We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Really lovely” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Abaco Altea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Abaco Altea
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Altea
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Found by complete chance and was very pleasant. Small and boutique in style with a welcome glass of cava and tea and coffee on tap. Breakfast was great too lots of choice. Short walk to the main old town or down to the beach areas. Train station 5 mins away.

Room Tip: All the rooms have different themes
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hungrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAbacoAltea, Manager at Hotel Abaco Altea, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dar client,

We are thrilled to know that your experience at Hotel Abaco was really lovely and glad to know that you decided to come visit us despite the the circumstances.

Thank you very much for your comments and happy to know that you enjoy our breakfast, service, conceptvand location,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    45
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
325
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our relaxing time in Altea. The service was great from our arrival (cava and chocolate strawberries!) through to the very reliable restaurant recommendations. We were also recommended walks we could do along the coast before the sun got too hot. Recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen_and_Anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAbacoAltea, Manager at Hotel Abaco Altea, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Stephen and Anna,

Thank you, thank you, thank you! It is you who we need to thanks. Firstly, for sharing your experience in our Tripadvisor page. Secondly, for highlighting your appreciation for the dinner recommendations and walking routes. Lastly for letting us know that the service was great from the start.

Thank you again.

Regards,

Adelina & Thomas Caparo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at Hotel Abaco and it was a very nice stay. The hotel has 6 rooms and this combined with the location (in the old town), the very nice interior, a personal and very friendly service makes made it a great stay!

Room Tip: The rooms are very nice but not very big, this is good to know so you will have the right expectatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAbacoAltea, Manager at Hotel Abaco Altea, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear kristina,


Thank you very much for your comment, it was a pleasure meeting you and having you in our home for four days.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the hotel and found the service we offered friendly.

It is a great honour to know that you had a great stay at Hotel Abaco.

For future reference we woul highly recommend for long stays to book a superior room instead of the standard rooms, although these rooms are slightly more expensive the extra space and amenities makes it worth it.

Thank you and hope to have you again soon,

Regards,

Adelina & Thomas Caparo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wakefield
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

To celebrate our wedding anniversary my wife & I (after many very helpful e-mails) arrived to be greeted by Thomas in the street, he helped us park before presenting a lovely glass of cava & a chocolate strawberry allowing us to relax before showing us to our room.
We stayed in the Marrakesh room which was perfect for all our needs (as was the hotel), very comfortable, with a small balcony but the hotel is ideally situated in the old town - great for exploring Altea's wonderful whitewashed streets, restaurants, bars & shops.
This is a family run hotel & they simply couldn't do enough for us - answered all our (at times daft) questions, recommended lots of great places to visit...so little time!! We'll be back!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhillipWakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAbacoAltea, Manager at Hotel Abaco Altea, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear client,

Thank you for choosing us to celebrate your anniversary in our hotel. We were honoured to have you for such a special celebration.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your room and thought the hotel was comfortable and well situated.

We hope you have time to return soon again!

Thank you and congratulations!

Regards,

Adelina & Thomas Caparo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bembridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights with my husband, arranged a fruit fondue and a bottle of Cava in our room - the Provence room, as a surprise for him and this was executed perfectly! Thank you. Room facilities very good and everywhere exceptionally clean.A really pleasant stay with very good restaurant recommendations. You will not be disappointed, you will love it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaineshelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAbacoAltea, Manager at Hotel Abaco Altea, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Elaine,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience in our Tripadvisor page.

It was a pleasure having you in our hotel and we are so pleased to know that your stay was fantastic.

We are glad to know that you found your room and facilities very good and enjoyed your husband’s surprise.

We hope you have you back again soon, thank you for your recommendations.

Best regards,

Adelina & Thomas Caparo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Where do we begin? The hotels owner Thomas (not forgetting his father Antonio) and the exceptionally pleasant & allways willing to assist "Rita" really made us feel important as clients, unlike many hotels that we have resided with over the years. On the evening of our arrival which was after 10 pm, we were greeted by Antonio who kindly insisted that we relax in the lovely reception area and provided us with a glass of Cava and a beautifully chilled strawberry covered with chocolate before taking our cases up to our room. The room was amazing and had a small balcony toward the front of the hotel, this provided a view of the old town church high on the left hand side and the beautiful mountain range on the right hand side, the perfect start to our holiday in celebration of our wedding anniversary. The hospitality shown to us was extraordinary, nothing was too much trouble for our hosts. Even when our hired car broke down and I was gettin nowhere with the hire company, Rita took control and phoned on our behalf to speed things up, it worked! The recommendations for restaurants, site seeing and all the other holiday things you want do were so kindly provided on a regular basis. Thomas & his wife Adelina have recently had a baby ( Tristan) and we wish them well with their long term project! Would we go back? Absolutely, no hesitation, we couldn't recommend it enough. Thank you to all at the Hotel Abaco Inn. Patricia & Jim McKinlay

Room Tip: All room were lovely, we were allowed to look at them, but ours was the "Provence" and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAbacoAltea, Manager at Hotel Abaco Altea, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Jim and Patricia,

Fantastic news to know that we were able to spoil you! We are also pleased to hear that you found the hotel and service exceptionally pleasant and felt unique.

We are also glad to know that you enjoyed the strawberries and cava and enjoyed the room and its views.

Thank you for your kind recommendations and lovely comments you have shared with us and for trusting us in celebrating your anniversary at our hotel.

We hope to meet you again soon; it was our pleasure to spoil you!

Thank you again & happy anniversary!.

Regards,

Adelina, Thomas, Antonio, Rita, Julie & Tristan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

We chose this hotel based upon trip advisor reviews and were not disappointed. The customer service from Thomas and Rita and the quality of our room was first class. The restaurant recommendations were outstanding and the hotel was a great base for our daily forays into the mountains of Costa Blanca. On our first night of four we were met by Rita with cava and chocolate covered strawberries and allowed to relax as we checked in. Our room, the Havana, was located at the front of the hotel and was very quiet. The curtains were good and kept out the morning light. The over the bath shower was hot and powerful. Breakfast was fresh, varied and plentiful with cheese, meats, cereal, fresh fruit, yogurt, pastries and freshly squeezed orange juice. We would recommend the street level secure garaged parking option which is at an extra cost as it gives you peace of mind and avoids having to find parking in the often narrow streets. If driving, we would recommend that you leave your car at the garage level when checking in as it avoids having to manoeuvre through the very narrow streets in and around the hotel's entrance.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAbacoAltea, Manager at Hotel Abaco Altea, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear friends,

Fantastic news to hear, that our hospitality, hotel and service did not disappoint you. We highly appreciate and feel very proud knowing that you considered us first class. Definitely our reviews already set the standard very high so it becomes very challenging and it is our accomplishment to be sable to exceed our client’s expectations.

We are pleased to know that the situation of the hotel was also convenient for daily forays and considered our private garage helpful and needful.

We again thank you for your excellent recommendations and for sharing them in our Tripadvisor page.

The pleasure was all ours and we would be delighted to have you back.

Best regards,

Adelina & Thomas & Rita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altea
1.9 mi away
Hotel SH Villa Gadea
0.9 mi away
Hotel Cap Negret
Hotel Cap Negret
#3 of 8 in Altea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Serena
Hotel La Serena
#7 of 8 in Altea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Gran Hotel Sol y Mar
6.4 mi away
Villa Venecia Hotel Boutique
0.6 mi away
Hotel Tossal d'Altea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abaco Altea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abaco Altea

Property: Hotel Abaco Altea
Address: Calle Salva 13, 03590 Altea, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Altea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Altea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Abaco Altea 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A former 18th century bakery shapes this charming hotel in the heart of Altea a few meters from the commercial center and coastline. Its six themed rooms offer a warm and friendly atmosphere full of small details that will make your stay unforgettable.After 8 years at the controls of Tony and Linda (founders and restorers of the hotel), Hotel Abaco is currently managed by Adelina and Thomas - a couple of hoteliers who decided to embark on this world since its start in Switzerland in the prestigious university "Le Roches". Place, where they met and decided to share their passion for working in luxury hotels and since then have worked through the world in (U.S., Europe, UAE and Seychelles, etc.) Both very versatile in their areas of expertise have based their principles on three specific factors: Quality, Attention to detail and Customer Satisfaction.Their work philosophy is reflected not only in the management of the hotel and rigorous attention they devote to the rooms, but also through the personalized and attentive dedication to exceeding their customers satisfaction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Abaco Altea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing