We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel SH Villa Gadea
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Altea
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good hotel”
Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

We were impressed with this hotel, we had a superior room which was great, lovely big bathroom with jacuzzi bath and huge shower room plus nice balcony and sea view. Very clean and lots of goof facilities. I wasn't sure the hotel would be family friendly as there weren't many reviews from people travelling with young families when I booked but there were lots of children there so this was not a problem. The swimming pool areas was nice, although some areas were very slippy and a little dangerous. Like many other reviews getting a pool side lounger was a problem if you weren't out very early or put your towel out. There was room for more loungers in my opinion. Breakfast buffet was good, great selection. Dinner was good, the options were a little limited I felt. The buffet staff were not as attentive as I would expect for a 4/5 star hotel, we still had entree plates on our table when we went for dessert yet the saff were setting up breakfast tables!
We had D, B&B and felt it offered good value for money, the bar drinks were a little pricey.
On the whole I was impressed with the hotel and woud return.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Leigh82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shhoteles, Quality Department at Hotel SH Villa Gadea, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for having chosen the SH Villa Gadea Hotel for your stay in Spain.
Thanks to your appreciated help we can take over and handle in order to try to correct the deficiency in the service you noticed and reach a higher level of satisfaction among our customers because that's our principal mission.
We hope you choose to stay with us again and rest assured that we will do our best to make your stay thoroughly enjoyable.
Yours sincerely,
Quality Department
SH Villa Gadea Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    579
    380
    115
    48
    20
See reviews for
360
537
18
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vaale
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

This hotel was a great experience.
The only thing was that we had ordered a room with a balcony (wich one shoould do). And when we arrived they told us that they got us a really nice room. But when we cane there this was abviously a "second" room to one of the suites, and there was no balcony...

We where very disappointed and told the front desk this, they told us that it was fully booked this night, so even if we booked a room with balcony, we could not get it for this night... No good.. And no suggestion of giving us a refund or anything, just that they could give us a very nice room the day after..
We did not want our start of the vacation with a big discussion so we just said that this was ok, but it was a bad start, and I think that the staff could have done better...
And that we dont get what we have ordered is not good, and not very good advertising for the hotel.

But after this, we got a standard room with a balcony (wich we had ordered), but nothing special wich they actually told us during last evening that we should get a "splendid" room. It was a standard room with balcony.. Nothing more.

But the room was very nice, the wievs was very good, the size of the balcony was nice, anough for me and my wife to sit outside with a glass of wine in the evenings looking out on the sea..

The breakfast restaurant was one of the best ever, the breakfast was so nice, thay had almost everything, and it was not too crowdy either.. Very, very nice..

The rest of the restaurants was also good, but not excellent. and the system of always have to book a table before eating was nothing anyone told us, so we had to learn it the hard way, and it was to just wait until it was something available the first day......

The Pool area was very nice, nice pools, BUT if you went to the pool after 09.00 in the morning all the sunbeds where taken, there was only damaged beds left.... and some of the beds was actually not used before after lunch, so this is no good system....
I personally dont like to do such a thing if I dont expect to be at the pool before 12 or 1 ¨'clock but here they dont mind..
And the hotel dont care, so this together with the receprion we got, is the only bad things we caan tell.. But it is also no good , so the hotel needs to do something here..

Otherwise , the beach is 100 meter away and downhill, and there are full small restaurants at the beach also, wich you also have to pre book tables to eat, we learned... And the beach here is not sandy, it is rocks, round stones on the whole beach, recommend bathing shoes here, and be cautious with small children as thay have problems getting out of the water again..

But overall experaince is very good, location good, area good, wievs good, so we will go there again..

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room with balcony facing the sea, that is marvellous..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteinMobalpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shhoteles, Quality Department at Hotel SH Villa Gadea, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for having chosen the SH Villa Gadea Hotel for your holidays in Costa Blanca.
We greatly appreciate your comments about the hotel, this help us to improve our service every day.
We hope to see you when you return to Sh Villa Gadea Hotel in your next visit to Spain.
Yours sincerely,
Quality Department
SH Villa Gadea Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Liked the hotel, does what it says on the tin, excellent buffet and breakfast.
Accessible to beach and beach restaurants and others nearby, all very good and very reasonable.
Little sting on the tail at check out....booked through booking.com and the price quoted was not what the bill said and if we wished to pay in pounds as quoted there would be a 6% charge, so we opted for euro's which was at a poor exchange rate and charge, so left disappointed.

Pity booking.com cannot take our money online at booking and then we are a happy customer at check out with only 'extra's' to pay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shhoteles, Quality Department at Hotel SH Villa Gadea, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for having chosen the SH Villa Gadea Hotel for your stay in Spain.
We greatly appreciate your comments, specially the ones related to Breakfast Buffet which will help us improving our standards.
We have read your comments about the currency payment at check out. All our prices are quoted in Euros and all bills are settled in this currency . This is the only way to avoid discrepancies since the exchange rates among currencies vary constantly as you know. In any case, you can always pay by credit card the due amount in Euros and the bank applies the exchange rate accordingly.
We are very sorry about the inconvenience and we hope to be your hosts again in the future.
Yours sincerely,
Quality Department
SH Villa Gadea Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Having stayed at this quality hotel quite a few times, would like to say how welcome we were made to feel. The hotel has always been run to high standards, but one thing we sometimes found was a lack of warmth and service. This recent visit was a total contrast to previous visits, with all the staff very friendly and helpfull, which made our holiday a great one.
Well done Villa Gadea, keep it up!

Room Tip: Ask to view the room 1st, if not happy just speak to the reception , which we did and they did there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amphcoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shhoteles, Quality Department at Hotel SH Villa Gadea, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for having chosen the SH Villa Gadea Hotel for your stay in Spain.
We greatly appreciate your comments about our staff, this encourage us to improve our service every day.
We hope you choose to stay with us again and rest assured that we will do our best to make your stay thoroughly enjoyable.
Best regards,
Quality Department
SH Villa Gadea Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

This hotel is fabulous! Spotlessly clean, lovely rooms, great pool area and a good selection of food (for breakfast anyway - I only booked B&B). We travelled as a family of 4, but had to book 2 rooms due to the ages of my teenage children. Although we had asked for 2 rooms next to each other (with an adjoining door if possible) this request was not fulfilled. It wasn't really a problem though as we were still only 4 doors away frrom each other. The hotel was quiet when we first got there as schools had not yet broken up, however it was really busy on the last few days of the holiday. There is the usual issue with reserving sunbeds, but I think this happens everywhere. The only drawback with this hotel is that it is a little way out of Altea town. Some previous posts have stated it's a pleasant walk to Altea from the hotel, however, the pinewalk does not go all the way to the town and the road you have to walk along is very very busy. There is a taxi rank outside the hotel, but there are not taxis there all the time, you sometimes need to book one from reception (and this can be more expensive). Allow about 20euros per return journey. Most drivers spoke fairly good english or could at least understand where we wanted to go. Altea itself is split into the old town and the new town. The old top is at the top of a very steep hill, but it's well worth it once you get there. Plenty of nice little retaurants to eat at - take your pick according to what type of food you like to eat. Plenty of little 'boutique' shops lining the street here too, as well as a small craft market. The new part of the town (by the waterfront) also has a good selection of restaurants (amix was my favourite) and larger shops, but I didn't really shop here to be able to tell you more about it. There aren't many supermarkets around either (but I didn't look very far as I kept using the same ony close to the taxi rank in the town). All in all a fantastic holiday and although you can see Benidorm accross the bay they are completely different resorts. Altea is very quiet.

Room Tip: As usual the higher rooms have a good view over the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186466Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shhoteles, Quality Department at Hotel SH Villa Gadea, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for having chosen the SH Villa Gadea Hotel for your stay in Spain.
We greatly appreciate your comments, we would like to emphasise that guest satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us.
We hope you choose to stay with us again and rest assured that we will do our best to make your stay thoroughly enjoyable.
Yours sincerely,
Quality Department
SH Villa Gadea Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed at this hotel before and wanted to leave positive feedback as it's all ways consistently good especially the breakfast.

The swimming pools and it's pool bar are great which makes up for the stony beach.
We arrived in the afternoon and wasn't able to get a bed which we found you have to get up and make your nest for the day before breakfast I.e leave towels on the beds.
There are some great beach bars and restaurants which stay open late and can be accessed within a few minutes.
The town is a 5 minute drive away and well worth a visit.
The rooms are a nice size and I w old recommend the superior sea view as you can see the fishing boats on the horizon whilst sat on the balconie.
Thanks to all the staff for friendly stay and we will see you again on our next visit to altea.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shhoteles, Quality Department at Hotel SH Villa Gadea, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for having chosen the SH Villa Gadea Hotel for your stay in Costa Blanca, Spain.
Your comments encourage us to improve our service, we greatly appreciate your opinion.
We hope you choose to stay with us again and rest assured that we will do our best to make your stay thoroughly enjoyable.
Yours sincerely,
Quality Department
SH Villa Gadea Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

I came last year and I am back again. First morning I went to the pool area at about 11.45am. It was packed. I asked the pool man who was looking after towels, for a reclining chair. He pointed to an upright wooden bench. I had to take myself to the beach instead. The following morning, I did what everyone else seemed to be doing. I placed my beach towel on a chair to reserve it whilst I went in for breakfast. I asked each morning for a soft boiled egg but every day the chef said they didnt do it. This is such a simple dish to do . It would be good to have it on the menu. The rest of the breakfast was superb. Even champagne was available. I didnt have dinner as I was visiting friends in the area. so cannot comment on that.

Room Tip: I had the same room that I had last year which overlooked the car park despite asking for a sea view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 329julesanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shhoteles, Quality Department at Hotel SH Villa Gadea, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for having chosen the SH Villa Gadea Hotel for your stay in Spain.
We greatly appreciate your comments specially the ones related to Breakfast Buffet and the sunbeds which will help us improve our standards and rich a higher level of satisfaction among our customers in the future.
Yours sincerely,
Quality Department
SH Villa Gadea Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altea
1.0 mi away
Hotel Cap Negret
Hotel Cap Negret
#3 of 8 in Altea
529 reviews
4.4 mi away
Gran Hotel Sol y Mar
9.1 mi away
Asia Gardens Hotel & Thai Spa, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.0 mi away
Hotel Bonalba
Hotel Bonalba
#1 of 1 in Mutxamel
1,371 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Abaco Altea
Hotel Abaco Altea
#1 of 8 in Altea
461 reviews
5.4 mi away
HOTEL SH IFACH
HOTEL SH IFACH
#4 of 31 in Calpe
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel SH Villa Gadea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel SH Villa Gadea

Property: Hotel SH Villa Gadea
Address: Lugar urbanizacion Villa Gadea s/n, 03590 Altea, Spain (Formerly SH Melia Villa Gadea Beach Hotel)
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Altea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Altea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel SH Villa Gadea 5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SH Villa Gadea Hotel enjoys a privileged location, on a platform-like enclave looking out over the Mediterranean Sea in the picturesque village of Altea. Its spacious public areas and carefully chosen decor guarantee comfort and relaxation. The hotel was opened in 2005 and is completely integrated architecturally with its surroundings, faithfully reflecting the traditional style of the nearby village of Altea, whose historical quarter is a mere 3 km from the hotel. The SH Villa Gadea Hotel offers a great choice of dining options. The Thalasso Spa Centre and Thermal Club provide almost 2,000 m² of health, beauty and wellbeing (2 thermo-leisure swimming pools with sea water, counterflow river, relaxing geysers, swan-necks, bubble seats). There are also aromatic showers, Turkish baths, Roman baths, Finnish sauna and a relaxation area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel SH Villa Gadea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sh Melia Hotel Gadea Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing