We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Out of town, comfortable hillside villa with some fine views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Tossal d'Altea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Tossal d'Altea
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Altea
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
182 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Out of town, comfortable hillside villa with some fine views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

Despite directions from the tourist office and some dubious directions on the GPS, this place took some finding. On arrival the reception desk supported an abandoned pair of spectacles, and a nearby workman stared at me and mournfully advised "there is no reception" as if commenting on a defunct television. So we drove down to the seafront and had a late lunch on the seafront before returning and checking in, and then enjoying the pool (set beyond a little garden of pomegranate trees and baby palms) for a couple of hours. The hotel has more the mood of a restaurant with rooms, or a guesthouse rather than a hotel, and is very pleasant whichever way you look at it. I say this as those expecting the benefits of a full blooded four-star hotel are likely to feel a little disgruntled, but if you are happy to feel a guest in a lovely hillside villa you will have little to complain about. The rooms are well appointed and there are some fine views, and in the morning a generous breakfast with fresh orange juice is available (don't miss the first class almond cake). We had room 104 which has dual aspect with fine views. The walk into town is a mixed experience, with some guard dogs belonging to a villa at the end of a track that would do well in a Stephen King horror movie. The walk is longer than other contributors have said, unless their goal was to reach the nearest bar. But the old town and seafront are not too far and Altea is a great spot for a few days. Warmly recommended and great value.

Room Tip: Room 104 has dual aspect and good views towards the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LesFlamantsRoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    80
    21
    2
    7
See reviews for
45
148
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
Level Contributor
171 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

New hotel in old olive oil factory. It has an isolated feel and yet is only 10 mins walk west of the old town (passing Palau Altea). Our 2nd floor room was spacious, sparsely furnished, had a small balcony with expansive views across to the grand limestone mountains running out to the coastline at Peñon de Calpe. Pool, garden and restaurant with terrace. Good buffet breakfast and very friendly staff. Either eat in the nice-looking and rather classy hotel restaurant or (if you don't mind the short walk home in the dark) try the busy tourist scene in the town centre where there are more restaurants than you can shake a stick at. For a cheap and cheerful pizza-salad-wine consider the popular Pizzeria Stromboli in Calle Mayor.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bicholisto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

We stayed on the "Romantic package" which was fantastic. This included a double room, special evening meal, cava, breakfast and a bottle of olive oil to take away with us - all for 155 euros!! The room was enormous and traditionally furnished with a brilliant ensuite - the power shower had several back massage heads- great! We had a small private terrace with a table and chairs and there was a small mini bar. The room was clean and simple with flat screen tv, full length mirror and huge bed. The pool area was small but perfectly formed for a small hotel. The evening meal was superb with six courses - a fine dining experience and an excellent bottle of cava. The table was booked for the evening so we could decide when we wanted to go down to dinner. Breakfast was self service buffet style but very good. The hotel was a little out of the main town but not too far from Altea old town- which was very picturesque. It was a lovely romantic getaway, which still seemed family friendly as children were staying but it was a quiet location.

Room Tip: Our room was 202 and we had a terrace - there was a lift but it only went up to the first floor. Thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MiniJan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

This was a beautiful hotel, really clean and lovely grounds but this isn't much good if you can't sleep because of the noise. There is absolutely no sound proofing in this hotel, you can almost hear people breath in the next room.
I suggest soft close mechanisms on doors as every time a door closed the whole hotel woke up.
This was very evident as any room with a please be quiet sign had it on door.
Being very fair, the breakfast was very poor, with flys sitting on uncovered plates of meat and cheese. The lady who did breakfast was very rude to me one morning for not using a saucer- even though there weren't any?
As I said at the beginning, this is a beautiful hotel with beautiful grounds but again the noise was dreadful and no one needs to be shouted at when you are on holiday.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mpk9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for two nights in a superior room which was lovely . It had a great fourposter bed which was very comfortable . The room was large and had a lovely airy feel with a nice patio door leading on to a small balcony with table and chairs . The bathroom was large , very clean with a nice powerful over the bath shower . The hotel itself has some lovely seating areas and a great little pool which was always quiet . We had dinner in the hotel one night which was lovely . They do a menu del dia or A la Catre . Breakfast is a buffet of breads , cheeses, ham, yogurts etc and a fantastic chocolate cake . This is a really great little hotel and the only critisism I have is it is along an unlit road about a 10 minute walk into Altea town . It was difficult to find even with sat nav as it's postcode only takes you to the middle of Altea town . We had to put in the longitude and latitude coordinates to take us there .
Altea itself it a beautiful little town and we had a fantastic meal in a restaurant called El Paso which was on one if the cobbled main streets . The town really comes alive at night and is fantastic . It is also a good base for visiting Guadalest Castle and the Fomts del Algar .
Definitely an area in Spain I would revisit , and Benidorm is only a short drive away if you like a more exciting night life.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LIZcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

We stayed here for two nights en-route to southern Spain. It was tricky to find and so we were pleased that we had the satnav. Our room was huge, spotlessly clean and with great views over the hills. One downside is that there is no lift to the second floor and this meant lugging all the stuff for the baby up two flights of stairs, although the owner took pity on me and helped!
There is free internet use in the lobby (hotel's PC). The season was only just starting when we were there and so it was quiet, but we enjoyed sitting by the hotel pool. There is a bar in the summer months which would be nice. The owner told me that they are very busy with weddings in June and early July and so weekends might be better avoided then.
The best thing about this hotel is its location - a 15 minute walk to Altea marina - and the food, which is some of the best that we have had in Spain. The food is all cooked to order, is very reasonable and the chef came out to talk to us and ask what we had enjoyed and whether he could make it even more appetising!
We have recommended this hotel to several friends and family members and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Try to get a first floor room unless you need a balcony that is secure for young children
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lirac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

We stayed in the hotel over a long weekend with our 5 month old baby for a friends wedding. The staff were so lovely and very accommodating to our baby needs. The pool was beautiful and we had it to ourselves most days. Breakfast was really nice, over looking the pool. We didn't have a car, but the walk to and from the beach is not too far and taxis are cheap. We found the old town which is a 10 minute walk from the hotel, which is magical and a must see. We would defiantly come back to the hotel for complete relaxation.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beccav123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altea
2.4 mi away
Hotel SH Villa Gadea
1.4 mi away
Hotel Cap Negret
Hotel Cap Negret
#3 of 8 in Altea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Abaco Altea
Hotel Abaco Altea
#1 of 8 in Altea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Serena
Hotel La Serena
#7 of 8 in Altea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
6.7 mi away
Gran Hotel Sol y Mar
1.9 mi away
Albir Playa Hotel & Spa
Albir Playa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 14 in L'Alfas del Pi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tossal d'Altea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tossal d'Altea

Property: Hotel Tossal d'Altea
Address: Partida Pla de Castell, 96, 03590 Altea, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Altea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Altea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tossal d'Altea 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the heights of the town of Altea, just 300 metres away from the Palau Altea Centre d'Arts, or Altea Concert Hall, and a stone’s throw from the Old Quarter, the Hotel Tossal d’Altea was built on the site of a traditional olive oil mill which for over 300 years was used to produce olive oil. The hotel, whose design is reminiscent of Altean tradition while incorporating modern amenities and luxuries, caters mainly for guests seeking relaxation and wellbeing in a warm and welcoming environment in the heart of nature. The structure and decorative style of the hotel, whose rural design is typical of Altean country houses, blend in harmoniously with its restful setting, and it has sweeping views of the countryside, mountains and sea. What sets the hotel apart and endows it with its own personality is its core philosophy to provide attentive and personal services and a quality product for the highest guest satisfaction. Inside the hotel there is a restaurant which has two air-conditioned dining rooms which are open to the general public, where guests can enjoy Mediterranean cuisine as well as typical regional dishes. The "Menjador Almàssera" has a cylindrical stone mill and some presses in the centre, and a fireplace, while the "Saló Altea" is a more intimate area that is set apart from the main dining room. There is also a coffee lounge for guests wishing to have a coffee, which also serves the open air terrace. Hotel and outside guests may use all the restaurant facilities. The hotel has 15 rooms on the first floor and 7 rooms on the second floor. The spacious double rooms (which can also be used as single rooms) have balconies with panoramic views, mini-bar, television, telephone, internet, a safe, air-conditioning, heating, exquisite bathrooms etc. We can also highly recommend our charming Double room with canopy bed, and the uniquely elegant Special Suite which has a private sauna and hydromassage bath in an adjoining room. Whatever your tastes and interests are, we guarantee that your stay will be as pleasant and restful as possible. The hotel’s outdoor grounds include two large outdoor car parks right next to the hotel which have security surveillance, landscaped areas for enjoyable strolls, and an extensive terrace where you can sunbathe and enjoy the gentle breeze. There is also a swimming pool and gym for those who wish to use them. There is no extra charge for using these facilities, which have all been designed to provide easy access for disabled people. You are our number one priority. Visit us and relax in a restful and peaceful setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Tossal d'Altea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing