours sincerely,
Quality Department
SH Villa Gadea Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We spent a couple of days in the Costa Blanca, based in Altea in this hotel and really enjoyed it. The pool facilities are very nice indeed and include a pool bar, several pools, deck chairs and the usual works, and very nicely landscaped. The room itself was very comfortable - clean, seating area with sofa, bathroom with large shower, and a balcony overlooking the pool area. The buffet breakfast was a great way to start the day - lots and lots of stuff to choose from. I have no complaints and would visit again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Karl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shhoteles, Quality Department at Hotel SH Villa Gadea, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for having chosen the SH Villa Gadea Hotel for your stay in the Costa Blanca.
We greatly appreciate your comments, this encourage us to improve our service every day.
We will be delighted to welcome you if you choose to stay with us again.
Yours sincerely,
Quality Department
SH Villa Gadea Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the Villa Gadea - and would praise the quality of the hotel's staff, who are hard-working (long hours !) and courteous.

I'd add to the views posted on here that it's not a true five-star hotel (compared to the Westins of this world), though it's very good (and we'd return, too). A couple of small things let the Villa Gadea down (though don't let these put you off):

The treadmills in the gym ceased to work in our second week - no one seemed to know why or when they'd be fixed
The shallowest pool (with the poolside bar) had easily the cloudiest water I've seen in a hotel of this quality. I appreciate that, by its nature, it has a lot more small children in it - but that's no excuse for slackness in hygiene management

A few local pointers;
c.€80 by taxi to Alicante Airport
c.€20 by taxi to Benidorm (if you must)
c.€15 by taxi to Calpe (unimpressed - an upmarket Benidorm, now)
c.€10 by taxi to Altea (don't be fooled - it's a good 30 minute walk to the church on top of the hill, where the good bars and eateries are situated)
There are two very good beachside restaurants reachable from going out the beachside exit of the Villa Gadea - first left and first right - the one on the left-hand side was superb !

Still, a much-enjoyed stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Horseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shhoteles, Quality Department at Hotel SH Villa Gadea, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for having chosen the SH Villa Gadea Hotel for your stay in Altea.
We greatly appreciate your comments specially the ones related to the Spa and Gym which will help us improve our standards and rich a higher level of satisfaction among our customers in the future.
About our pools, rest assured that we meet all the higienic standards and we conduct regular checkings (at least three times a day), however we will take note of your comment.
Yours sincerely,
Quality Department
SH Villa Gadea Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

My daughter and I stayed at the hotel last week w/c 25 August 12.
We had a great time. I must say the rooms were large and clean and well serviced. Staff were very friendly and Helpful.
The views were fantastic and pools were not too busy and space for the loungers even if you didnt reserve with a towel in the morning.

We loved it. Five star hotel it is. Prices are pretty high for bar etc, but expected for the type of hotel we were in.

Good access to the beach and a few beachside cafes/huts.

We were glad that we had hired a car to travel out to some beaches and towns to break the day up and reception were more than happy to give us guidance.

I would recommend this hotel. I had picked it up from Tripadvisor and all worked well for us as a late booking.

Well done to SH Villa Gadea.

Alun

Room Tip: Sea views are highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank alunlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shhoteles, Quality Department at Hotel SH Villa Gadea, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for having chosen the SH Villa Gadea Hotel for your stay in Altea with your daughter.
We greatly appreciate your comments, we would like to emphasise that guest satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us.
We hope to see you during your next visit to Spain.
Yours sincerely,
Quality Department
SH Villa Gadea Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altea
1.0 mi away
Hotel Cap Negret
Hotel Cap Negret
#3 of 8 in Altea
560 reviews
4.4 mi away
Gran Hotel Sol y Mar
25.0 mi away
Hotel Bonalba
Hotel Bonalba
#1 of 1 in Mutxamel
1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Asia Gardens Hotel & Thai Spa, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
5.4 mi away
HOTEL SH IFACH
HOTEL SH IFACH
#5 of 31 in Calpe
934 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Abaco Altea
Hotel Abaco Altea
#1 of 8 in Altea
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel SH Villa Gadea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel SH Villa Gadea

Property: Hotel SH Villa Gadea
Address: Lugar urbanizacion Villa Gadea s/n, 03590 Altea, Spain (Formerly SH Melia Villa Gadea Beach Hotel)
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Altea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Altea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel SH Villa Gadea 5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SH Villa Gadea Hotel enjoys a privileged location, on a platform-like enclave looking out over the Mediterranean Sea in the picturesque village of Altea. Its spacious public areas and carefully chosen decor guarantee comfort and relaxation. The hotel was opened in 2005 and is completely integrated architecturally with its surroundings, faithfully reflecting the traditional style of the nearby village of Altea, whose historical quarter is a mere 3 km from the hotel. The SH Villa Gadea Hotel offers a great choice of dining options. The Thalasso Spa Centre and Thermal Club provide almost 2,000 m² of health, beauty and wellbeing (2 thermo-leisure swimming pools with sea water, counterflow river, relaxing geysers, swan-necks, bubble seats). There are also aromatic showers, Turkish baths, Roman baths, Finnish sauna and a relaxation area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel SH Villa Gadea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sh Melia Hotel Gadea Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing