We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wannabe high class”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Tossal d'Altea
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Altea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2012

The hotel is characterized by trying to be of higer class than it really is. The owners work hard and around the clock, but don’t seem to manage to take care of it all. Small, but important, things are failing; full ashtrays from the evening before, the pool area not cleaned every day so empty boxes and glasses were standing several days, not filling up the breakfast table, old and dry bred, things which have been broken were not fixed and so on. The rooms were big and clean and the bed huge, but my god so hard. I felt like sleeping on a rock. The hotels also have different arrangements, and during our stay there vas two communions at the same time. It was extremely noisy, with a one man band trying to drown the sound from the music system and the people talking. The place was full of people, and we felt that there was no room for us at all in the hotel that day – we just had to leave the place.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reisenisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (274)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 274 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2012

This beautiful little hotel is tucked away at the top end of Altea and would have been a job to find without the Satnav. This,however, added to it's charm and meant that we were ensured of a peaceful few days away from the usual hurly-burly of town-centre accommodation.
Of course at this time of the year the hotel was practically empty and it is hard to judge what conditions would be like in high season.
The standard of the rooms was excellent and matched the magnificent views from the hotel.
The staff were all charming and the general atmosphere was relaxed and elegant.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jimmyjames81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

The location is perfect. Great views and charming staff. Its restaurant is mouth watering!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank airman74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

Despite directions from the tourist office and some dubious directions on the GPS, this place took some finding. On arrival the reception desk supported an abandoned pair of spectacles, and a nearby workman stared at me and mournfully advised "there is no reception" as if commenting on a defunct television. So we drove down to the seafront and had a late lunch on the seafront before returning and checking in, and then enjoying the pool (set beyond a little garden of pomegranate trees and baby palms) for a couple of hours. The hotel has more the mood of a restaurant with rooms, or a guesthouse rather than a hotel, and is very pleasant whichever way you look at it. I say this as those expecting the benefits of a full blooded four-star hotel are likely to feel a little disgruntled, but if you are happy to feel a guest in a lovely hillside villa you will have little to complain about. The rooms are well appointed and there are some fine views, and in the morning a generous breakfast with fresh orange juice is available (don't miss the first class almond cake). We had room 104 which has dual aspect with fine views. The walk into town is a mixed experience, with some guard dogs belonging to a villa at the end of a track that would do well in a Stephen King horror movie. The walk is longer than other contributors have said, unless their goal was to reach the nearest bar. But the old town and seafront are not too far and Altea is a great spot for a few days. Warmly recommended and great value.

Room Tip: Room 104 has dual aspect and good views towards the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank LesFlamantsRoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

New hotel in old olive oil factory. It has an isolated feel and yet is only 10 mins walk west of the old town (passing Palau Altea). Our 2nd floor room was spacious, sparsely furnished, had a small balcony with expansive views across to the grand limestone mountains running out to the coastline at Peñon de Calpe. Pool, garden and restaurant with terrace. Good buffet breakfast and very friendly staff. Either eat in the nice-looking and rather classy hotel restaurant or (if you don't mind the short walk home in the dark) try the busy tourist scene in the town centre where there are more restaurants than you can shake a stick at. For a cheap and cheerful pizza-salad-wine consider the popular Pizzeria Stromboli in Calle Mayor.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bicholisto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We stayed on the "Romantic package" which was fantastic. This included a double room, special evening meal, cava, breakfast and a bottle of olive oil to take away with us - all for 155 euros!! The room was enormous and traditionally furnished with a brilliant ensuite - the power shower had several back massage heads- great! We had a small private terrace with a table and chairs and there was a small mini bar. The room was clean and simple with flat screen tv, full length mirror and huge bed. The pool area was small but perfectly formed for a small hotel. The evening meal was superb with six courses - a fine dining experience and an excellent bottle of cava. The table was booked for the evening so we could decide when we wanted to go down to dinner. Breakfast was self service buffet style but very good. The hotel was a little out of the main town but not too far from Altea old town- which was very picturesque. It was a lovely romantic getaway, which still seemed family friendly as children were staying but it was a quiet location.

Room Tip: Our room was 202 and we had a terrace - there was a lift but it only went up to the first floor. Thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MiniJan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

This was a beautiful hotel, really clean and lovely grounds but this isn't much good if you can't sleep because of the noise. There is absolutely no sound proofing in this hotel, you can almost hear people breath in the next room.
I suggest soft close mechanisms on doors as every time a door closed the whole hotel woke up.
This was very evident as any room with a please be quiet sign had it on door.
Being very fair, the breakfast was very poor, with flys sitting on uncovered plates of meat and cheese. The lady who did breakfast was very rude to me one morning for not using a saucer- even though there weren't any?
As I said at the beginning, this is a beautiful hotel with beautiful grounds but again the noise was dreadful and no one needs to be shouted at when you are on holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mpk9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altea
2.4 mi away
Hotel SH Villa Gadea
0.7 mi away
Hotel Abaco Altea
Hotel Abaco Altea
#1 of 7 in Altea
499 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Cap Negret
Hotel Cap Negret
#3 of 7 in Altea
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Serena
Hotel La Serena
#5 of 7 in Altea
44 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel-Restaurante San Miguel
2.3 mi away
Hotel Sun Palace Albir Lounge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tossal d'Altea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tossal d'Altea

Address: Pla de Castell 96, 03590 Altea, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Altea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Altea
Price Range: $103 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tossal d'Altea 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the heights of the town of Altea, just 300 metres away from the Palau Altea Centre d'Arts, or Altea Concert Hall, and a stone’s throw from the Old Quarter, the Hotel Tossal d’Altea was built on the site of a traditional olive oil mill which for over 300 years was used to produce olive oil. The hotel, whose design is reminiscent of Altean tradition while incorporating modern amenities and luxuries, caters mainly for guests seeking relaxation and wellbeing in a warm and welcoming environment in the heart of nature. The structure and decorative style of the hotel, whose rural design is typical of Altean country houses, blend in harmoniously with its restful setting, and it has sweeping views of the countryside, mountains and sea. What sets the hotel apart and endows it with its own personality is its core philosophy to provide attentive and personal services and a quality product for the highest guest satisfaction. Inside the hotel there is a restaurant which has two air-conditioned dining rooms which are open to the general public, where guests can enjoy Mediterranean cuisine as well as typical regional dishes. The "Menjador Almàssera" has a cylindrical stone mill and some presses in the centre, and a fireplace, while the "Saló Altea" is a more intimate area that is set apart from the main dining room. There is also a coffee lounge for guests wishing to have a coffee, which also serves the open air terrace. Hotel and outside guests may use all the restaurant facilities. The hotel has 15 rooms on the first floor and 7 rooms on the second floor. The spacious double rooms (which can also be used as single rooms) have balconies with panoramic views, mini-bar, television, telephone, internet, a safe, air-conditioning, heating, exquisite bathrooms etc. We can also highly recommend our charming Double room with canopy bed, and the uniquely elegant Special Suite which has a private sauna and hydromassage bath in an adjoining room. Whatever your tastes and interests are, we guarantee that your stay will be as pleasant and restful as possible. The hotel’s outdoor grounds include two large outdoor car parks right next to the hotel which have security surveillance, landscaped areas for enjoyable strolls, and an extensive terrace where you can sunbathe and enjoy the gentle breeze. There is also a swimming pool and gym for those who wish to use them. There is no extra charge for using these facilities, which have all been designed to provide easy access for disabled people. You are our number one priority. Visit us and relax in a restful and peaceful setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Tossal d'Altea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing