We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Impiana Resort Cherating
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Cherating
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“average hotel”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed at this hotel during our trip around Malaysia. After two nights at Impiana KLCC, which was a great hotel, we expected a high standard of the service, great breakfast, but it was not the case. The hotel is older and not well maintained, the breafast offered only very limited choise (actually only local food, almost nothing from the international cuisine). Next time I would go somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magda U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noraini71, Manager at Impiana Resort Cherating, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Magda U,

Thank you for your comments and for staying with us.

We apologize that our service delivery did not meet your expectations and have taken your comments to improve where necessary.

Thank you and regards,
Noraini Ahmad
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    146
    144
    51
    25
See reviews for
155
98
5
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Im not a handicapped person, but Hotel never considered for disabled people(This is my first impression of the resort) Have to go up and down lots of the stairs. And then found "swimming pool closed for maintenance" when we were checking in...my nephew fully disappointment. We stayed for 2nights.about the room facilities, noisy n useless air con, damp towels, dark n small shower roomlaptop sized tv, unstable bed frame, very small terrace.... .the first night was bloody loud because of heavy metal live music until 2~3am..it might be from Fun pub..only one cafe with poor food with ants..the climax is the last moment in the resort..we were frightened of a centipede...itz huge about over 20cm hiding in my swimming wear( hung it in the terrace overnight).found it i was packing baggage.I called the desk twice for a help but no respose for 10mins ..so i asked a staff who was chatting with housekeepers...they sprayed insecticide and killed it with a stick...so awful experience...this resort should be closed for renovation asap...only thing was great is the beach..clean and calm.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alias_kr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noraini71, Manager at Impiana Resort Cherating, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear En Alias_kr,

Thank you for taking your time to comment on Tripadvisor.

We are very disappointed that you have had a bad experience while staying with us and we would like to apologize for the inconvenience that you have encountered.

We have always and will do our level best to serve all our guests to ensure they have an enjoyable stay and we sometimes fall short on certain areas unintentionally.

Your review will be used to improve where necessary and we thank you for highlighting.

Regards,
Noraini Ahmad
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cherating hotels

Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

The hotel is clean and staffs are very friendly, but the water supply is very bad, out of three shower, i had two shower with water pressure problem, it was around 11.30pm. quite late and tired but yet no water to shower, the staff told me to wait 5 min, but after two call and wait half an hour only i got water, but the water was not clean, it was yellowish. if you are coming for turtle, this is the right place, we arrive on saturday and there is turtle release every saturday.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank syuen25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noraini71, Manager at Impiana Resort Cherating, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Ms Syuen25,

Thank you for your review and we apologize that you had to go through some problems with the water pressure in your room.

We have taken note of your comments for improvement and we thank you for highlighting.

Best regards,
Noraini Ahmad
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

This was my second visit to the lovely Impiana. This grand old hotel still offers peace, serenity and the chance for perfect relaxation.
If you want ultra modern, sleek and shiny facilities this place is not for you and you should go to a big chain anonymous hotel, but if you want to stay in an elegant, Malay style hotel then come here. The main area is open sided, with cooling breezes blowing over the water lily pond and through to reception. The rooms face the sea and are charming with bamboo blinds screening the windows. The air conditioning could be stronger but it was sufficient. The bathrooms, while not brand new, were clean and comfortable.
I brought a friend on this visit, on her first trip to Malaysia, and she adored the hotel. Our first afternoon was spent on loungers facing the sea, listening to the waves. The clean, white sand beach is beautiful.
The staff deserve special mention for their kindness and courtesy.
This is a marvellous place for a short break - excellent value - and we will be returning.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank WendallKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noraini71, Manager at Impiana Resort Cherating, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear WendallKL,

Thank you for staying with us again and for your kind comments on Tripadvisor.

We are glad that you have had a wonderful time appreciating the nature surrounding the resort.
We hope that your friend have also experienced and bring back great memories of Malaysia while staying with us.

Thank you once again and hope to see you in the near future.

Best regards,
Noraini Ahmad
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This hotel location is very strategic, friendly staffs and near by activities and food.
Easy access and travel to Chukai town, fisherman village, sea turtle, and etc..

The only draw back of this hotel is 'not well kept'.
From the hotel entrance it looks elegant and rich in Malay sculpture. I and my girl friend are served with welcome drink and with warm smile and service. Makes you feel like home.

But when we are brought to the room. Ooo god. Not that fantastic. The room is so 'spoil moody'.
There are ants near the toilet (we didn't complain, we ignore it). Refrigerator is leaking.
Toilet...cleanliness just an average.the flooring is wood. It has some squeak sound whenever you are walking on it.
The room direction facing is great. Seaside facing.
Generally is okay but we won't return any more.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MYTraveler84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noraini71, Manager at Impiana Resort Cherating, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear MYTraveler84,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on Tripadvisor and for staying with us.

We have taken note of your comments and share them with the team to improve our service standards.

We truly apologize for the shortcomings that you have experienced and hope that you will be back to stay with us again.

Best regards,
Noraini Ahmad
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel, yes it's tired and yes it needs investment. However, staff are very friendly and the beach is lovely and pretty deserted. If you want five start luxury with all the Tupperware, wipe clean, could be anywhere in the
World hotel chains then this isn't for you. If however, you like seeing the occasional monkey around the grounds, don't mind the odd Gekko (it is Malaysia after all) then it's absolutely worth a stay and its not particularly expensive. Restaurants on the main drag are good however you will need a car.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank StephenJM2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noraini71, Manager at Impiana Resort Cherating, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Mr StephenJM2012,

Thank you for your review and we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay.
Your constructive comments will be used to motivate our associates to do better and improve where necessary.

Best regards,
Noraini Ahmad
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Back again and found the hotel remains old, tired and needs refurbishment. All rooms are sea facing, that compensates.

Given that it shares the same beach as Club Med, we have decided to put up with it. You can imagine the beach is beautiful, in my opinion better because the sand is softer. The beach stretches for miles. Even during the peak season, it is not crowded. Only downside during monsoon season is the strong wave - red flag throughout our stay. If you are for the sun, its fine.

Our kids had fun riding bicycles, flying kites, picking seashells, building sand castles, swimming in the pool and dipping in the shallow waves. We saw a boy pulling out a fish literally minutes after he threw his hook into the sea.

Perhaps we were in season to release baby turtles. As a conversation effort, the turtle sanctuary picked up turtle eggs and hatched them. Otherwise the turtle eggs would be poached and sold in Terengganu, the neighbour state! Kids could hold baby turtles and release them into the sea - its very special.

Buffet breakfast is good. There is no buffet dinner and only 1 restaurant opens during our stay. Be prepared to drive out for food, if you plan for a long stay.

Room Tip: There is no lift, ask for level 1 or 2 if you have kids or seniors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davidhii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noraini71, Manager at Impiana Resort Cherating, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Mr Davidhii,

Thank you for your review and we are glad that you have had a great experience with nature.

We will sure to look into areas of improvement and we hope to see you again next season.

Best regards,
Noraini Ahmad
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cherating
2.2 mi away
Residence Inn Cherating
Residence Inn Cherating
#2 of 6 in Cherating
102 reviews
17.4 mi away
Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan
4.2 mi away
Legend Resort Cherating
Legend Resort Cherating
#30 of 43 in Kuantan
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Suria Cherating Beach Resort, Kuantan
2.3 mi away
Cherating Eastana Beach Resort
16.2 mi away
Resorts World Kijal
Resorts World Kijal
#1 of 1 in Kijal
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Impiana Resort Cherating? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Impiana Resort Cherating

Property: Impiana Resort Cherating
Address: Impiana Resort Cherating Jalan Kuantan Kemaman, Cherating 26080, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Kuantan District > Cherating
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Cherating
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Impiana Resort Cherating 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings and HotelQuickly so you can book your Impiana Resort Cherating reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Impiana Resort Cherating Hotel Kuantan
Impiana Hotel Kuantan
Impiana Hotel Cherating

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing