We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful old town”

Casco antiguo de altea
Ranked #1 of 33 things to do in Altea
Certificate of Excellence
devon
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“wonderful old town”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Was drawn back to this town again 3rd time in twelve months, magical old town with lots of Spanish charm, and the views are spectacular, there was a wedding party having photos taken ,and i could not think of a prettier place to get married, if you are in this area of Spain visit Altea s old town with its church and elegant eateries you will not be disappointed .

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nise28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,056 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    710
    319
    21
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
90 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lovely Old Town”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This was one of my favorite "old towns" in the Javea area. Great place for photos of the streets and alley ways and wonderful views of the Sea. Loved wandering here.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Do not miss!!”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Even if it's just for an evening stroll and an ice cream, you cannot miss taking the hike or paying a taxi to take you to the plaza up on top of the hill. There are many artesans displaying their wares right in the plaza in the summer, and many many stores offer beautiful, original clothing, jewelry and gift items at very reasonable prices.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Krisaralla1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worth a visit, nice old town!”
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

We went to visit the markets on a Tuesday, one of the markets sells a load of rubbish to be honest but possibly worth a stroll around if its not too got. Unfortunately we were unable to find the food market, then when we stubbed upon it by accident it was being packed up! So worth getting there early and making sure you have a good idea where it is situated!

The town itself is very nice and peaceful, with a promenade and the old town worth walking around, the old town has some steep roads to walk up so probably worth packing your walking boots and some water!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ben I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Feels like Andalucia”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Old Altea is located at the top of a very steep hill, which is easily accessed on foot, even though the climb is a bit strenuous.

The old village is made up of splendent whitewashed little homes on winding streets and alleys, lined with quaint stores and all manner of bars, restaurants, ice cream parlors and whatnot.

The streets can be packed with tourists, especially late at night, but the atmosphere is nice and family friendly, no rowdiness or rude behaviour that we could see, several nights in a row.

We tried several eateries, and were not disappointed at any of them.

By all means, avoid driving there. Even with a GPS, you might get lost or stuck in the sometimes really narrow and winding streets and alleys. Park at the bottom of the hill and climb up.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Antonio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casco antiguo de altea also viewed

 
Alicante, Costa Blanca
Benidorm, Costa Blanca
 

Been to Casco antiguo de altea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing