We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must stop if in Altea”

Xef Pirata - Gastro Bar
Ranked #6 of 271 Restaurants in Altea
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $42
Cuisines: Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Gastrobar camouflaged in a burger. Tapas, original and copyright, many of them pirated from the best chefs, homemade burgers, accompanied by good music, familiar and informal atmosphere, where we aim to give our best within our means, Apt All.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“A must stop if in Altea”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This restaurant was very accommodating with our toddler. The staff was great and our food was to die for. We are trying to arrange another visit already. We arrived around 5pm and it was very quiet, perfect for us with a toddler and no high chair. They close at 3am, so I am assuming it might be hard to get a seat later in the evening.

a must stop for tapas.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FOODIE_JOJO_54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    573
    247
    79
    27
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not to be missed - wonderful tapas”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Book ahead for a really fantastic tasting tapas menu – this is Michelin quality hidden away on a corner.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ReviewInternational
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious Tapas”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

This is a great little Tapas bar that I would recommend to others, the drinks are fairly priced unlike others i.e. €2 for a 350ml bottle of cola which is less than many others. (I don't mind paying for good food but being ripped off for drinks just annoys me) this food was great we had the tenderloin and the pork cheeks and have to say they were up there with the best we have had!

we arrived early so didn't have a problem getting a table but would suggest booking if you plan to eat later.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
114 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Incredible food”
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

The previous reviews are all on spot. Outstanding tapas, best we had in all of Spain. Recommended by a local. Great staff and service, good prices but best of all terrific tapas. I mean really good! We had pork cheek with mash potatoes, sardines with foie gras and the mini burger...wonderful! When in Altea, go find this out of the way little gem.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
90 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“stays good”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

nearly every 6 weeks I come to Altea and have dinner here a few times! and yesterday it was again very good! Good ingredients, top mix of different spices, a lot of 'emotion' in the food! nice wines...kind service, so what do you want more!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank simone_wim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xef Pirata - Gastro Bar also viewed

 
Altea, Costa Blanca
Altea, Costa Blanca
 

Been to Xef Pirata - Gastro Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing