We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Abaco Altea
Nearby Hotels
$82
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hostal Fornet(Altea)(Great Value!)
$43
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Nuevo Hotel Cap Negret(Altea)(Great Value!)
$113
$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hostal Casa del Mar(Altea)(Great Value!)
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$47
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hostal El Trovador(Altea)(Great Value!)
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$182
$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (507)
Filter reviews
507 results
Traveler rating
447
53
4
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
447
53
4
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmoulin rougeold townboutique hotellittle gemrestaurant recommendationson arrivalroof terracechocolate dipped strawberrieschilled cavafantastic hotelhome from homea family run hotelrose petals on the bedstaff went out of their waycopa americarecommended restaurantsmemorable stay
Filter
Updating list...
110 - 115 of 507 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We had a pleasent stay at Abaco. We however appreciate to be able to manage ourselves when staying in a hotel. For us to feel comfortable this is important. This beeing a small hotel you get very close to the staff, and being friendly and smalltalking all the time may for some feel a bit stressfull.

Rooms were cosy and clean, but relatively small. You also could easely hear whining from the waterpipes (from the other rooms).

All in all a pleasent stay in a nice hotel in nice surroundings. Altea is really beautiful and staying here in the old town with a parking space available was really good.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kasty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAbacoAltea, Gerente at Hotel Abaco Altea, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Dear Client,

Thank you very much for your message shared in our Tripadvisor page.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and felt comfortable and well looked after. we are also happy to know that you enjoyed the town of Altea and found the hotel well situated and pratical due to our parking availability.

We are indeed a small hotel where we enjoy looking after our customer´s but due respect their privacy and comfort it is the luxury of staying in a small hotel.

Thank you very much and hope to meet you and your family back again at the hotel.

Regards,

Adelina & Thomas Caparo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Hotel Abaco has excellent reviews on Tripadvisor, particularly commenting on the staff hospitality and all are justified. Unfortunately, Adelina and Thomas were away during our 3 day stay (21st-24th June) but we were left in the very capable hands of Julie, Kellie, Natalia and Antonio. We stayed in Provence room, while smaller than we expected it captured the look and lavender scent of this area of Southern France. The hotel does not have a solarium or communal terrace so we were glad we opted for one of the two rooms (Provence or Kashbah) with a small terrace which overlooks the blue ceramic dome, characteristic of the church in old town Altea. We availed of the secure parking space (€10/day). Antonio parked the car for us (as we had drank a complimentary glass of cava) - the other days we didn't have any problems, but it wasn't full. The hotel reception desk is not occupied from 14:00-16:00, so I would recommend emailing ahead with your travel plans and update if they change. We forgot to and arrived earlier than expected (phone number on the door to ring if you need to). Breakfast was great with fresh local produce including freshly cooked eggs, coffee and squeezed orange juice. The town of Altea is picture postcard and we were lucky to be there during the celebrations of San Juan which was very busy and added to a great atmosphere. We got great recommendations from Kellie for restaurants (Xef Pirata - excellent tapas, really excellent) and places to visit from Julie (Guadalest). The promenade in Altea seafront is great for good long walks and reasonably prices seafood. The beach itself is quite stoney and not comfortable for sunbathing, although loungers are available to rent. The hotel offers a very personal experience. During our stay the weather was beautiful and sunny and as Abaco doesn't have an outdoor terrace we unfortunately didn't spend as much time in the hotel to justify the cost so for that reason only I am giving a 4/5. If it was a winter or off peak stay I would most certainly have awarded 5/5, for us I think the hotel is more conducive to a cosy romantic stay. Hotel Abaco deserves all it's accolades. We hope to return for a visit.

Room Tip: As the hotel doesn't have a terrace suggestopt for one of the two rooms with a terrace (Provence or Kashbah) for €24 supplement while small, is a sun trap in the afternoon with views of the church and is worth it if you enjoy an evening glass of wine while getting ready in the evening.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PandFDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAbacoAltea, Gerente at Hotel Abaco Altea, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Dear Client,

Thank you very much for your opinion, we are so pleased to have received such a detailed description of your stay.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your visit and found the hotel and town so wonderful. Indeed Altea is full of lovely picturesque “picture postcard” views.

We are so thankful to receive all your accolades and recommendations and pleased to know that you enjoyed all dinner and activities recommendations.

Unfortunately we did not have the chance to meet you as Thomas and I had a family urgent matter but we are very fortunate to have left you with a great team that assisted you so well during your stay.

We hope to meet you soon in another occasion.

Thank you again.

Best regards,

Adelina & Thomas Caparo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed at this lovely hotel for 3 nights last week. From the moment you step into the hotel you feel the warm atmosphere. You are greeted with a glas of cava, strawberries and big smiles.
The rooms are beautifully decorated, and the breakfast delicious.
So dear Adelina and Thomas; Thank you very much! We will come back.
Hasta la vista
May y Øystein

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank May711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAbacoAltea, Gerente at Hotel Abaco Altea, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear May & Oystein,

Thank you very much for your "fantastic" comment, we are very pleased to hear that you had a fantastic stay and enjoyed the decoration of the rooms as well as our breakfast.

We are also very happy to hear that you enjoyed the greeting and the arrival to our hotel, we were also very happy to meet you.

Thank you again and really hope to have you back again soon.

Best regards,

Adelina & Thomas Caparo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

A beautiful family run boutique hotel in a gorgeous town. Lovely themed rooms: we stayed in the Kasbah one. The other ones I can remember are Provence and Moulin Rouge. The breakfast was delicious and the service was excellent and very friendly. The staff were particularly helpful to us when our car broke down. The manager Thomas personally walked us round all of the local mechanics to try and get it fixed. If you are looking for a hotel in Altea we could not recommend this one more highly!

Room Tip: They are all themed so ask which ones are available and choose the one that takes your fancy.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Outandabout186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAbacoAltea, Gerente at Hotel Abaco Altea, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear Both,

Thank you again for your kind comment and for taking the time to share your experience in our Tripadvisor page.

We hope you were able to resolve the car issue, we were very to have helped you.

We are very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay in particular your room, the service provided and our breakfast.

Thank you again for choosing our hotel and hope to meet you soon!

Regards,

Adelina & Thomas Caparo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights recently. Very friendly service from bot owner and the lady who serves breakfast. Nice rooms. All round very relaxing , small intimate and personal experience. Will definitely go back. ps if you have a car pre-book parking as Altea is not car friendly

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shadlawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas C, Manager at Hotel Abaco Altea, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Dear Client,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us through our Tripadvisor page.

We are very pleased to know that you found our service friendly and the hotel lovely. We are also glad to know that your had a relaxing stay.

Thank you again for recommending our car park, it is true that Altea can be difficult times to find parking space.

We look forward to meeting you again soon!

Best regards,

Adelina & Thomas Caparo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews