We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Encanto - Spanish for charming” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Abaco Altea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Abaco Altea
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Altea
Certificate of Excellence
Galway City
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Encanto - Spanish for charming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Altea is a gorgeous white washed town. Hotel Abaco is the jewel in the crown. In some ways I was a little nervous before we arrived at Hotel Abaco. How can anyone live up to the fabulous reviews on tripadvisor. We're a young (ish) couple in their forties & I wondered whether it would be too quiet for us. It was, but for all the right reasons. Hotel Abaco really is a gem. Situated on a very quiet street but close to the higher old town it takes a little bit of finding with your sat nav but having stayed there and met the owners I have no doubt that if you get lost just pull up, give them a call and Thomas will come and get you. The welcome you will receive is second to none. Thomas was there to meet us and as they have just had a beautiful baby Adeline just had time to pop in to say hello. This small but beautiful hotel is wonderfully decorated with fantastic attention to detail from Thomas's father & mother. The whole hotel oozes class. The rooms are fabulous. The breakfast is wonderful but most importantly you leave with a sense of having stayed with friends rather than hoteliers. My advice? Treat yourself to at least one night there. Have a chat with the new young grandfather (who will enthuse you of how he renovated every area and just how old that front door is) and enjoy every minute. Romance is not dead nor gone. It's in candles on stairs at night, soft music in the background and a promise to return. We loved it.

Room Tip: We stayed in Caesars room but I'd imagine they'd all be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DavidandJoann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAbacoAltea, Manager at Hotel Abaco Altea, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear David & Joann,

Thank you very much for your lovely comment and for sharing your experience in our Tripadvisor page.

We are so pleased to know that our hotel exceeded your expectations. You are so right, our Tripadvisor page do show fantastic comments and can be hard to believe. We are overwhelmed and amazed with the great experiences we read.

Hotel Abaco is a very special place and this is why we love sharing it with whoever wishes to stay. Thank you for your recommendations and glad to know that you found the hotel wonderfully decorated and enjoyed the breakfast and your room.

It was a real pleasure having you with us, and hope you have an opportunity to stay longer next time.

P.S Thank you for the card!

Best regards,

Adelina & Thomas Caparo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    47
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
334
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lymington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We can confirm from our experience how good this little hotel is. We stayed in a cosy little room but good sized bathroom with a Moulin Rouge theme which was fun. Owner on his own initiative booked restaurant for us (Artiste I think) which was excellent too and otherwise would have been full by the time we got there. Shame we only had one night to stay. Recommend using the garage parking. And if driving make sure your map reader has her wits about her when finding it (luckily mine did).

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Norman C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAbacoAltea, Gerente at Hotel Abaco Altea, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
ear Client,

Thank you very much for your kind comments and for sharing them in our Tripadvisor page.

We are so pleased to know that you enjoyed the room you stayed in. Moulin Rouge is a beautiful room and the bathroom is indeed very cute and comfortable sizewise.

It was our pleasure to assist you with the restaurant recommendation and reservation.

We were delighted to have you and hope you have another chance to come back for a longer stay!

Best regards,

Adelina & Thomas Caparo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirepoix, France
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

After reading the Tripadvisor reviews on this hotel, we had high expectations, and I'm pleased to say they didn't disappoint!
From the moment we arrived to be greeted with a glass of cava and chocolate covered strawberry we felt special. The room was cosy, clean and warm. My wife was given a birthday card at breakfast by Rita and Antonio, who had spotted from her Passport her birth day. Nice touch!
The hotel is a short walk down to the beach and promenade. The main shopping drag also just a short stroll away. Parking is secure but finding the hotel was a little tricky. The only reason we didn't give five stars for value for money was that we thought the added costs for parking and a dog was a little too excessive. That said, if you're going to Altea, you won't be disappointed. Thanks Antonio and Rita.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AlbyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAbacoAltea, General Manager at Hotel Abaco Altea, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Client,

Thank you very much for your lovely comment in Tripadvisor and for sharing your experience.

We are so pleased and honored to hear that we did not disappoint you. We can understand that after the amazing comments you can find in our Tripadvisor page the expectations are high but we are pleased to know that we are up to standard.

We will pass on to Antonio and Rita your comments and hope you have the opportunity to return back again soon to pamper you and your family.

Thank you as well for your opinion with regards to the parking and dog fee, we will take it into consideration and analyze your recommendation.
Best regards,
Adelina & Thomas Caparo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skövde
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Only six rooms. But what a nice place to stay in. Thank you, Thomas and Rita, for all your tips about restaurants, things to do, excellent service, homemade cake, very good breakfeast.
We loved our time in Altea and maybe we will come back some day.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Skutan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAbacoAltea, General Manager at Hotel Abaco Altea, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Client,

Thank you very much for your comments.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and considered all our recommendations helpful.
Altea is a beautiful town and we are glad you enjoyed your visit; we indeed hope to have you back.

It was a real pleasure meeting you and pampering you with our homemade goodies and breakfast.

Best regards,

Adelina & Thomas Caparo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

My husband and I were so lucky to stay at this super charming hotel for a week in January, and we were warmly welcomed even though we had to check in after midnight. The friendly atmosphere greets you the moment you walk in the door into the rustic lounge and dining room. The hosts Thomas, his father and Rita are doing their best to make you feel at home, happy to help with restaurant recommendations and reservations, or just join you for a friendly chat. (Dear Rita, I still enjoy the delicious tomato jam you sent home with us;)

The rooms are designed in different styles and are clean, welcoming and nice to come back to after an eventful day in the beautiful streets of Altea. Located in a quiet area in the old town, you have everything within walking distance; the church square, beach front and lots of cozy restaurants. Having stayed at this hotel, we are convinced that having a Spanish rustic townhouse in this city must be the best one could hope for!

We can confidently recommend this hotel to couples, but also to those traveling alone - your hosts will certainly take care of everyone! We will gladly return to Abaco anytime, just a pity the hotel quickly become fully booked ...

Tone & Gunnar H, Oslo

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TH_0194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAbacoAltea, General Manager at Hotel Abaco Altea, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Tone & Gunnar,

Firstly, we would like to thank you dearly for the lovely recommendation you have placed in our Tripadvisor page. We strive for all our clients to experience a stau like the one you have beautifully described. It was a real pleasure having you with us and very pleased to know that you enjoyed the hotel, our service and Altea.

We hope you have the opportunity to return back soon … your home!

Best regards,

Adelina & Thomas Caparo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

This is a hotel hidden away in the backstreets of the Old town of Altea. Perfectly located for a stroll to the waterfront.The building has been refurbished to satisfy the most demanding of modern hospitality requirements but with a keen eye to the architectural heritage of the area. Our host Thomas was helpful, considerate and thoughtful, qualities greatly appreciated when you travel with a 6 month old baby. It was our first trip to Altea and we will be back. I am writing this review sipping an espresso and eating a slice of banana cake given to us for our journey home by Thomas's dad. Now, when the hotel experience lingers to the day after you know that this hotel team understands hospitality! Noel, Katie and Amaia x

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PesoMillionaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAbacoAltea, General Manager at Hotel Abaco Altea, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Noel, Katie & Amaia,

Thank you very much for your lovely comments and for sharing your experience and gratification in our Tripadvisor page.

We feel honored and most appreciated after knowing how much you have enjoyed the hotel and service provided . The words you have used to express your experience have really touched our little hearts and feel very fortunate to have had you and your family in our home.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed Altea and wish you return soon.

Thank you again and hope to see you indeed very soon, the pleasure was ours.
Kindest regards,

Thomas & Adelina Caparo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwick
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

A wonderful welcome with cava and chocolate strawberries ! Beautiful hotel - clean and quaint. Adelina and Thomas were wonderful hosts always making sure you had everything you wanted including travelling and good restaurants and bar tips. The location is perfect for exploring the old town and the beach front. All helped by superb weather. We will definitely be back. Thank you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jo r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAbacoAltea, Gerente at Hotel Abaco Altea, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Jo,

Thank you very much for taking the time and sharing your comments and experience in our Tripadvisor page.

We are pleased to hear that your stay was to your satisfaction and consider our hotel a “little gem”, such a sweet way to describe what we offer. We are so happy to know that you found the hotel clean and quaint as well as enjoyed our recommendations and tips.

We hope you return back soon, it was a real pleasure having you both in our hotel.

Best regards,

Adelina & Thomas Caparo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altea
1.9 mi away
Hotel SH Villa Gadea
0.9 mi away
Hotel Cap Negret
Hotel Cap Negret
#3 of 8 in Altea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
6.1 mi away
Gran Hotel Sol y Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Villa Venecia Hotel Boutique
21.4 mi away
Boutique Hotel Sierra de Alicante
0.6 mi away
Hotel Tossal d'Altea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abaco Altea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abaco Altea

Property: Hotel Abaco Altea
Address: Calle Salva 13, 03590 Altea, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Altea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Altea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Abaco Altea 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A former 18th century bakery shapes this charming hotel in the heart of Altea a few meters from the commercial center and coastline. Its six themed rooms offer a warm and friendly atmosphere full of small details that will make your stay unforgettable.After 8 years at the controls of Tony and Linda (founders and restorers of the hotel), Hotel Abaco is currently managed by Adelina and Thomas - a couple of hoteliers who decided to embark on this world since its start in Switzerland in the prestigious university "Le Roches". Place, where they met and decided to share their passion for working in luxury hotels and since then have worked through the world in (U.S., Europe, UAE and Seychelles, etc.) Both very versatile in their areas of expertise have based their principles on three specific factors: Quality, Attention to detail and Customer Satisfaction.Their work philosophy is reflected not only in the management of the hotel and rigorous attention they devote to the rooms, but also through the personalized and attentive dedication to exceeding their customers satisfaction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Abaco Altea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing