We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dozends of Cockroaches - Never Again”
Review of Tanjung Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tanjung Inn
Ranked #2 of 11 Cherating B&B and Inns
Zurich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dozends of Cockroaches - Never Again”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We only stayed one night in June 2012. The area is beautiful with its lake and all the animals. We first looked at a fan room. It was too small for our family and smelled muddy. So we choose a chalet with aircon. The living room was spaceous and there was a veranda. The bathroom smelled moistily. The children took a shower in the evening. Then we spotted the first cocroach in the living room - a really big one. Never mind - one cocroach can happen. The children went to bed and my wife and I stayed at the lobby. When we came to our room late at night, we wanted to take a shower and switched the light on in the bathroom: Ther were about TWENTY to THIRTY cockroaches in all sizes crawling over the floor and the sink! They had forgotten to close the covers over the outflowing tubes in the floor. We didn't take a shower and left the day after. The guy from the reception didn't care at all. All he said was that in a wooden hose there could be cocroaches. We really travelled a lot in south east asia in the last four month. But we never had such a poor bathroom and the reaction of the staff made the awful experience complete

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TravelfamilyZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTI, Manager at Tanjung Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
We are very sorry this family's night with us was not a pleasant experience.
We have instructed the cleaning staff to keep the covers to the shower outlets closed and have recently introduced an environmentally-safe insect controll programme to try to keep the chalets insect-free for ur guests.

To meet this family's needs I showed them our family fan room at RM85 a night with breakfast. As this was too smaill, I gave them a RM100 discount on one of our large a/c family rooms (usual nightly rate RM250) as they said they wanted to stay 5 nights. After complaining about the cockroasches the next morning they wanted me to give a further discount of RM50. but were not ready to discuss changing rooms or any other solution to their problem. I felt they wanted to checkout so didn't want to bother them further.

We try very hard at Tanjung Inn to make our guests' stay memorable and leave us feeling happy.

Ismail
Reosrt Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    77
    32
    14
    12
See reviews for
55
77
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Simple, basic and you get what you pay for. If all you're after is a clean, compact standalone cabin within a few hundred meters of the beach than you don't need to look any further.

All cabins are fully catered with ensuite toilet/shower, bed (+ simple furniture like bedside table, wardrobe), chairs and a little covered porch. You have two options of air-conditioned and fan. The bed was comfortable and clean, as was the linen. The shower/wet-room was nothing special. No hot water but still very pleasant after all day out in the sun.

The landscaping and gardening is wonderful and it adds to the calm of the place. Cherating is not a beach resort so don't go here if what you want is party. This about rest-and-relaxation and quiet moments to recharge your batteries. Most people spend a couple nights but some people spends weeks and weeks here.

The beach is wide and the water shallow until you're quite a ways out. Depending on the tide/current the water can either be crystal clear or a bit murky. Tanjong Inn slightly on the outskirts of Cherating (10min max walking because the place isn't that very big!) and away from the mangrove river mouth, which means that the beach in front of the inn is cleaner being further away from the river mouth and small fishing boats that moor up there. It's also a long beach that you can walk for many kilometers in the afternoon after the heat of the midday sun is gone.

Lighting in the cabins is pretty basic (bare compact fluorescent bulb in the ceiling) so if you're after some mood lighting bring a couple of candles or lanterns. Like always on the east coast of Malaysia it's good to take mosquito repellent coils and a bottle of rum or wine if you want to have a quiet drink after dark. You won't find a shop that sells you alcohol so bring your own. The Inn serves up a decent breakfast but it might leave some people hungry (machine coffee/tea, white toast, jam, butter, eggs). They also have a fridge where they sell cold water and fizzy drinks.

There are a few good eateries on the main drag that do good local dishes.

The nighttime fire-fly boat trip in the mangroves is also well worth it......!

Enjoy!

Room Tip: Rooms with views over the lilly pond are nice to sit at your porch and enjoy the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

It was a beautiful and peaceful stay. A small chalet is big enough for couples travelers. The rate was quite cheap, around MYR70+...and I believed it's a low season price. The owner look friendly. It's a creative landscaped design and I saw this chalets ever won the best landscaped too! The beach just behind this villas, so you can just walk around enjoying the scenery. Food stalls / restaurant just around the corner. Had a nasi lemak for breakfast, it was so delicious but quite pricey. Maybe if the owner do some renovation for the chalets, it would be better because it's kinda look old. So quiet at night, only sounds of animals will entertain you. Suitable for those who want to getaway from the busy's city life. No WIFI, and no TV too in my chalet. You can choose for the air-conditioned or fan for a different price range.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank munchkin_totoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Beautiful, secluded chalets overlooking a lake. Best value for money are the air conditioned, colonial style bungalows. Staff are brilliant and make you feel really welcome, almost part of the family. It's the sort of place where you can easily lose a few weeks without realising it.

Room Tip: Go for the a/c - a little more expensive but worthg it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonTaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachmere, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Tanjung Inn is serene with wooden chalets spread around lotus ponds in acres of well tended landscaped gardens. You will undoubtedly see hornbills, monkeys and monitor lizards in the trees that surround the property.
We came for two nights and have extended ou stay to five - it's that kind of place. There are 10 aircon rooms - each wooden chalet is divided into two with a big bedroom, bathroom and large balcony facing the lotus ponds. The 11 fan cooled rooms are smaller versions of the aircon - also wooden and on the other side of the ponds. Everything in our room was clean and in working order.
Our aircon room (number 24) has recently been renovated with a new coat of varnish on all the wood, new lighting, new tiles in the bathroom and hot water. Very spacious and the bed is comfortable - we had to ask for a top sheet but that was willingly given. There is no glass in the windows, but wooden shutters to close - this makes the room very dark if everything is closed up - we feel safe leaving two of the large windows open all night and haven't found any problems with mosquitoes. This is surprising considering the amount of vegetaion and water around.
The rooms are not serviced on a daily basis but if you ask for the room to be cleaned they are only too happy to oblige.
A simple breakfast of eggs and toast, coffee/tea is provided in the reception area. This is also the place to find the free wifi and a small library of muti-national books.
The family that own and run Tanjung Inn are very friendly, courteous and helpful.
I would definitely recommend this lovely place - It looks by far the nicest of anywhere in town. Most of the other businesses appear to have tiny huts in rows shoulder to shoulder - there are exceptions of course, but few.

Room Tip: The aircon rooms are large with a big balcony looking out to the beautiful gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We loved this place and stayed several more nights just because of its environment and totally relaxing atmosphere. We spotted much more wildlife here than in Teman Negara. Previous reviewers reflect my opinion - lovely family who run it, super natural gardens, very short walk to the beach, basic chalets somewhat run down (threadbare towels). We had a problem with mossies first two nights after rain (but a coil sorted them out) and they didn't trouble us again here or in the village after that. There was talk of enlarging/updating this place but retaining its present delightful ambience.

The village (mainly one street) is very quiet with a handful of restaurants. The sea is lovely (beware of rip tides in certain conditions) but the beach nearer town is rather 'scrabby'.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malawi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Simple chalets with cold water & fan but no mosquito nets set in delightful gardens resplendent with lilypads & lotus ponds. Relax on your small balcony & admire the wildlife that are attracted to the well maintained gardens - monkeys, squirrels, water monitors, hornbills & kingfishers. The price includes a simple breakfast of eggs, toast & jam & coffee or tea. Free WiFi is available at the reception area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cherating
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Cherating
Residence Inn Cherating
#2 of 6 in Cherating
110 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cherating Eastana Beach Resort
2.8 mi away
Suria Cherating Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Legend Resort Cherating
Legend Resort Cherating
#33 of 43 in Kuantan
425 reviews
14.9 mi away
Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan
2.9 mi away
Casa Titik
Casa Titik
#1 of 11 in Cherating
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanjung Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanjung Inn

Property: Tanjung Inn
Address: 11 Jln Kuantan Kememan, Cherating 26080, Malaysia (Formerly Tanjung Resort Cherating)
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Kuantan District > Cherating
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Cherating
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tanjung Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tanjung Inn is a resort in Cherating (Pahang, MALAYSIA) that has been in operation for nearly 20 years. Formerly known as Villa de Fedella, there are currently 22 chalets available for rent. Tanjung Inn has been recommended by several renowned and highly reputable travel/tourism-related publications such as: The Lonely Planet (May 2013 edition) The Rough Guide; LE Routard (a French travel book); and Stephen Loose (a German travel book) All of the above state that Tanjung Inn is one of their top recommendations for accommodation in the Cherating area. Currently Tanjung Inn is divisible into three separate and distinct areas: Tanjung Inn The existing 3.2 acres plot in Kampung Budaya Cherating that currently comprises of 22 chalets. We are now in the process of upgrading the site by refurbishing some units, tearing down some old ones and building them up to a higher standard, in addition to supplementing the existing stock. Eventually Tanjung Inn will have a total of 30 chalets. Tanjung Inn (by the Beach) We have 5 acres of beach land connected to the present Tanjung Inn site that will be developed into another 30 or more units of beach chalets, but still under the umbrella of Tanjung Inn. Tanjung Inn (Lakeside) Connected to Tanjung Inn by the Beach will be another 4 acres of development for which a further 40 chalets are planned which will encircle an artificial lake. Tanjung Inn is set for further improvement and expansion in the near future, while maintaining the peace, tranquillity and closeness to nature that is at the core of our ethos. Watch this space or follow us on Facebook for updates on our progress! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Tanjung Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanjung Inn - Villa De Fedelia Hotel Cherating

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing