We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Size does not matter!”

Xef Pirata - Gastro Bar
Ranked #7 of 268 Restaurants in Altea
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $42
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Spanish, Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Gastrobar camouflaged in a burger. Tapas, original and copyright, many of them pirated from the best chefs, homemade burgers, accompanied by good music, familiar and informal atmosphere, where we aim to give our best within our means, Apt All.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Size does not matter!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

The locals may not be the biggest in town, but the food certainly is grand!
The quality and tastes are excellent, the bar is great, the staff really does its best for you. We had (more than one) fantastic meals and Nights at Xef Pirata. Easily my favourite place in Altea centre!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bjarte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    539
    236
    75
    26
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
86 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“unbeatable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

We ate here with our french friends last week who are very into good restaurants in france (and all over the world) and they could not stop talking about the surprise menu we had for over 2 days! Just FANTASTIC!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank simone_wim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Tapas in Altea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

The Tapas served here are as good as any we have ever found in Spain and would appeal to those looking to experience real Tapas and not the usual tourist variety! The prices are very low compared to elsewhere so overall this place is really worth a detour.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ActiveOneDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lomianki, Poland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Exellent tapas!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

All tapas served in Chef Pirata are out of this world! After first visit we have beed returning there every single day of our week stay in Altea and have tasted almost all tapas from the menu. Except from tapas there are also salads and burgers in the menu. Mushroom ad Truffle croquettes are superb! Beef cheeks are fantastic. Risotto is perfect. Mini-tapas from ruta de tapas (October 2013) were simply the best. Piadina with gout cheese, figs etc realy nice. We will have to go back to Altea or even move there:) in order to be able to eat in Chef Pirata as often as possible.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jusia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best hamburger I been eaten and my man´s best tapas..:)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

It´s not a big Place and they have only 3 tables outside, so the best is to book it in advance.
We really liked it all..:)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank loannese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xef Pirata - Gastro Bar also viewed

Altea, Costa Blanca
 
Altea, Costa Blanca
Altea, Costa Blanca
 

Been to Xef Pirata - Gastro Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing