We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, but disapointed.”
Review of Hotel Altaia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Altaia
Ranked #5 of 8 Altea B&B and Inns
Boston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Clean, but disapointed.”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Went away March 4th - 8th 2013 to celebrate our 39th wedding aniversary. We went with two friends and was looking forward to using this hotel for a base to explore the coast. When we arrived it was raining heavily so decided to eat in the hotel's restaurant, only to be told it was closed for the week. Surely an email to imform us when we booked would be normal practise. We got very wet running to a nearby chinese restaurant. We were told that the restaurant was under different management and was nothing to do with the hotel. We found the rooms clean and the views stunning, but one of our friends hurt themselves when sitting on a chair in the bar and it collapsing under him, when inspecting other chairs of the same type we saw that they had been reinforced by the hotel. So they had an on going problem with these chairs. We found the staff very helpfull but felt a little cheated that we had to eat out, we booked the hotel because it had it's own retaurant.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank studs18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    24
    14
    5
    4
See reviews for
6
35
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We returned to this hotel 2 years after visiting for the first time and everything I said previously still holds. This is a simple but very pretty hotel in a beautiful location.
We had the room at the front and the view was stunning.
The room was very clean, the bathroom was big.
The hotel was very accommodating as they managed to fit all 4 of us into the 1 room as it was only for 1 night.
I would like to have stayed longer as the hotel has such a peaceful ambience.

Room Tip: The sea rooms are beautiful but a little nosier than the rooms towards the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank huckle8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Great location - right on the seafront, and literally 100 metres away from the bus stop or train station, if ariving in Altea by these means. Hotel is simple, but clean and welcoming. The rooms were simple, but clean, and all had a sea view. We used the hotel for a one night stopover in Altea, so can't really comment on all the facilities, but for a cheap break in a good location, it was perfectly good value for money.

Room Tip: All have an oblique sea view, but there are 4 rooms at the very front of the building that have balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

staff were very helpful - we had a room at the side of this seafront hotel which gave us partial seaviews - clean room - good pressure in shower - lovely meal in restaurant - we would stay again

Room Tip: room at the side gave seaview without paying much higher rate for rooms at front
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank climber186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

This beach front hotel was charming! the position was perfect just a few steps to the beach. Private free parking which is a bonus.
Very clean and the staff friendly. Only stayed one night whilst on our travels along the mediteranian coast, we would use again when in that area.

Room Tip: Sea front rooms are more expensive, we had a side room with balcony and a view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kathryn_hurd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2010

The hotel is perfect.
It has a fantastic location right on the beach. The room was very clean and the beds very comfortable.
Could not ask for more from a beach front hotel.
There was nothing pretentious about the hotel, it does everything it sets out to do which is to provide comfortable accommodation by the sea in Altea.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank huckle8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2010

The little town is without all the high-rise ugliness of the surrounding Costa Blanca. A little oasis, with the old town of Altea rising behind - a delight of cobbled steps, little houses and restaurants tucked in as you rise to the top of the hill to the little chapel. Back down by the shore, Hotel Altaya is in the centre of everything - on the promenade, a delightful row of little bars/cafes/restaurants across the road from the sand and sea, could be 1980's - no razmatazz or vulgarity.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank caddens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Altea hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Cap Negret
Hotel Cap Negret
#3 of 8 in Altea
473 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel SH Villa Gadea
0.2 mi away
Hotel-Restaurante San Miguel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Abaco Altea
Hotel Abaco Altea
#1 of 8 in Altea
452 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Serena
Hotel La Serena
#7 of 8 in Altea
7 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Tossal d'Altea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Altaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Altaia

Property: Hotel Altaia
Address: Calle San Pedro 28, 03590 Altea, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Altea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Altea
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Altaia 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The unique place in Altea beachfront where you can be with your pet in an informal, familiar and comfortable ambient. 24 rooms with terrasse to the sea for lovers of salt smell and of rocking with the sea sound. Walking distance to every touristic and local amenity. Bikes for rent at 50mts. Private parking for clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Altaia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing