We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old but still quaintly suitable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Impiana Resort Cherating

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Impiana Resort Cherating
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Cherating
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
217 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Old but still quaintly suitable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

This trip we booked a bigger room with a lounge area and study table, a bedroom area with a four-poster bed with a bay window and a large but basic bathroom. The hotel is old and could use some refurbishing but the basic amenities are still provided. Gripes are that extra towels are charged, the bathtub was patched up all over and a bowl left outside our room from previous customers remained there even after many hours. Love the minty shampoo provided in the bathroom and that the hotel is actively participating in releasing baby turtles.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank m00lah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noraini71, Manager at Impiana Resort Cherating, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear m00lah,

Thank you for staying with us again and we are happy that you had a good stay this time around.

Yes, we admit that we need to refurbish the hotel as it is at a beautiful number of 20 years old.
We are already planning to refurbish some of the areas and we are quite excited that it is happening if not end of the year, early next year.

We do apologize on the unusual situation that you have encountered and we have taken your comment to improve where necessary.

Thank you again and we hope that you will be back to stay with us in the future.

Regards,
Noraini Ahmad
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    146
    144
    51
    25
See reviews for
155
98
5
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

OMG! Just checked into this decreped place on the beach. Can't see the sea yet as its dark, but first impressions of this place are disgusting! We paid nearly 800myr for 2 nights with breakfast, and I now wished I'd gone back to huts on the beach, up the road, for 80 myr a night! So, where shall I start........we booked here because it looked and sounded nice! Stupidly didn't check trip advisor but booking.com gave it a rating of over 7. So we arrived at 10pm and headed straight for 'The Fun Bar'.......no fun here, despite what the web page says.......all dead for Ramadan. I lived in the Middle East for 3 years, and music and fun went on as normal, but here......nothing! We asked to see the wine list - only had red or white cheap and nasty, or overpriced cheap and nasty! I asked about spirits, I could have gin but no tonic. We played pool with only one cue available, the table was filthy, as were the pool balls, as was the dindgy bar! We decided to venture to our room, it was shabby, and even the towels were yellowing with grime. The toilet seat was odd and badly scratched, and the air con very old, the shower more aged than an Egyptian mummy, but it worked. The so called balcony had standing room only, so any dreams of sipping wine whilst watching the sunset faded fast. The staff struggled to serve, as very limited English, and all in all a very disappointing start to a restful romantic weekend away! Updates to follow!! BTW booked through Agodo.

Room Tip: Best tip - go and stay somewhere else!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Traveller_J0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noraini71, Manager at Impiana Resort Cherating, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Traveler_JO,

Further to your comments, allow me to sincerely apologize that things did not
go smoothly as they should have.

We sincerely feel rather disappointed that you had a very unpleasant experience and that we were not up to your expectations.

We have always strive to ensure that we provide efficient and friendly service and facilities to all
our guests and I must say that we could have handled things in a much more professional and hospitable manner.

Know that we do take your comments to heart and appreciate you taking the time to ensure things that went wrong was highlighted. We cannot improve if we are unaware of our shortcomings.

We value your feedback very highly and thank you again for taking the time to comment on Tripadvisor.

Regards,
Noraini Ahmad
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cherating hotels

Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

We chose Impiana after comparing it with some other comparable accommodations in cherating.

Booking was done online direct with impiana which was hassle free and smooth.

Check in was below my expectation as there was no proper greetings which feels like you're not welcomed there. It was like "here, here's your key..this way, this way..bye bye..". No welcome drinks or hot towels etc, if u expect those. The only consolation was our room got upgraded for free.

Our upgraded Superior Duluxe Seaview was large, almost like a suite with living room, two balconies and wardrobe. Bathroom was large too with bath tub, but missing a shower curtain, if you prefer shower but not wanting to wet the floor.

Breakfast was average, expected more variety in terms of local delicacies that the east coast is famous for. Most of the food were rather tasteless.

The resort shows its age and there were efforts to upgrade it (replacing the timber walkway etc) but more to be done if really wanna make impiana cherating a true gem.

Overall, its a good value if you dont expect much.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kakacrackr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noraini71, Manager at Impiana Resort Cherating, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear kakacrackr,

Thank you for your review as we value them very highly.

We are glad that your stay was satisfactory and have taken note of the front desk experience with the team for improvement.

The experience that you have encountered is not our standard and it shows that despite our efforts to serve you at our best, we have failed to do so upon your arrival which is the most vital part of your stay and for that, we sincerely would like to apologize.
There is already a plan to upgrade our facilities where needed and will be implemented phase by phase in the near future.

Thank you and regards,
Noraini Ahmad
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

This resort is definitely not for anyone who is looking for state of the art, modern facilities. It looks and feels like an old resort that needs to be upgraded but still has its charms somehow. If one loves to laze by the sea side, listening to the waves breaking onto the shore, staying in quaint village like abode and soaking in this peaceful and restful atmosphere, then this place is for you. I would say apart from the physical natural and man-made assets, the staff could also be the resorts' biggest assets. They seem naturally friendly, attentive, polite and hospitable. My deluxe sea view room was not too bad although I wished it was larger considering the resort's location which is very much away from major cities. If you don't mind paying a liitle bit more, better opt for thecsuperior deluxe. It is twice the size of the deluxe room. The complimentary wifi was much welcomed. The TV screen was smaller than the usual ones we find in hotels of the same league. Toiletries are adequate but you have got to bring your own iron, tooth brush and paste. There is a small convenience shop where you can even buy titbits. Going out of the resort for food and other stuff could be a problem if you do not have your own transport. It is so far away to walk to anywhere. We had our meals at the restaurant where most of the time the kind of food available as buffet was Malay cuisine but we had barbecue specially ordered for our large group on our last night and everybody agreed it was very good. The resort is undergoing some renovations. I might just come back after it is completed.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank s_nasadin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noraini71, Manager at Impiana Resort Cherating, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear s_nasadin,

Thank you for staying with us and we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay.

Your valuable comments have been taken into constructively and will be a tool for improvement, where necessary.

We hope to welcome you and your family back here again in the future.

Thank you and regards,
Noraini Ahmad
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Took my wife and little kid here for a short break (2 nights stay). I've been going to the east for short getaways from the hustle bustle of KL, for the last 10 years or so. So, generally, I know what to expect in terms of the quality of hotels, service, etc
The rooms were pretty nice - though you had the occasional irritation of a switch or two not functioning properly. The unit was facing the sea. So, in the evenings, you can leave the window open and have a nice breeze flowing through. The swimming pool is also quite nice. Yes, as some previous reviewers had pointed out, some of the tiles are coming off. But knowing the slow and serene pace of life in these parts of the world, they are going to take their time to repair this.
We always went out for dinners at nearby warungs as we had our own car, to get a bit of the local taste. The breakfast in the hotel itself was pretty average anyway. Oh yes....you have to do the nighttime firefly boat trip from Hafiz's at least one time - enchanting experience. Our little two-year old really enjoyed that.
Overall, I would put this and Swiss Garden Resort as the top choices for accommodation along the East Coast (i'm not considering the island accommodations).

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea would be the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RajBajwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noraini71, Manager at Impiana Resort Cherating, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Rajbajwa,

Thank you for staying with us and for your constructive feedback.

It is good that you have enjoyed your stay and yes, we are planning to repair the swimming pool next week. All the rooms are facing the sea, which is our best selling point, not forgetting the stretch of beach which is only a short walking distance from the room.
Or just be lazy and enjoy the breathtaking view from the room..which I am sure you have taken advantage of when you were here.

We hope to see you again and enjoy the nice, peace and quite stay, here at Impiana Resort Cherating.

Thank you again.

Best regards,
Noraini Ahmad
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Overall I can say this is a seriously good value for money resort if you wish to have some peace, quiet and privacy and not pay like RM1000 per night. Paid RM200 nett with breakfast and could not be happier(although don't expect RM1k per night level of facilities). Check in and check out was fast and efficient, although when we arrived no concierge was there to carry the luggages and no welcome drink(not really fuss about this but some people do). Staff was very courteous, polite and smiles genuinely. My compliments to them!

Was given room 250 and glad to note room and bathroom clean and bedsheets was replaced. Although the roofing in front of the room's balcony could use some cleaning due to thousand of cigarette butts thrown out to it( note to housekeeping). LCD 14" TV for those who cared. Air-cond was cool enough although I feels servicing the unit is due already.

1 complaints though, had to call 4 times before somebody answered the housekeeping extension, when I requested for an iron, although once answered the iron and ironing board was delivered within 10 minutes.

Buffet breakfast was decent but not for big eaters though, enough variety to satisfy locals and foreign tourists.

Like I mentioned, the beach stretch is long enough for a good jog in the morning and private enough since it's not shared with other resorts or public beaches. It's nice to lounge all day at the beach as they have trees which provides shades and the beach is quiet enough. The swimming pool is okay although the jacuzzi pool and wooden deck is under maintenance.

Room Tip: All the rooms are sea facing! You do not have to choose or pay extra here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keluangman588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noraini71, Manager at Impiana Resort Cherating, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear keluangman588,

Thank you for your recent visit and we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Your valuable comments will be shared among the associates for motivation and improvement factor.

We are proud that you have had the opportunity to enjoy the nature surrounding us, at it's best and we hope to see you again in the future.

Warm regards,
Noraini Ahmad
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

We (2 adults and 2 children - 8 & 7 years old) stayed from 7 to 10 June. It was our second time using the hotel. We were left with good impression during our first visit in 2009, so we wanted to experience it again.

For this trip, we booked the School Break Package which entitled us to a free extra bed, free usage of swimming float and bicycle, daily breakfast, a dinner, and a batik painting session.

The resort has two towers. We were given Room 134 at the South Tower initially. It was a disappointment. There were no towels at all. The coffee table was dirty with bread crumbs. The study table had a layer of dust on it. I even found a sweet wrapper at the couch. The resort is undergoing some refurbishment, so that could explain the dust. But I think it was more a case of the housekeeping not doing their work diligently.

After making a complaint at the front desk, they changed our room to Room 322 at the North Tower. This room was so much cleaner. However, something was still amiss - the toilet does not come with a shower curtain. So, each time after shower, the floor would be wet and slippery, which was a hazard.

The breakfast they served was pretty much the same each day. Not much variety, but we made do with it since it was included in the package. We had dinner on our first night in the resort (included in the package as well) and were seated at a corner right at the end. It was hot and dark, and we were bitten by mosquitoes.

Room Tip: Ask for North Tower if possible. There are no elevators at the resort, so if you have babies or eld...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twinterror
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noraini71, Manager at Impiana Resort Cherating, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear twinterror,

Thank you for your valuable comments and we have taken note of all highlighted.

We would like to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience that you have encountered and have taken measures to assure that there is no repetition in future.

Once again, thank you.

Regards,
Noraini Ahmad
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cherating
2.2 mi away
Residence Inn Cherating
Residence Inn Cherating
#2 of 6 in Cherating
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
17.4 mi away
Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan
4.0 mi away
Suria Cherating Beach Resort, Kuantan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Legend Resort Cherating
Legend Resort Cherating
#30 of 43 in Kuantan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cherating Eastana Beach Resort
9.2 mi away
Samsuria Beach Resort & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Impiana Resort Cherating? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Impiana Resort Cherating

Property: Impiana Resort Cherating
Address: Impiana Resort Cherating Jalan Kuantan Kemaman, Cherating 26080, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Kuantan District > Cherating
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Cherating
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Impiana Resort Cherating 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your Impiana Resort Cherating reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Impiana Resort Cherating Hotel Kuantan
Impiana Hotel Kuantan
Impiana Hotel Cherating

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing